SMALLVILLE - 10.4 - Homecoming Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 68
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
tiberiuscan 10/18/2010 8:43:05 AM

I would give the show perhaps an A-. What our fearless reviewer seems to fail to see is "It's just a TV show for God's sake" Do you really think all those characters were in Purgatory for 6 years on LOST? For 72 years we have been expected to believe that a pair of glasses was enough to disguise the Man Of Steel. That Lois Lane ace reporter and general seeker of the truth couldn't figure out that the mild mannered co-worker is also the worlds greatest hero. That a man can not only defy the law of gravity but support tons of weight while in mid-flight.  Relax and enjoy the show. If you want reality it doesn't exist anywhere on TV. Comics and comic book heroes are about escaping reality. B.T.W. Clark defied gravity twice in the first season.

This could have been a two hour episode but the writers/producers chose wisely to not stretch it too far. Also not only did future Clark know Clark was coming from the past, but he needed him to be there. While Sup[es took care of the Atom bomb he needed Clark to save Lois on the rooftop in the crashing helicopter. (Nice nod to Superman The Movie). Lois standing on Clarks toes as he hovered (from Superman Returns).

The reviewer admits he didn't watch several seasons of Smallville. Then he missed the entire point of the series. This is about Clark Kent not Superman. Clark's journey to becoming Superman. His doubts and fears and the awesome responsibility there-in. It's not that easy being Superman (as the song so eloquantly tells us "It's not easy being me")..  This episode was more for fun than anything else and it provided a lot of it.  Lois of the future is more of the Lois we expect her to be. Acting issues aside, the producers had promised to lighten up in this final season. This is basically filling in time until the series ends.

After as it has already been pointed out, we already know what Clarks future is, it's been told many times in 72 years. As with Lois and Clark the New Adventures of Superman, Smallville is just another take on the legend.

It's only T.V. relax and enjoy or turn it off.

PAGE 10/18/2010 9:18:15 AM

I agree with you Ponyboy and most definitely agree with you Tiberiuscan!

Moz72 10/18/2010 9:38:35 AM

What,no mention of the scene where Clark visits Pa Kent's grave in his Leather Jacket w/ hair slicked back to say goodbye to his father? That was the cathardic release he needed to move on with his mission on Earth. Very touching

Jakester 10/18/2010 10:15:11 AM

Meh.  This episode didn't make me want to puke or throw things at the TV, so I guess it was okay.

heath0920 10/18/2010 10:44:33 AM

I apologize about the costume, he was wearing the red suit when he visited the grave and I thought he was still in it when he went to Ollie. Still would like to see those college degrees (of any kind) someday since I figure the hiring standards of the Planet have to start SOMEWHERE! I did enjoy the ep, though, especially the scene from the reformed villain (reminded me of Buffy's classmates giving her the trophy at Prom because they had noticed all that she had done for them over the years) and the scene in the graveyard. Considering when he began the show 10 years ago, Welling was an expressionless walking billboard for Abbercrombie (no real surprise since he had no prior acting eperience), he has truly come into his own and seems to really want to do right by this character. His acting has improved by (heh) leaps and bounds.  It's nice to see.

wesleywells1 10/18/2010 2:49:02 PM

Good review Joe, but I agree with everyone that said it at lesast deserves an A-. This might be my favorite Smallville episode ever, and I've seen them all - good and bad. Superman/Clark Kent is my favorite character across the board (comics, tv, movies, etc.), and this episode actually did him justice. The scenes set in the future were great. Lois insisting that Clark keep his glasses on and knocking out the helicopter pilot to prevent him from seeing Clark were nice touches. Future Clark was spot-on too. He was the slightly uptight reporter with slicked back hair and glasses that I think Clark should always be. The Chris Reeve version was always too much of an over-the-top bumbling idiot for me. I really enjoyed the floating/dancing scene as well. Even though I saw it coming a mile away, I still felt like a 5 year old on Christmas morning when Clark's feet slowly come off the ground. I think Tom Welling could pull off playing Superman in a feature film, although I would settle for a two hour season finale with Welling as full-on Superman for the entire duration. As long as it was well written.

DKnight0212 10/18/2010 4:02:37 PM

Bite me trolls ? Seriously ?  Anyway, it's too bad I didn't see the whole episode, cause where I caught it, I loved it. I just hope they continue on this path.

JoeArtistWriter 10/18/2010 4:06:53 PM

Everyone, I loved the future Clark stuff... that's what I wish I  was watching all this time.

tiberiuscan, are you serious? I don't think catching up on the first 8 seasons of this show is that difficult. I've watched some old eps, I've read old reviews, wiki, etc, and I'm very well-versed in all things DC, and pretty dialed in to the past of this show... It's not exactly like skipping the first three years of med school and still wanting to be a spinal surgeon in year 4.

This show is flawed. It can be enjoyable, but I'm perplexed at how often and how much ridiculous crap gets by. Make the character of Lois consistent and they'll get an A from me. This ep had great moments and crap moments. I'm a reviewer, and don't have the luxury of forgiving crap... I have to call out crap as crap. It shouldn't have as much crap as it does, and if we could lose all the crap, the good shows wouldn't have a crappy after taste.

JasonTMays 10/18/2010 9:07:30 PM

I agree with Joe for the most part. sad thing is I still enjoy this show and I would've gave this episode a "C". To me this episode didn't come close to the impact of the 100th episode. The death of Jonathan Kent  (which i remember)  so far this season hasn't lived up to the season that came before it. (minus the 1st episode) 

my biggest grievances with this season is how they are handling darkseid (he's a fucking god for Jack Kirby's sake!) and now he's just a body snatcher with fetish complex. (thus far) 

and my next biggest grievance where the hell is J'onn J'onzz. 

I know they're waiting for the end to show superman and maybe a few seasons ago that ideology would've worked. but now Clark's already a man and has already met some of the more defining DC characters. hell he's even faced Doomsday! with that said I take Smallville with a grain of salt, but I think this show would do a lot better if they were to stay closer to the origins and source material.

Lastly, I think Erica has the potential to be the best Lois Lane ever but due to poor writing that potential is wasted. I understand It's a TV show about an alien demi-god who for some reason nobody notices is a mild manner reporter...but I can't suspend bullshit when I see it and hopefully Smallville in will carry a pooper scooper for the rest of this season and we get an awesome season that's been 10 years in the making. 

rant over. lol

 

tiberiuscan 10/19/2010 3:36:46 AM

JoeArtistWriter  Can you say crap a little more? F.Y.I I have been a Superman fan for 50 years, and I've also been paid as a Film Critic for Television.  But I never got on my high horse and attacked anyone because they enjoyed something I didn't.  This is television not brain surgery.

Yes the show is flawed and it may never win an Emmy for best writing or for acting. But it is still just a T.V. show. It's not trying to cure cancer or save the whales.  Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman was a great show too, but had it's share of clunkers too. It's still just a fantasy show. The Adventures of Superman (which I grew up on) had more than it's share of clinkers, but who watched it for it's 'reality'? We wanted to see super deeds by a larger than life hero. We read/watch the various adventures of Superman to escape reality, and to connect with a hero that truly epitomizes what a hero should be. Selfless, courageous and even flawed. But he still fights for the rights of the oppressed and those that can't stick up for themselves.

What's wrong with that?

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.