SMALLVILLE - 10.6 - Harvest Review - Mania.com



TV Opinion

Mania Grade: C-

77 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Title: Smallville
  • Episode: Harvest
  • Starring: Tom Welling, Erica Durance, Cassidy Freeman, Connor Stanhope, Bella King
  • Written by: Turi Meyer, Al Septien
  • Directed by: Turi Meyer
  • Network: The CW Network
  • Series: Smallville

SMALLVILLE - 10.6 - Harvest Review

Did Clark Freaking Shoot a Guy in the Back?

By Joe Oesterle     November 01, 2010
Source: Mania


Review: SMALLVILLE 8.18 - "Eternal"
© Mania

After all this prolonged stalling about whether he’ll tell or she’ll confess, Clark finally came clean last week and admitted to Lois he was “The Blur.” My complaint about that is had he only told her earlier we would have had some scenes like the opening car ride for some time now. The chemistry between Erica Durance and Tom Welling was palpable, and that’s because they were finally allowed to play real emotions. They weren’t forced to fumble around with awkward dialogue in unbelievable situations. At last the main actors were able to act with each other instead of act like 3rd rate versions of Spencer Tracey and Audrey Hepburn.

Lois was practically giddy when she admits to her boyfriend of steel that she feels like she’s dating a god, and Durance’s performance was lifted by the believability of the situation. Obviously basing a show on a human-looking, super strength alien is a little out there (though nowadays it does seem to be the norm) so as I’ve been saying for a long time now, they have to make the little things ring true. Lois gushing like a schoolgirl at her boyfriend’s ability to lift a car without a jack felt real to me. It was truly that simple. Now that’s not to say this episode didn’t have problems – this is Smallville after all, but at least the interpersonal relationships seemed solid in this one.

‘Lil Lex is having yet another birthday party. That’s a lot of cake for an 11 year old kid who has only been alive in this stage for 6 weeks. If Tess doesn’t monitor his sugar intake Lex is going to have problems focusing in school, or getting to sleep at night, or he’ll become obsessed with killing the Earth’s mightiest savior. One thing is for certain, at the rate this child is aging, he’ll be the tallest, baldest kid in his 5th grade class picture. Tess is noticing her tiny tot is has passed right by the terrible twos and is rapidly advancing to his malevolent thirties. She’s concerned with his “S” symbol obsession, but then again who isn’t. It’s been ten years already Clark, put on the freaking cape and tights.

This next tidbit was mentioned by a couple people last week, and this is possibly a spoiler, though I have no official confirmation, so if you prefer to be spoiler-free, skip to the next paragraph. I have heard/read that Tess Mercer may indeed be either a clone of Lex Luthor’s mother, or Lex was cloned using Lex’s DNA as well as that of Tess, because it’s possible Tess is also a Luthor. I don’t know much beyond that, but it is interesting. Interesting in the way the creative force behind this show could think this far ahead and cast a redhead as Tess to make her a possible unwitting test tube mother of ‘Lil Lex, and yet they’re seldom capable of making it from commercial to commercial without committing some sort of sin against logic. No promises, but I now have a hunch there is something to this.

Ordinarily I get worried when there’s a lot of Lois in any given episode, and usually that fear is slightly assuaged by one of her patented sexy-time dress-up costume changes. Sadly this week’s less than scintillating garb was straight out of the Amishcrombie and Dutch catalogue. That said, Durance didn’t make me cringe. She was more than serviceable for the entire duration. What did make me cringe were the lapses in logic once again.

First of all, Clark comes back to the car and notices Lois isn’t there. When the town cop shows up, Clark cuts himself, and it’s later explained away as his proximity to a human who has been nourishing himself on well water that’s been fortified with Blue Kryptonite. The obviously problem here is if Clark becomes mortal enough that he gashes himself up pretty good on a tire rim because he’s near one guy who grew up drinking Blue K H2O, why in the hell was he not only able to sustain the bucket full of boiling hot Blue K on his back? He’s now very near to the entire village of Blue K water drinkin’ yahoos. He’s closer to them now than when he was stuck in the house and didn’t have enough strength to bust the old-fashioned lock with his bare hands. Now they’re telling me that one cop made him mortal because Clark stood so close to him, but an entire town of people raised on the same water the cop was, AND a bucket of steaming Blue Kryptonite can be dumped on him, and he now has the strength to make a super speed getaway? F@cking really?

Oh, and I didn’t have this one on TiVo so I couldn’t rewind, but did Clark Kent shoot a man in the back with a freaking shot gun at close range – without warning? Let’s leave alone the whole, Superman doesn’t kill code; how about Clark being brought up on murder charges after he and Lois wrote an article that indicted an entire town of an annual murder/harvest religious event? Someone tell me I just needed to rewind that to see that didn’t happen and I’ll be fine, but the way I saw that, it looked like manslaughter. Let the courts decide if it was self-defense, but, and let me preface this with the statement that I’m not a lawyer, shooting people to death from behind is illegal in most states.

