Mania Review: Zero Dark Thirty Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 8 of 8
1 
Wiseguy 12/20/2012 2:33:44 PM

Checking this out tomorrow

Muenster 12/20/2012 3:44:26 PM

2.5 hours long... Sheesh. And to think, the unglamorous reality is that 10 years and millions were spent to find Bin Laden, only for the bum to be found almost entirely by accident holed up in a pigsty of house with mounds of porn.

I guess Hollywood and the powers that be (and were) have got to dress it all up somehow. 

 

jedibanner 12/20/2012 3:55:52 PM

This one does look interesting.

I would be curious to know to what extend all of the movie is based on what really happened compared to what they were allowed to talk about. In the sense where isn't these type of missions so classified and top secret that wouldn't there be restraint from the military to keep situations and tactics from the general public?

I'm thinking the situation from the game of Medal of Honnor where some soldiers got reprimended for just talking to EA about specific military stuff, wouldn't this classify in the same line?

 

shac2846 12/20/2012 8:28:16 PM

 Man I have been waiting for this since it was just a rumor of being Bigelow's next project. The reviews like this one are just making me more excited.

blankczech 12/21/2012 12:05:06 PM

 Interesting that 95% of the critics on Rotten Tomatoes praised the film but only 79% of the audience.  Usually those numbers are flipped (the audience is more forgiving).  I wonder if the graphic torture scenes were a little much for some viewers?

Still don't know why Mania reviewers can review this but won't touch Showtime's "Homeland" with a ten foot pole.

Wiseguy 12/22/2012 9:31:11 AM

Great film, really needed to be much longer I think but the details are probably classified. I'm thinking Bigelow worked with what she had or is public knowledge and didn't want to embelish the story too much or at all

It's funny how you can end up at the edge of your seat even though you know damn well how it ends but that was the case for many on several instances, especially when a doctor for al-qaeda is recruited as a snitch and of course the final mission of the SEALS.

 

Wiseguy 12/22/2012 9:36:54 AM

blankzcech the movie deals a lot more with the search for UBL as they refer to him in the film. I'm thinking people were expecting an action movie with a lot of actual field operations. This is the espionage with a bit of the political part which as most know, ok as some of us know, is nothing like James Bond movie so they were probably bored.

So if you're expecting a bunch of action or something like that stay home

blankczech 12/25/2012 9:12:59 AM

 No I'm not expecting a lot of action.  I've read a lot of reviews and understand that the movie plays out a little like a documentary.  I enjoyed Zodiac and some say Zero Dark 30 weaves its story in a similar way.  I'll be a little uncomfortable if I have to watch someone being waterboarded like in Rendition.  I saw "The Help" for the first time on Showtime last night (Christmas Eve) and now that I know who Jessica Chastain is, my interest has been peaked a bit.

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.