Mania Review: Total Recall Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 50
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
akiraakobus 8/3/2012 12:57:53 AM

Pfffft, a D from this guy bascially means the film is probably a C or B-.  I plan on seeing this one tommorrow night, I think it looks pretty good, the Verhoeven version is fun as well but no more than a B movie. 

I love how critics are bashing this film for the chase scenes, action, special effects, etc.  Funny thats about all the original is remembered for that and Arnolds over the top performance.  I also love the fact that people complain about the lack of humor in the new version, ummm yeah I don't expect them to be cracking jokes or cheesey one liners to much in a movie that looks like this, it looks like a serious Sci-Fi movie so I expect the humor to be kept to a minimum.

Detractors also seem to whine about the lack of an R rating, thats a stupid complaint as the one thing that would bring to the movie would be over the top gore more than likely and nudity which really serves no purpose in a movie like this.  (Verhoeven however used over the top gore to an goofy degree in his movies and through nudity around so much you could assume he was a pretty big pervert in real life).

In the end I will see this movie and probably enjoy it, bump the critics.

 

ActionMovieGod 8/3/2012 1:32:48 AM

Nope he is being kind that was one of the worst action movies ive EVER seen! They should call it Total Refund.God i wish Hollywood would stop pissing on Arnolds legacy...I would give this a F yes i said a F Rob is being kind.

doublec 8/3/2012 2:05:50 AM

 Ya know, this sounds exactly like what I thought of last year's remake of Fright Night, which came out at about the same time and place in the summer season. A tired, insipid rehash of a vastly superior original, yet everyone here thought THAT film was oh so cool. Interesting.

Munkey421e 8/3/2012 3:56:43 AM

what about the lask of dedication to the source material or pissing on the legacy of one of Science Fictions most underappreciated authors, Phillip K. Dick? no one mentions that? its all about frackin Arnold. pffffffft.

Munkey421e 8/3/2012 3:57:52 AM

"In We Can Remember it for You Wholesale, Quail goes to have the memory of Mars implanted, only for the men carrying out the procedure to find that he actually has been to Mars, and this memory has been buried deep by the government. The men at Rekal, Incorporated send Quail home without grafting the fake memory and when he comes around, he can remember a trip to Mars as an undercover agent but it is hazy and vague, and he believes something went wrong with the procedure. A policeman shows up at his apartment, who tells Quail a telepathic transmitter is wired within his skull, which tells them all of his thoughts. He knows too much about his past as an agent and he must be killed. As a final measure, Quail desperately suggests they imprint a false-memory as they did previously, and implant another memory, something which would be enough to satisfy his craving for Mars, which seeped through before. A psychiatrist discovers an interesting fantasy buried deep in his mind, one different to wanting to be an undercover agent. One in which he stops an invasion of small alien creatures, by showing them kindness and mercy, and they make a covenant with him not to invade Earth while he is alive. However, when they try to implant this memory, it turns out this one also happened for real… and that is how the short story ends.

Both the short story and the film are appealing in their own ways, although very different from each other. All the events that take place after Quaid leaves Rekall in Total Recall are not Philip K. Dick’s ideas, but they do follow similar themes and there are some great sci-fi moments, so this makes for an interesting comparison.

"

DarthBob 8/3/2012 4:34:37 AM

"a D from this guy bascially means the film is probably a C or B-."  Right, because it is just ripping it up over on RT at 30%.  Stop casting Colin Farrell as a lead as he's not a very good actor.  The trailers are boring so you know the rest of the flick is a snooze fest.

spiderhero 8/3/2012 4:42:56 AM

I was going to see this, but now I'll pass.

MrEt 8/3/2012 5:21:30 AM

I hav etickets to this and the RT score is in the trash, wondering if I should see another flick.....

wish 8/3/2012 5:43:58 AM

Colin Farrell is a fine actor, he does what his directors tell him.  Len Wiseman is a fine director, but he needs to be a little better at choosing his projects.  His movies are either February or August releases with Live Free or Die Hard being the one exception so far, and with reviews like this, which are fairly standard for this movie as far as I've read, he's not likely to elevate his status. 

I along with many of the fans this type of movie was made for would agree that this didn't need a remake, but here it is so now we can either choose to see it or not, personally I was interested before the reviews, now I'm a little hesitant, it just so happens that as I age, I find myself wanting to waste less and less time on shitty movies, and I actually find myself agreeing with guys like Rob more and more, when you really focus on the points they make they happen to right more often than not.

Between the soft rating and the lack of a Maritian setting, I really don't have many reasons to want to see this.

 

xJokersxWildx 8/3/2012 5:56:45 AM

I knew it would suck when there was no .. GET YOUR Azz to Mars lol

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.