Mania Review: Thor Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 81 - 90 of 102
<<  <  6 7 8 9 10 11 >  >>  
MrJawbreakingEquilibrium 5/7/2011 5:30:30 PM

You sure? Hm. I might be thinking of the episode of the cartoon Avengers that I watched previous to going to see Thor. I could be mistaken.

ElBaz13 5/7/2011 5:56:28 PM

Just saw and this movie rocked. This is how you do a movie based on a comicbook. Marvel Studios is so smart bringing it JMS as writer and having some of their top guys (Buckley, Joe Q and Bendis) as consultants. This was definitely a movie that was faithful to the characters and comic. Some changes but very minor.

Yes, Eric the scientist was definitely referring to Banner when he mentioned a gamma ray scientist. I believe Stellan Skarsgaard is signed to have a bit part in Avengers therefore will be a link to Banner/Hulk.

It was great to see Hawkeye but does anyone else feel this was just added on for the Avengers? You could so tell since Renner did not interact with anyone. They could have shot this footage 1 month ago and spliced it in. If I'm not mistaken, when Renner was cast as Hawkeye, the Thor shoot was already completed. I still don't mind. Every character needs to be introduced somehow right?

Love the post credits/set up for Cap America which will probably carry on to Avengers.

As for the movie itself. Awesome. Glad they stuck more to the 616 Thor instead of the rumored Ultimate version. As for my 7 and 9 year old? They loved it. And they are both girls! They haven't stopped talking about it and can't wait for Cap and Avengers. The only thing that "freaked out" the kids was the trailer before the movie. Columbiana (revenge flick with Zoe Seldana). Weird,

Mossy1221 5/7/2011 9:06:11 PM

 Saw it Sat morning.  I loved it. Even saw the 3D version due to the time fitting my schedule.  Took my 7 yr/old. He loved the first 20 min and the last 20 min. The middle had too much story for his attention span.  But give him monsters and giant robots and he he one happy camper. 

I hear a lot about Green Lanterns cgi not looking to good.  I thought Asgard look a little..... cartoonish.  Do not get me wrong, it looked gorgous!  Just thought it could have had a little more detail to it to make it look real.

KLA1A 5/7/2011 9:25:17 PM

Here in our small town, we do not have access to 3-D versions of any movie. From some of the reviews ahead of mine, that may be a good thing. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie from start to finish. I was especially happy that the 13th century speech patterns used by Thor in the comics was not used.

I told my daughter that we weren't leaving until after all of the credits had run, given the history of Marvel movies since the X-men came out. So I haven't missed any of those cookies either. Seeing this one gives an idea of who one villian will be in the Avengers movie.

I didn't have high hopes for Captain America, but after seeing what they did with Thor, my expectations have been elevated.

gauleyboy420 5/7/2011 10:56:37 PM

It could have been Barton, I thought they said Spartan, but Barton makes more sence.

MY one complaint if I was forced to give one is that Thor only wore his helmet in the very beginning of the film. He should have wore it more.

The rest of your complaints about Asgard looking too... or

gauleyboy420 5/7/2011 10:57:27 PM

any other minor complaint is rediculous the movie was PERFECT!

westend 5/8/2011 12:14:47 AM

 I must be in the minority. Though  decent I was underwhelmed by Thor. I don't know, maybe because I never cared much for him in the first place.  The movie had a feeling of cheapness and smallness.  Asgard was CGI, and the Earth setting was all in one tiny town in the middle of the desert.  I was expecting grander and bigger.  This will not be a repeat viewing for me.

Wiseguy 5/8/2011 5:03:27 AM

MrJawbreakingEquilibrium I stand corrected. We saw the film again last night and you sir are correct. After Coulson says he wants "Eyes" up high he later says "Barton talk to me" or something of that ilk

Saw it in regular 3D last night and I thought it looked great. Pretty much all the panoramic scenes in Asgard look terrific. I really love the shot in the main hall as Thor approaches Odin.

It's rare to have a movie meet your expectations when your expectations are so high but Thor does just that this movie for me ranks at the very top with my favorite superhero films. But I grew up reading Thor and he has always been amongst my favorites. Hope that Cap does the same which btw Cap's trailer looked awesome as hell in 3D too.

For some reason they didn't have a 3D Green Lantern trailer, bummer, but did have a 2D

 

logan30228 5/8/2011 7:45:41 AM

I was pleasantly surprised with Branaugh's approach to the mythos, and you could tell, like  Raimi with Spiderman, Nolan with Batman and Favreau with Iron Man, Branaugh loves Thor and wants to make him flesh and blood for the masses! Nice little cookies were scattered about, but as related in the review, Hawkeyes appearance seems to be an add-in, but there were also references to Banner as well as Howard Stark, or maybe I mistook the scientists reference to a nother scientist he worked with who specialized in gamma research. They worked in the 'Donald Blake" mention very well and made it more than plausable. I also appreciated that he didn't try to make Hemsworth , who bulked up mightely to embody Thor, play weakling Donald Blake hobbling around with a cane. I think if this is to be the tome , the bar is set high, and it would appear from the lengthy preview before Thor, that Captain America will live up to the billing.  Al I can say is DC better get serious, and really consider finding a way to keep Bale and Nolan involved, and hope that Superman ;Man of Steel is fantastic, for if not, Once again Mighty Marvel will rule te roost, and for a long time to come.

ChittyChityBang 5/8/2011 10:48:40 AM

Thor was a little too silly for me to take seriously. I'm glad I didn't pay extra for 3D, because I was pretty disappointed. Like at the beginning, "Oh here is two little innocent boys. And one of them grows up to be a mastermind villain." Loki's evil reveal was one of the most forced, ridiculous parts of the movie. Didn't feel anything for this movie other than I wish I was Chris Hemsworth during the scenes when Natalie Portman was all over him. Action was meh, but the visuals of Asgard were the highlight of the film.

<<  <  6 7 8 9 10 11 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.