Mania Review: John Carter Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 31 - 39 of 39
<<  <  1 2 3 4 
dalgoda 3/10/2012 9:14:06 AM

We took the kids to see this today and we all loved it.  Woola did steal the show as chervil mentioned.  I hope it does well enough to warrant sequels but it's not looking good on that front.  It's unlikely to hit $30 million this weekend, which is a shame.

caredskinfan 3/10/2012 11:15:43 AM

 So far I heard nothing but bad reviews. Acting is terrible, plot is not there and all around poor film. Of course they are comparing it to Avatar, which unfair. I'll give it a try though.

zathras6767 3/10/2012 9:31:57 PM

My best friend and I just got back from seeing the IMAX 3-D version in SF (appropriately!),and we were both blown away.Loved the changes to the Disney logo.There are lots of little bits I don't want to spoil but sharp-eyed viewers may catch.Really hope this film does well overseas so we can see "Chessmen" & "Thuvia" adapted.am going to see it again Monday!.

CrazyCEO 3/11/2012 1:29:15 AM

I said it all along, it is a safe kids party movie nothing more.  I went in with that assumption and left with it as well.  Original source material counts for absolutely nothing as most would have never read the books.  A break in the school term will guarantee sequals but can't say for certain if they will keep the same budget which would be a shame.  Well done to Disney for having the balls to make this but ultimately, it will be forgotten quicker than whatsitsname......

zalder 3/11/2012 5:01:41 PM

Wow this got major different reviews at other sites.  Booring, overwhrought and didn't update the story telling ways of the 1913's.  Which really we have improved.  Borrows was really not a great writer even if you remove all the misogney. 

rogue188 3/12/2012 6:41:49 AM

I saw the movie and it was good fun. I didn't walk in expecting to have my life changed. Not every movie has to be dark and gritty to be enjoyed.

nohater 3/13/2012 10:07:57 AM

Based on the reactions on this site and others, the overwhelming majority of people who have actually seen John Carter love it. Don't let the vicious gloating media make up your mind for you about this film. After all, many of those same media outlets are owned by Disney's corporate rivals who are anxious to see this expensive undertaking fail. What do we care how much a movie costs? We as the sci-fi fan community should get behind this movie in force. Make up your own mind about whether or not you want to see John Carter. If you have any interest in sci-fi, fantasy, high adventure and romance and have been on the fence about seeing this film, give it a chance. You'll thank me later.

rkngl 3/18/2012 3:35:32 PM

 Just saw the movie, 3d and warts. Funtastic. To those white mokeys who didn't like it: eat "carots" and die!

OmegaDean 3/26/2012 1:04:52 PM

This is a must see. Sorry I'm just making a point to read Rob's review.  Its the rotts of all we hold dear and it was a great adventure through and through. It reminds of the old days when me and my Dad would got to the movies together.  Indiana Jones, Star Wars, Flash Gordon, Buck Rogers, Avatar and slew of othe sci-fi films owes it  all to this.  Hell even Superman has to pay respects. The original Superman was nothing more than Kal'el of Earth.

 

<<  <  1 2 3 4 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.