SMALLVILLE - 10.7 - Ambush Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 71
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
redhairs99 11/8/2010 12:56:22 PM

It was pretty obvious that the General was actually testing Lois and trying to get her to stand up to him for once.  I called that one in the first scene. 

As someone else pointed out earlier, Lois lives in the upstairs apartment of the old Talon Theatre which became a coffee house, which basically just became Chloe and Lois' apartment so yes, Lois is the only one living there now.

I'm surprised no one has mentioned the fact that the Suicide Squad was tracking General Lane in the opening scene yet for some reason needed Lucy to plant a pen tracking device on him?  Seemed pointless.

Still, the episode was okay, but I'm really looking forward to next week and Granny Goodness!

JoeArtistWriter 11/8/2010 4:42:19 PM

redhairs, I was thinking the same thing about The Suicide Squad not really needing Lucy to do their work. It's obvious the writers felt it would drum up more drama if Lucy was a unwitting helper in the death of her own father. The problem I pointed out is Lucy should be much too bright to fall for that ridiculous plan.

She is after all, a bright young woman, and she was raised by a General. She's know something of military procedure, and at the very least she'd tell her dad some clown tried to get me to place this tracer on him because she's be concerned for his welfare.

My question to everyone out there is how often do you think the phrase, "Who cares, this is only Smallville?" comes out of the mouths of the writers, producers and directors over there.

karas1 11/8/2010 6:49:09 PM

It's more likely they say "Who cares, they are only comic book/fantasy fans and they won't care."

They are wrong.  In fantasy it's MORE important to get the details right otherwise the final product looks rediculous instead of gripping.

karas1 11/8/2010 6:50:23 PM

BTW, Joe, what became of the Supernatural review this week?

Jakester 11/8/2010 7:06:32 PM

And here is where I have to ask how Smallville lasted 10 seasons whilst Caprica didn't even get a fair shake at 1?  Shit, I need a drink.

JoeArtistWriter 11/8/2010 7:13:33 PM

Kara, it looks like, for a while anyway, and maybe permanently, Mania is going to condense some TV reviews (like Supernatural and Brave and the Bold) into a smaller more concentrated Weekly Roundup or something like that. Not sure what other reviews will be effected by this.

Could not agree more with your comment about reality into fantasy. Smallville just doesn't care about the intelligence of their viewers, and that Lucy Lane segment proves it beyond a shadow of a doubt

Jakester 11/8/2010 7:23:32 PM

Well eff that, Joe.  Supernatural deserves a full on review.  I'd even argue that Brave&Bold, being as awesome as they have been, warrant their own reviews.  There is certainly more worthy of discussion in one episode of either of those shows than the whole season so far of Smallville

I mean, hell, I've started talking about something other than Tara's rack ferchrissakes!

karas1 11/8/2010 8:34:41 PM

Well, we've been talking some Supernatural on the TV Wasteland column since Joe's review was MIA.  I agree with Jakester that Supernatural deserves it's own review.  Why would they condence the Supernatural review when it gets so many replies and, one assumes, so many hits?

JoeArtistWriter 11/8/2010 9:39:00 PM

Yeah guys, I don't know the whys, but that's the latest. I'm a huge Brave and Bold fan and love reviewing that show, but I know there isn't a huge following - at least based on the comment boxes. I was really getting into Supernatural, and it looked like people were enjoying the reviews, and certainly had opinions about the show.

Maybe things will change, but at the moment I'm just doing Smallville and Walking Dead. We shall see.

Jakester 11/9/2010 6:08:52 AM

*sigh*  I guess I'll have to start talking about Kara's rack.  Or yours, Joe.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.