Mania Review: V/H/S Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 10
1 
Wiseguy 9/13/2012 6:39:16 AM

When this first showed its head I thought just another cheap horror film but the trailers and the positive reviews have me actually looking forward to it.

The question for me is theater or vod. I love watching films at the theater despite the convenience of vod. Maybe I'll toss a coin

CyanideRush 9/13/2012 7:28:02 AM

 I'd recommend theater, if it's going to play in your area. If not, at least have a bunch of friends over for a group viewing.

-Chuck

fatpantz 9/13/2012 8:03:05 AM

Never heard of this one. Doubt I will see it released in my area but I will keep my eyes out for it. Great review Chuck

shac2846 9/13/2012 10:38:43 AM

 Can not wait! They also said that Your Next got bought by Lionsgate and will be out next year. it is directed by one of the directors of one of the shorts and has been getting a lot of great buzz. 

TheRiffs 9/14/2012 10:09:50 AM

Itunes had an early release rent you could buy for 10$ i was one of those who decided to give this movie a chance. I have not read Robs review yet but the B grade is a little high IMO. The movie has 5 different films in it and inn all honesty the only ones worth watching are the 1st and the 5th. The other films dissapointed me tremendously (spoiler) including one film where they do not even show you the killer and just have a blurred image on the screen killing kids in the woods (rather dumb).

I reccomend seeing the movie for the 1st film all on its own its completely none of the others come close, when you see the thing you can hardly believe what it is and your sitting in your seat in shock.

Overall C (i was dissapointed not gonna lie)

InnerSanctum 9/14/2012 1:41:58 PM

 Okay, I just watched VHS.  I'm very dissapointed.  I have to disagree with Rob's review and agree with TheRiffs.  This was a C effort overall (C being that it held my attention for the most part.)  Most of the stories are rather unimaginative, nor scarey.  Trick R' Treat was a far superior effort (for a possible seasonal yearly movie) and this film does nothing to advance the found footage gimmick.  I'd read so many great reviews which really added to the let down.  I'd say, that this is the type of film that finally drives a stake through the heart of "found footage".  Really nowhere to go with the medium IMO.  

I can't say that I found any of the stories all that great.  The wrap around story is pointless.  Most all of the characters in each individual film are unlikable.  And, it laked the intensity (trying to tell these stories in such a short time) that PA capitalized on.  Basically, it looks and feels like a college film on a shoe string budget.  As a lover of horror...there are "no great scares".  Just hollow little tales.  

InnerSanctum 9/14/2012 3:06:08 PM

 Out of curiousity, why is The Cabin in the Woods only available for purchase on Amazon and iTunes?  You can't rent it.  You must buy the film for $14.99.  This is the first time I've seen that with a new release.  

I was going to choose it over VHS, but VHS was $9.99 and I've been waiting for it to pop up on screens for the last year.  BTW, if you can't tell by my reaction, I'd save the $9.99 and wait for Redbox.  

Moz72 9/15/2012 9:10:50 AM

@INNERSANCTUM:

When a film is released throug ITUNES,AMAZON, ZUNE,etc..prior to DVD release date, the film is only available for purchase. You have to wait until or after the actual DVD release date for the film to become available to rent On Demand.

InnerSanctum 9/15/2012 12:07:58 PM

 I stand corrected.  TCITW is not being released until 9/18.  My bad.  

thezillaman 9/30/2012 10:38:23 PM

 people robs review are always crap. its sad that mania only has rob for reviews mostly. and about  the VHS movie im going for VOD on this one.. i just don't think it will be good enough to dish out $10 for a ticket $3 for a drink $ 6 for popcorn dam, expensive now'n days shit.. 

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.