Oz the Great and Powerful Blu-Ray Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 10
1 
jsmulligan 7/15/2013 7:12:42 AM

I found this movie very disappointing.  Was expecting a bit more of a sense of awe and wonder, and really just didn't feel it.  For me, Franco is part of the problem.  Maybe it's just me, but I haven't cared for him in anything I've seen him in (which, admittedly, isn't much).  Kunis seemed a little out of her depth when paired with Weisz as well.

blankczech 7/15/2013 7:39:25 AM

 I always thought that "Wicked" would become a feature film, based on the critical praise and popularity of the book and long running Broadway Musical.  Whoever owned the movie rights to "Wicked" dragged their feet on the project and this beat them to the punch.

I actually saw this in a movie theatre (though nowadays I save almost everything for DVD rentals or Cable on the big HD TV) because my girlfriend wanted to see it (there are so few movies she wants to see now that Nerd Flicks and Family entertainment have taken over the movie megaplex).

I remember thinking that it was an enjoyable movie back when I saw it, but oddly enough I can barely remember it now, and have no desire to revisit it.

Interesting how Mania reviews some movies twice...first when it hits the theatres then again when the DVD is released...I've never checked to see whether they recycle the same review or if it's different.

I have no knowledge of the Wizard of Oz books.  Is the first movie a faithful adaptation of the book?  The end of the original movie explains that the story is only a dream that Dorothy had when she was knocked unconscious during a storm.  How then do we get prequels and sequels...do we have to knock out Dorothy again?

monkeyfoot 7/15/2013 8:24:40 AM

I enjoyed the movie in the theaters but I also found Franco lacking. He just doesn't have...something when he's on screen. I know they originally wanted Downey but he was working on Avengers at that time. His style would have been perfect IMHO.

I know a guy who is a high school buddy of Raimi's and got a teeny part in the film along with other friends. He had a wonderful time on set for the few weeks he was there. He talked with extras, stagehands, set designers and such discussing their work and careers. He sometimes ended up sitting next to Michele Willams while they had their makeup done and had fun chats.

tjanson 7/15/2013 9:39:43 AM

Blank...no we do not recycle reviews.  The esteemed Rob Vaux handles our theatrical reviews and Bob Trate or myself generally handle the DVD/blu-ray releases.

As to your second question about the book and original movie...Dorothy waking up and realizing it was a dream was ONLY in the film.  In the book, the wizard does leave in a hot air balloon stranding Dorothy...then she, toto, the Scarecrow, tin man, and Cowardly Lion have an entire other adventure as they have to journey to see Glinda the Good Witch.  They actuall journey through the China Country which we saw in this new film.  Once they get to Glinda's castle she tells Dorothy the SILVER SHOES (Not Ruby Slippers)   that she wears can take her home to Kansas.  She goes home to be reunited with her family.  So in L. Frank Baum's books Oz is a very real kingdom

redhairs99 7/15/2013 11:42:07 AM

The whole Oz is a dream angle from the original is one of the things that made this movie a little difficult to "believe."  Taken on it's own, it works much better, but they tried to make it a direct prequel and that's the problem. 

I thought Mila's green witch make-up was utterly horrendous.  Just didn't work for me at all.  And I was also surprised at how flat "Oz" was.  Now, I didn't see the movie in 3D, so maybe that was the probably, but the "awe" of Oz when we first arrive fell flat for me when Franco was floating down the stream and looking up at the local flora, but it just seemed to have no depth in the CG.

All that said, I was able to enjoy the movie overall, just a few small nitpicks.

karas1 7/15/2013 1:47:56 PM

In the original books Oz was a real place, a country surrounded by other, equally magical countries.  There were several books in which Dorothy returned to Oz and then went home.  Eventually she and her Aunt and Uncle just moved there.

Then there followed a number of books where other girls (and boys) accidentally travelled from our world to Oz.  They ended up with a HUGE cast of characters, both native Ozians and American children, who ended up having some very strange adventures together.

At some point Baum stopped writing them and a woman named Ruth Plumley Thompson took over, writing as Baum.

I have two of the later Thompson books, my father had them when he was a boy.  They are quite joyful to read but quite daft.  Thompson was very fond of puns.

hanso 7/15/2013 3:12:32 PM

 I didn't have any expectations for it and ended up enjoying it, liked how he became Oz the Great & Powerful.

 

I agree with Red about Mila's witch.  I would've liked for Rachel Weisz to be the green one.  

 

redhairs99 7/15/2013 5:28:05 PM

 I think that could've worked better, Hanso.  Still it was entertaining enough.

almostunbiased 7/16/2013 7:25:06 AM

I was okay with this movie.  My kids enjoyed it but didn't love it.  My wife was bored.

DarthBob 7/17/2013 6:59:44 AM

I saw a video recently that compared many of the film sequences in Oz to those found in Army of Darkness.  It's amazing how many shots look exactly the same in both movies.

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.