Mania Review: Prometheus Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 126
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
SarcasticCaveman 6/8/2012 1:00:09 AM

It's entirely a prequel, galaga51...but it also serves as a platform for it's own new franchise...that's the beauty of it...it served both purposes (new franchise and prequel) VERY well.

VTGamehendge 6/8/2012 1:09:24 AM

I do like how even though the planet in Prometheus isn't the same one that they land on in Alien, it still has the "LV" designation.

doublec 6/8/2012 1:57:07 AM

 Waitaminnit, ROB LIKED THE 3D???!!!???

IT'S THE APOCALYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYPSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kennynine 6/8/2012 2:56:33 AM

 Just watched the midnight showing in IMAX and I loved it. I believe it has a direct tie in to Alien while creating it own separate mythology. Really hope there is a sequel. 

DarthBob 6/8/2012 4:27:58 AM

@doublec...I know right!  I had planned to see this in 2D tonight, but since even Rob dug the 3D I just might upsize my movie ticket and hit the IMAX.

vitieddie 6/8/2012 5:30:34 AM

Some reviewers here didnt like prometheus ... said it got all silly and out of hand in the 2nd half ... these critics gave the thumbs up to avengers though ... hope i'm not disappointed this weekend!

makabriel 6/8/2012 5:54:48 AM

Haven't seen it yet.  Perhaps you guys can clarify something.  Most of the reviews I read compare it to "2010".. Trailers I see have a very eerie feel to it.  So is it more of a Sci Fi documentary than it is a horror movie?

No, I'm not looking for an Alien prequel, but I am looking for it to be as scary as it was..

 

violator14 6/8/2012 8:54:48 AM

Damn, im supposed to see it this sunday, but i might have to reschedule my weekend cuz im dying to see it even more now!

rkngl 6/8/2012 9:08:50 AM

 Well, disappointing, and epic at the same time.

Kinda difficult to take the superior technology on this movie, comparing to Alien, since this movie comes earlier in the timeline. The terror is not original. The story is superficial, while the subtext seems very deep and misterious.

The movie has several points related to Alien, ending with the "last survivor of the Prometheus" phrase. The Jockey pilot and all that. The vases with the "impregnating" substance that gives rise to the first aliens. And etc.

Just a few questions left unanswered: what happened on the planet? A biological accident? An attack? Were the vases a weapon, or a "terraformer"? Why did the "engineer" attacked the Humans? Why were they heading for Earth?

The several characters have their own explanation for the misteries. But I believe there is something more than just "they created, then somehow wanted to destroy us, then forgave us,,," I believe there is something more to it... maybe a sequel explains it to us.

InnerSanctum 6/8/2012 9:54:31 AM

 I heard a lot of mixed reviews on this film, but I'm not going to be swayed.  Just too excited for this film.  

Good review Rob.  I think I'll forgive you for giving Mirror, Mirror an A.  

 

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.