Minutemen #1 Comic Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 15
1 2 >  >>  
Roqueja 6/8/2012 6:11:44 AM

Thanks for bringing more than one review to the table on this.  It's going to be a long wait for the trades.

karas1 6/8/2012 6:35:09 AM

The Watchmen did a pretty good job of telling us about The Minutemen.  I really felt I knew those people and what they were about after reading Watchmen.  So I don't feel that this miniseries is really necessary.  Sure, the exploits of those peoople might be fun to read, but they aren't important.

Then again, it's a comic book and not meant to be important.

I'll probably pick it up, if my comic store has any issues left when I get there, just to see what the fuss is about.

jedibanner 6/8/2012 6:37:32 AM

It's good to have reviews, it won't push me to by any of it but in the end, I still believe it will destroy what was already established by adding layers of unwanted depth to characters that didn't need more depth.

Enjoy the read....TRAITORS!!!

ok...ok...that was harsh....

CyanideRush 6/8/2012 7:17:34 AM

 @jedibanner - the good news is that, just like with new additions of D&D, these releases dont invalidate the graphic novel you already own. You can completely ignore these and so for you it'll be like these never existed. But I totally understand your frustration.

Roqueja 6/8/2012 8:08:13 AM

@ jedibanner - I think it's great that we can totally agree on some genre points, and totally disagree on others without it degenerating into childish banter. 

Enjoy sticking your head in the sand.......PURIST!!!

Remember.... comics = fun

joelr 6/8/2012 8:19:59 AM

I've come to realize over my short term as Mania comic columnist that when it comes to Before Watchmen, jedibanner is more Banner than Jedi ;)

tjanson 6/8/2012 10:15:08 AM

Jedi...I think your giving these too much credit.  Did the second Star Wars trilogy destroy was was established in the orginal trilogy?  Did the lousy 4th indiana jones movie destroy the first 3?  I don't think so. The original Watchmen Story will always stand on its own regardless of these prequels.  Like I said in my piece...there are no sacred cows in comics

InnerSanctum 6/8/2012 10:37:56 AM

 I'd be up for catching this series in trade.  

InnerSanctum 6/8/2012 10:45:02 AM

 I have no problem with a writer expanding on Moore's universe.  Moore has certainly played in a lot of other people's sandboxes.  Was I being a "traitor" for reading his version of Hyde, the Invisible Man and Quartermain?  I also enjoyed Snyder's take and actually thought he had the better ending.  It just made more sense and tied the story up  nicely.  I know, throw stones because I didn't mind not having a giant mutant squid crush New York.  

tjanson 6/8/2012 1:20:20 PM

Hasn't Pretty much most of Moore's career been built on recreating other people's characters?  Swamp Thing, Miracle Man, even the Watchmen was a recreation of the Charlton characters.  I like his work but I don't get the "don't tread on me" reverence people afford him.

1 2 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.