Mania Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 75
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
ignitethepages 7/31/2014 3:45:51 PM

So other reviewers are claiming this movie is up there with Cap 2 and Avengers.  Sounds like Rob is calling for a little bit of restraint.  Nonetheless, I'm still stoked to see this. 

almostunbiased 7/31/2014 6:05:09 PM

I am so pumped for this.  I admit when I first heard the idea I was just interested, but the kore I've seen the more i want to.  I watched a clip yesterday moring that told me this was going to be great.  I love a good story, but i love great characters and I think this will deliver both.  Plus looks fricking awesome visually!

jsmulligan 7/31/2014 8:32:07 PM

Dragging the wife to it on Saturday.  Been looking forward to this ever since the first trailer.  One thing about the reviews that has been surprising me is the praise Batista is getting.  From the trailers I was expecting him to be the weak link.

Regarding the review's comments about the villains... that is the one big flaw to the entire MCU to me.  I'm glad the primary focust of the movies has been on the heroes rather than on the baddies like the 80/90's Bat-films, but often the villains have felt very much like an afterthought in these films.  It can make it hard to take them seriously as a credible threat, and undercuts some really interesting characters.

ActionMovieGod 7/31/2014 10:46:08 PM

Just saw it Very funny great action!I cant believe im agreeing with Rob but yup easy B.

mac2j 7/31/2014 11:26:34 PM

No idea how you gave this a B - was an A for me - first movie in a while I'm sure I will see multiple times in the theater.  Also, best 3D since Avatar.  Great story, great characters, and super funny too - couldn't recommend it more.

Daybreak0100 8/1/2014 3:38:10 AM

 Thanks for the DC trash talk at the beginning? Fanboy fuxx

Anyway. Movie was AMAZING and I WILL be seeing it a second time. 

Also cannot wait for the whole team crossover event. Probably be Avengers 3 Infinity Gauntlet or Avengers 3 Fanboy for Life? 

Daybreak0100 8/1/2014 3:39:00 AM

The final credit scene was of complete surprise

Eldogg42 8/1/2014 5:15:21 AM

Saw it last night.  Although I agree with your review in the letter grade, Its on the Marvel curve.  Which means, this movie is much better then so many non-marvel movies, but in the Marvel grading system, its good.  I really enjoyed it, found myself laughing out loud at some points.  It was a very good break from the marvel superhero movies that take place on earth.  Thanos looked great, and will look forward to a sequel to this.  Yup, Marvel apparantly doesn't know how to fail.  Keep it up.  Ant-man will be the true test. 

Moz72 8/1/2014 5:35:45 AM

 Recently read that an Avenger/Guardians of the Galaxy crossover may happen! Guessing it will be a throwdown with Thanos

DarthBob 8/1/2014 5:43:23 AM

 

I disagree with the grade here; definitely an A. I was surprised by some of the dialogue; much edgier than I thought it was going to be.

I nearly soiled myself when Gamora boards Quill's ship and says this place is a mess and he responds with you have no idea, if I had a black light in here this place would light up like a Jackson Pollock painting.

This movie was fun, funny, had some deep moments and was a sharp contrast to Cap 2. Marvel is doing a great job mixing things up. Another great year for Marvel between X-Men: DOFP (even though it's a Fox movie), Cap 2 and GOTG.  The end of the credit scene is my second favorite; second only to the Iron Man end of the credit scene.

 

 

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.