I did enjoy the scene of ‘Lil Lex in the Kent barn. That Connor Stanhope kid is one of the best actors in this show. I also enjoyed the fact that Tess slaps her kid. Hell, if Clark can blast a bystander with buckshot, a little corporal punishment towards a potential world-crushing tyrant has to be accepted.

The show ended with Clark and Lois doing the nasty in bed, while ‘Lil Lex was getting nastier by the minute. I don’t like Tess’ odds of striking that kid twice. The first time will probably be the last time. Take care Tess. Nice knowin’ ya.

Once again, some good goods, but some unforgivable bads. I’m going to give this episode a C minus. Truth be told it deserves less if only for the inconsistency of Clark’s powers being sapped, but if he really did kill a guy, or even just wound him, this is an F. That is sad, because the episode started with such promise. But that’s always been my experience with Smallville – lots of promise, but too often they don’t live up to it.

 


 

Joe Oesterle’s new book, “Weird Hollywood” is out. Here’s an unedited story from the book. It’s Halloween appropriate. Read, if you dare, the bizarre, twisted and unsolved murder of The Black Dahlia.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 77
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
millean 11/1/2010 12:42:27 PM

Totally agree with ya Joe.  Loved the banter between Lois & Clark, but sheesh, a little consistency with the powers would have been nice.  You forgot to mention the fact that obviously one foot of soil has enough solar radiation to magically revert the Blue K to, what was that, Yellow K?  Good enough for Super-Kal to rise from the dead.  (Oh yeah, and why not bury him the traditional 6 feet, instead of only at arm's length?)

I am 100 percent convinced that the writers for Smallville read these boards.  They definitely hinted at Tess being a clone, becasue she definitely "doesn't even know what she is" (or something along those lines were uttered by liLex).  I think the writers must have read our posts over the past episodes (dating back to last season) where someone on here brought up that idea.  I don't think they have enough foresight to come up with that on their own 3-4 years ago (or whenever it was Tess was introduced).

By the way, how is everyone loving having Darkseid as the main villian this year?  Are you all enjoying it as much as I am?  I'm so glad we are not going to get to see him in full for only an episode or two and then have Super-Kal beat him with one punch, similar to the way that Doomsday was handled.  Oh wait...

 

Kraken89 11/1/2010 1:21:05 PM

Yep, Clark definately shot a person in the back with a shotgun. He had to of known that they were normal and just afflicting his powers, not immortal. Unless Clark thought that Tieneman Square was justifiable, there's no explanation. If only Clark had just used the butt of the gun to strike him, I wouldn't of cared.

Oh and didn't we already know Clark and Lois where sleeping together? (be it Clark getting out of bed with Lois) Why on earth we need to see Lois and Clark playing chicken with the FCC is beyond me, unless Tom Erica or some of the writers/producers/directors have a real fetish for it.

Oh and as far as Tess and Lil' Lex are concerned, didn't Tess screw the original Lex? I mean talk about some Woody Allen incestious deviancy. Imagine Lil' Lex having flashbacks of that. At least that luck bastard get's all the memories of him and Lana.

I liked this episode as far as what could of been a great one episode plot (having Clark be reminded that Kryptonite green or blue is still causing harm to honest Kansas citizens and communities, an a Children Of The Korn spoof for Halloween). It just gets dragged down by the reoccuring lapses in logic.

 

Please bring on the Slade and Sgt.Lane turkey party. Oh and I was reading a celebrity tabloid magazine and guess what I done saw, a photo one smart paparazzi took of Smallville filming the Aquaman and Mara episode. Let's just say, don't expect green and orange tights, but do expect to be extremely jealous of Arthur Curry.

gopherblaster 11/1/2010 1:25:39 PM

I was intrigued by this episode. But too many holes in the logic as you pointed out Joe. I can't totally blame the writers. After all he is Superman, if he didn’t lose his powers, then the episode would have taken all but 5 minutes. But the logic holes, FFS, seriously. I watched the burns on his back heal, and I was like uh, uh what?
 

Why is everything with Clark and Kryptonite so cut and dry? It would be better if his powers were at 30% efficiency instead of gone, not gone.
 

karas1 11/1/2010 3:32:30 PM

Superman vs killer Amish people.   Bwa ha ha ha ha ha...

