NOVA SWING wins Clarke Award -

Book News

0 Comments | Add


Rate & Share:


Related Links:



NOVA SWING wins Clarke Award

By News Editor     May 03, 2007
Source: Arthur C. Clarke Awards

"Nova Swing" by M.John Harrison.
© Gollancz
Nova Swing by M. John Harrison and published by Gollancz is the winner of this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award, the UK’s premier prize for science fiction literature.
The announcement was made last night at the award’s official ceremony held in London, Piccadilly as part of an exclusive event to mark the opening of this year’s Sci-Fi-London Film Festival.
The annual award is presented for best science fiction novel of the year and selected from a list of novels whose UK first edition was published in the previous calendar year. 
Chair of the Judges Paul Billinger said, "In M. John Harrison’s Nova Swing we have a triumphant return to the world first seen in his earlier acclaimed novel, Light. This is a vividly and richly described world, full of Harrison’s unique interpretations, and his most lyrical and affecting book to date.”
The story is set some time after Ed Chianese's trip into the Kefahuchi Tract. A major industry of the Halo is now tourism. The Tract has begun to expand and change, but, more problematically, parts of it have also begun to fall to earth, piecemeal, on the Beach planets. Next to the city is the event site, the zone, from out of which pour new, inexplicable artefacts, organisms and escapes of living algorithm - the wrong physics loose in the universe. They can cause plague and change. An entire department of the local police exists to stop them being imported into the city by adventurers, entradistas, and the men known as 'travel agents', profiteers who can manage - or think they can manage -the bad physics, skewed geographies and psychic onslaughts of the event site. But now a new class of semi-biological artefact is finding its way out of the site, and this may be more than anyone can handle.
The judging panel for the 2007 Arthur C. Clarke Award were Niall Harrison and Claire Weaver for the British Science Fiction Association, Pat Cadigan and Graham Sleight for the Science Fiction Foundation and Dave Palmer for the Science Museum. Paul Billinger represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award as the Chair of Judges.


Be the first to add a comment to this article!


You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.