Mania Review: The Hunger Games Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 46
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
vitieddie 3/23/2012 1:13:22 AM

Watching tomorrow ... will post reaction ...

Btw whats happening with the weekly BO report? Watched Ghost Rider last week - terrible "direct to dvd" movie ... a real low for christopher lambert ... released in aust by warner bros ... what the! 

ActionMovieGod 3/23/2012 1:19:12 AM

Great movie story is told very well.I wouldnt buy it on dvd thou a little too slow for my taste....

Dazzler 3/23/2012 4:45:21 AM

Too many Twilight references.  I think this is a skipper for me. Might think about it again in few weeks after the rush. 

jedibanner 3/23/2012 5:33:01 AM

''delivering unto us a tweener franchise worthy of a little hoopla. ''...so....it IS more of a movie for tweens?!?

Still on the fence on this one...will wait to see other reviews.

Hobbs 3/23/2012 5:40:28 AM

As I have stated, the twlight comparisons are valid as this is the next tween franchise but this should have much more action if it does follow the book.  The young tween in love crep that went on in the book I would do without but that's what will bring the tween girls in to see it.

Overall the reviews are positive.  Last time I checked Rotten t's it was at 90 percent with over a 100 reviews.  Wife and I will eventually see it but we'll wait for the tween craz to die down for a few weeks before we do.  This might actually be the first movie of 2012 that I'll be seeing.

ddiaz28 3/23/2012 6:25:43 AM

The fact that the movie supossedly stays quite faithful to the book will definitely compensate for any possible slow points in the narrative, for me at least. 

And I just knew when they first announced this project that their goal of making it PG-13 would take away from the brutal quality the book portrays so well.  Although I read Ross' use of shaky cam keeps the action pretty visceral withou showing all the gory details.

I'd go see it this weekend but I decided to re-read the book before I do so I'll probably wait until next week and for the crowds to die down.

lusiphur 3/23/2012 6:38:11 AM

My wife and I already have our tickets for the 10am showing tomorrow morning.  I'll post up my reactions also.  Having just finished the first book, I'm glad they're adhering closely to the book.  Going too far off subject could hurt the project.

@Dazzler - the main Twilight reference you should consider is ... "it's not Twilight".  

EagleManiac 3/23/2012 6:47:07 AM

Sorry, but I just don't have any interest in this movie. Not sure why, either.

CaptAmerica04 3/23/2012 7:11:39 AM

 Rob, I'm seeing this in a couple hours, so please warn me...

 [Spoiler alert for those who haven't read the books]

Do the wolf-like "mutts" at the end look as abysmally bad as the wolves in Twilight?

SmokingFrog77 3/23/2012 7:28:38 AM

Brave New World meets Battle Royale.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.