Yeah, I noticed the inconsistencies in his powers.  And let's add, wouldn't he have lost his powers near that little girl?

cheekymonkey 11/1/2010 3:51:57 PM

Not a fan of this episode.  Just dragging out the season

macduncan 11/1/2010 4:24:28 PM

 I was disappointed in this episode too. It really felt like a filler; I really hope they don't drag things out too much.

Actually I think Clark shot up in the air, and they showed the guy jumped scared, not falling down shot.

It also felt a bit too much with the Clark like a god comment then the whole fire and brimstone speech Lois gave.

redhairs99 11/1/2010 4:27:24 PM

If Tess and Lex did "screw" it would've been off camera and before Tess was introduced on the show.  She didn't appear until season 8 after Michael Rosenbaum left after the finale of season 7.

The biggest question I have with Tess possibly being a clone of Lex's mom is "what about her past?"  We've seen that she has a long history (prior to her introduction on the show) with Oliver Queen.  So just when was she created?  Also, she seems pretty stable "age-wise" unlike all the Lex clones.  It would seem that she's more advanced technologically than the Lex clones, but why doesn't she have Mommy Luthor's genetic memory like the Lex clones?

Sure, maybe Granny Goodness cloned her after she died last season, but that still doesn't adress the questions of her past.

I think I blocked the memory of Clark's manslaughter from my mind.  I was probably trying to figure out what the hell was up with his powers.  He encounters a small town cop who has Blue K H2O running through his veins.  Clarks loses powers and discovers that Blue K is seeded everywhere in this town's soil.  Then he's killed and buried in said soil, but that somehow brings him back to life?  Then he's surrounded by a town full of people all drinkin' the blue kool-aide.  Powers are gone again.  Then his back is burned by some sort of blueK fire water in a bucket while he's surround by the blue kool-aide drinkin' crowd and he back magically heals and he speeds Lois off to Never-never Land...I mean, Metropolis Kansas-style?

My brain hurts.

JoeArtistWriter 11/1/2010 5:08:19 PM

I'm wondering where are all the no-brain die-hard Smallville supporters when this kind of gross neglect of of logic and common sense goes on.

You guys know the guys I'm talking about. Not the regulars who tell me to calm down, it's just a show, and to check my brain before viewing.... I'm talking about the trolls who tell me I suck, and I should stop reviewing this show because I have a hate agenda towards it.

There were so many logic gaps I didn't even think of the fact the little girl should have sappped Clarks' strength too. Good call Kara.

Rehairs, I did have the soil in my notes, but didn't bother getting around to it... after that many inconsistencies, I was wooozy.

macduncan, I also hated the fire and brimstone speech, but that one wwasn't Durance's fault at least. It was just a stupid scene within a stupider scene.

I just watched again online and it looks an awful lot like Clark shot a man in the back. FFFFFFFF@@@@@CCKKKKKKK. How stupid.

JasonTMays 11/1/2010 10:57:20 PM

 oh the trolls...

it seems to me that the folks handling superman in the live action TV/Movie realms seems to not be super fans (minus Geoff Johns) because the logic (or lack there of) in superman returns and smallville is mind numbingly infuriating.

anyone remember the continent made of Kryptonite that superman somehow managed to hurl into outer space? (thank you Bryan Singer)

It seems to me that in recent history Superman just doesn't do well in live action realm which is a shame.

Smallville's final season is a failure thus far...the only redeeming factor of this season is the hope of seeing Michael Rosenbaum as Lex Luthor.

between the fetish crazed body possessing Darkseid, the not so doom inducing doomsday I think smallville fails...

Although I will say I enjoyed Brainiac, Zod, Lionel and Lex...

And for god's sake have Clark wear the fucking suit already...I think this episode sucked balls.

thefakejaredk83 11/1/2010 11:06:41 PM

I know everyone is impatient with Clark wearing the suit...he will JUST WAIT!

Not the best episode this season..I missed last weeks, but I guess you can't all have winners right away.  Although it's been very strong..don't lose faith because of a bad Stephen King/Wicker Man rip off.  Anyone else love the cameo from the Goblet of Fire on loan from Hogwarts?  Anyways Connor Stanhope was the strong link in this weak episode.  He's played Lex in the past and continued to impress.  The 'Pulp Fiction' reference was really lame..might as well have thrown an 'Austin Powers' line there as well.

 

I'll agree w/JasonTMays Superman has been a little more difficult to translate to film..but hopefully this has helped get the audience familiar w/all the different villains outside of Lex Luthor.  God I hope Zack Snyder knows this and doesn't do anything w/Zod.  Let's just hope next week's episode with the return of Michael Ironside is a return of what's good about Smallville.

 

btw..anyone else think it's funny Michael Ironside plays Sam Lane here..but was the voice of Darkseid on the animated series..anyone?

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS