Nozomi Sets Street For Sound of the Sky (Sora no Woto) -

Anime News

1 Comment | Add


Rate & Share:


Related Links:



Nozomi Sets Street For Sound of the Sky (Sora no Woto)

Limited-edition set with entire TV series, plus two special episodes

By Chris Beveridge     April 06, 2011

Soranowoto Episode #01
© Crunchyroll

Anime producer and distributor Right Stuf, Inc. and its Nozomi Entertainment division are pleased to announce the SOUND OF THE SKY (Sora no Woto) Complete DVD Collection L.E. will be available on July 5, 2011.

This limited-edition DVD box set will feature all 12 episodes of Sound of the Sky – plus two special episodes – with Japanese audio, plus English-language subtitles and on-screen translations. Additionally, the set will be housed in a collectors’ art box and include a 40-page book with series artwork and staff commentaries. Only a limited quantity of this premium set will be produced.

“great animation and a sense of presence and atmosphere…
an almost theatrical feeling with its pacing and attention to detail”
“One of the more appealing shows of the Winter 2010 season”

– Chris Beveridge, AnimeOnDVD at

“soulful and contemplative”
Theron Martin, Anime News Network

Also known by the title “Sora no Woto,” Sound of the Sky aired on TV Tokyo and via Internet simulcast in early 2010. It was the first series produced as part of the “Anime no Chikara” program, a joint initiative by TV Tokyo and Aniplex to develop original animated content for television.

The series is based on an original concept by Paradores and features direction by Mamoru Kanbe (Elfin Lied, Letter Bee: Light and Blue Night Fantasy), series composition and scripting by Hiroyuki Yoshino (Macross Frontier, My-Otome) and animation by A-1 Pictures (Black Butler, Fractale). Sound of the Sky’s opening theme is composed by Yuki Kajiura (Noir, .hack//SIGN) and performed by Kalafina (Black Butler).

Visit to find out more about the series and to pre-order the SOUND OF THE SKY Complete DVD Collection L.E.

About SOUND OF THE SKY (Sora no Woto)

In a lonely corner of the world, on the edge of No Man’s Land, sits Clocktower Fortress. It’s home to the 1121st Platoon of the Helvetian Army, and their newest member is a 15-year-old volunteer named Kanata Sorami, who enlisted to learn how to play the bugle. When she was a child, Kanata was saved by a beautiful soldier and found inspiration in the clear, golden sound of her trumpet. From that day forward, Kanata decided music would be her life. As the other platoon members train her how to be a bugler and a soldier, Kanata's enduring optimism will inspire them to look for happiness and beauty, even in a world haunted by war. Contains episodes 1-12, plus two special episodes!


Pre-Book: 6/7/2011
Street Date: 7/5/2011

Runtime: Approximately 355 minutes, Dolby Digital Stereo, Color
Genre: Drama
Suggested Rating: 16+

Format: DVD (Japanese Audio, English Subtitles, English On-Screen Translations)
Catalog #: RSDVD1144
ISBN: 1-57032-656-8
UPC: 7-42617-1144-2-7
SRP: $49.99

Discs/Set: 4
Case Quantity: TBA

DVD Features:
Scene access, Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo audio for Japanese dialogue, English subtitles and English on-screen translations. PLUS: U.S. trailer, alternate version of Episode 1 (with full opening credits sequence), character bios, line art gallery and Nozomi trailers. AND: A 40-page book featuring series artwork and staff commentaries.

* Cover Art:   

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter and get Mania news on Facebook and Twitter too!


Showing items 1 - 1 of 1
benzappa 4/6/2011 5:45:36 PM

Great news. I’ll order tonight



You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.