SMALLVILLE - 10.7 - Ambush Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 71
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
PAGE 11/7/2010 12:56:18 PM

Hey Kraken, according to IMDB (I know not a 100% accurate) the character with Rick Flag is actually Emil LaSalle A.K.A. Warp. According to Wikipedia (again I know not 100% accurate) he can fly and open portals between any two locations he chooses and bring other with him.

DaForce1 11/7/2010 1:38:44 PM

 Kara, The Talon is an old movie theater that Lana's parents owned. There was an apartment at the top. No one else in the building. I'm actually glad it's been destroyed. 

As for Sam Lane, in the recent comics, it was Sam Lane that declared war on New Krypton, and pretty much kills all the Kryptonians from Kandor. So this episode fit in with that whole xenophobia that the entire season has been going for so far. And as for Darkseid, I wouldn't be surprised if he had his hands in this whole anti-hero movement, since that's what he does best before an invasion, subterfuge, 

Duckbeaver 11/7/2010 2:54:01 PM

An improvement from "Isis" and "Harvest" with regards to the A plot.  I enjoyed seeing Clark stand up to the General about his daughter and superhuman registration.  He's developed some backbone instead of folding like he used to for fear of his secret being discovered.  Not saying Clark's character shouldn't be cautious (he needs his secret identity, after all), but it's a breath of fresh air to get him acting "Superman"-ly in normal situations when important parts of his life (Lois, his role as a hero) are threatened to be taken away.  And yeah, I'm digging the chemistry between an honest Lois/Clark couple.  They've already got code phrases/cover stories for when he needs to run off and do the hero thing kinda like in the comics whenever Lois makes up an excuse for him to Perry White and others.  And the General DEFINITELY knows that Clark is the Blur.  The look said it all.

Would have liked to see some more Suicide Squad/Justice League action.  Even though Oliver and Tess were fun to watch, I found myself wanting to actually SEE the offscreen fight Green Arrow had in the beginning with the ax-wielding psycho (was that a reference to a Green Arrow villain?  I'm not familiar with his Rogues Gallery).  And yeah, having Lil' Lex back would have been cool, but he's probably being held in a secret lab until he grows up into Rosenbaum.  Hey, at least Clark's FINALLY wearing a uniform again (I'm calling this one "Metro Biker Bar Supes").

I would have let Lucy Lane's "dumb moment" of planting a tracer on her dad slide if it wasn't for the fact that they've established her in a previous season as a bright prodigy bordering on criminal mastermind.  She should know when she's being played by someone and the way she acted in that scene, it seemed like she did.  But inevitably, the story played out kind of how I was expecting.  And I don't know about you guys, but I laughed out loud at Rick Flag's sinister reciting of our National Anthem.  If he was going for an intimidating delivery of that line, I didn't hear it (Not the actor's fault, though.  I don't think that line would have worked AT ALL as dialogue, regardless of who said it).

Other than those few quibbles and a need for more action, I actually really enjoyed this week's episode.

 

Last thought: what is it with "Smallville" and awkward meals?  Last year, we got Ma Kent/Perry's uncomfortable dinner with Lois and Clark and before that, the Bed and Breakfast with Clark/Lois and Oliver/Chloe.  One of the writers must REALLY enjoy "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner?" and "Meet the Parents."

almostunbiased 11/7/2010 3:02:26 PM

First time I've wat hed this show in years.  It was ok.

Jakester 11/7/2010 7:45:30 PM

<this space for rent>

karas1 11/7/2010 11:56:19 PM

Just so y'all know, the TV Wasteland column is up for this week and I have added my review of this week's Sanctuary.  Go check it out.  You too Joe, I'm interested in the feedback from an actual Mania reviewer.

Scribeoz 11/8/2010 12:24:52 AM

I agree with most of the review but I have to say that Smallville did not rip off the Vigilante Registration Act storyline from Marvel. In fact, this has a lot to do with the Darkseid storyline, featuring Gordon Godfrey, turning everyday folk against superheroes in the Legends mini-series of the 80's.

Scribeoz 11/8/2010 12:28:34 AM

I agree with most of the review but I have to say that Smallville did not rip off the Vigilante Registration Act storyline from Marvel. In fact, this has a lot to do with the Darkseid storyline, featuring Gordon Godfrey, turning everyday folk against superheroes in the Legends mini-series of the 80's.

mikemc2 11/8/2010 3:29:47 AM

I need to say this.  Tom Welling, if your gonna play Superman, then GET IN SHAPE!!!.  Several things ruined this for me.

1.  Tom Welling's shirtless fat ass when Lois's dad and sister came to the door.  Seriously there is NO excuse for being that out of shape and playing Big-Blue himself.

2. Daddy Lane getting information on Clark by going to the Pentagon?? Since when does the Pentagon have files on individual citizens (isn't that the NSA's job)

3. I completely lost interest when Daddy Lane whipped out the chair / lamp in face cliche'  (What's next .. a over-used water boarding referance??)

I am a comic book fan and a BIG Superman fan and my patients with this show is nearing it's end quick.

Bryzarro 11/8/2010 6:55:35 AM

 @mikemc2

1) Really fat ass?  Umm ok.  Not that i'm checking him out but he is was more built than when Dean Cain was Superman.  And far more toned than Christopher Reeve even in the suit.

2) Why would the NSA take a direct call from a General and give personal info just like that as opposed to Gen Lane getting his people to do the work for him.  How many CEO's actually do their own research and fact finding.  thats why they have subbordinates (sp).  Do you really need to see the whole behind the scenes chain on how he got the info.

and 3) the chair lamp in the face is a comedic act.  It's happened in many other shows and because we know he's a general and he's grilling Clark why the hell not.  

Pretty sloppy criticisms by you pal!!

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.