Mania Review: The Phantom Menace in 3D Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 35
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
boxker 2/10/2012 1:21:03 AM

"the kid whines" that's kills me when people always say that about little Anikan, unless I'm mistaken, Luke does a lot of whinning in the OT.

Dazzler 2/10/2012 4:52:37 AM

Darth Maul in 3D is enough for me to go see it again.  Darth Maul theme is worth it also for the big fight scene at end.  Lucas is never going to give a shit about fans, no sense in trying otherwise. 

jackwagon 2/10/2012 5:28:25 AM

I'm trying to think of any other filmmaker who has tinkered with any of his films the way Lucas has with Star Wars over the years.  I can't recall anyone who has changed scenes around, added a few effects here and there, or changed story elements (e.g. changing Anakin's ghost at the end of Return of the Jedi so he's now Hayden Christensen) like Lucas has.  The closest I can think of was Ridley Scott for Alien's 25th anniversary, where he added in a few deleted scenes, but those came at the request of Fox and Scott only did it because they demanded it. 

jedibanner 2/10/2012 5:31:45 AM

The idea for many parents today to bring their kids to see this in crappy 3D will obviously result in lots of $$ again for Mr. Lucas.

But because it's 3D, I'm willing tho bet many hardcore SW fans will NOT see this again in theatre.

Yes I have all 4 versions of VHS at home, and the DVD's and now the Blu-ray version but the one thing that is soooo easy to do is to say no to crappy, stupid, no-need-for-it, dummass-gimmick 3D.

If it was anything else, he would get my money but this....3D sucks and will always sucks.

Wiseguy 2/10/2012 5:32:35 AM

Blade Runner has 7 versions but I think Scott is resposible for only 4 of them

Tevii 2/10/2012 6:37:14 AM

Loved seeing it in 3D. Cant wait to see episode III in 3D. The post conversion 3D was well done. Best post 3D i have seen.

My only complaint would be that the colors seem muted. Im not sure if it was that particular projector or if it is the resullt of the 3D transfer.

ElBaz13 2/10/2012 7:23:34 AM

I'm 3-D blind therefore what's the point of me going? Have it on blu-ray and plasma screen. More than happy not to give Emperor George more cash for rehash.

Even if I could see 3-D, I wouldn't go. I for one am anti-3D and avoid any 3D movie screenings at all times. Its' a stupid Hollywood cash cow gimmick.

I had heard Lucasfilm wanted to release all 6 movies individually but stopped the 3D conversion process after Ep 1 because of the negative backlash the format is getting. Can anyone confirm this?

 

lusciousjohnnyb 2/10/2012 7:30:18 AM

I'm going tomorrow afternoon!  Can't wait to see Star Wars in 3D!

Wyldstaar 2/10/2012 7:41:11 AM

I resisted the urge to buy the Blurays, so avoiding TPM shouldn't be a problem. 

I still remember that fateful midnight screening in 1999.  The excitement of anticipation for weeks ahead of time.  Then, the long drive home, trying to figure out that empty feeling inside.  Was I just too old?  Was my anticipation so built up that nothing could satisfy it? 

No.  TPM is just an awful movie, and there's no getting around it.  None of the plot points makes any sense.  What does the taxation of trade routes have to do with the blockade of Naboo?  If the blockade is only a precursor to an invasion, what is the point of the invasion?   What does the Trade Federation want on Naboo that's so valuable, they are willing to risk violating interstellar law and bringing down the wrath of the Jedi Order?

If the real goal of the invasion was to provide a sympathy vote in the Senate to get Palpatine elected Chancellor, then why does the hologram give orders to the Trade Federation and Darth Maul that would prevent this from happening?  He orders Gunray and Maul to kill Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan.  If they're dead, who's going to report the invasion of Naboo to the Senate?  Why are the Trade Federation leaders listening to this guy on the hologram in the first place? 

The whole movie goes on like this, with one plot point after another completely failing to stand up to logic and reason.  I get that it's just a movie, but the original trilogy managed to make sense just fine. 

monkeyfoot 2/10/2012 7:43:33 AM

I probably won't see this one in 3D but maybe the next two.

What I always say is that decades from now when your grandkids are enjoying the films they won't even understand your complaints about changes. Just like nobody nowadays would understand complaints about the 1938 Wizard of Oz from that time. They'll just enjoy them.

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.