SMALLVILLE - 9.10 - "Disciple" Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 24
<<  <  1 2 3 >  >>  
PAGE 2/1/2010 10:33:21 AM

 What's up Joe ! Been a long time my friend! Wow A-? I think you're slowly becoming a fan! Especially now that you're getting a sense of why Chole bugs the rest of us! LOL! Great review though. I thought this was a really good episode and very strong start to the second half of the season. I was glad that this episode aired before "Warrior" because I think it would have set up some serious continuity issues (like we need more of that), so it was good that it was pushed. The reason it was pushed, absolutely horrible what happened, but I digress. 

Chloe as a villain would be awesome and would actually make me feel for her character again. If the writers from Buffy The Vampire Slayer could take a chance and make Willow the true villain of S6, I don't see why the writers at Smallville shouldn't pull the trigger. I think it would be a great storyline arc for her character and with everything she's been through these last few seasons, it would be completely understandable! But we all know our beloved Smallville writers are just not that smart. Wish they were, and then again, maybe they'll surprise us! All in all, they have done a really good job this season with a few misses here and there (when grading on a curve of course) but I think it's Smallville's best season overall....so far.

To me, it seems Clark has gone away from the whole, becoming friend's with Zod campaign as he clearly showed he does not trust him. Seems to me, he's making the same decisions that led to the future he visited before Smallville went on break. What do you think?

As for this coming Friday's Smallville "movie"? I AM SUPER STOKED!! Don't worry Joe, Geoff Johns wrote this much anticipated episode, and he knocked it out of the park with Legion, so I think this will definitely surpass that episode. I think you will give back to back A's. That's my gut feeling.

Anyway, on a side note, can't wait for the Lost premier tomorrow night! And especially can't wait for the review that follows!

Talk to you later joe!

gj430 2/1/2010 10:40:41 AM

I don't know if you missed season 6 when GA was introduced but he has some kind of night vision and targeting in the glasses. I wouldn't mind the domino mask either but some in the comics show the eyes and some have computer stuff in them that would look kinda like sunglasses over the eyes anyway for different heroes so I don't think he's having trouble seeing in the dark. The show is loosely based off comics man lighten up

gj430 2/1/2010 11:00:23 AM

I think it's funny though that you gave this episode and A- when you normally bash episodes. i thought it was good but not really any better than some you have given bad grades that I thought you were being too harsh on. In general I think the show has been good and let some stuff go and don't have some problems with story direction, costume choices or Lana that some do and just go with it. They could have done a little better with Lana but I don't despise her like some do. And that's coming from a Cloiser. The only things I kinda think could be better is some logic leaps and continuity errors and thats only because I think they do so well most of the time that I wonder why they don't catch some of the stuff but that still doesn't make me give and episode that is other wise pretty good a C or D I try to just enjoy and know by now some of that is going to happen. I wish they would catch that stuff but there is nothing I can do and I just want to enjoy the show. I wish they would catch that stuff though because then I think people would probably be more forgiving to the other things that seem to bother them but not me like Clarks black suit or other characters being on the show early. I think It's just cool that they are moving him towards the classic suit and that we get to see characters that we would normally never see on tv. I think it's cool and people need to just lighten up and enjoy the show. If you like superheros and and comics why wouldn't you want to see more of them. It's not like we are going to get another show with them on it. I think they should focus on Clark but I like seeing other heroes and villians. Anyway I hope you understand what I'm getting at and try to open up to enjoying the show more. I understand you have to be critical and sometimes things could be better and I wish they would tocatch some things but I don't think it takes away from the overall quality and enjoyment and hope you can enjoy it more yourself in the future. Let me know what you think.

 

heath0920 2/1/2010 11:11:30 AM

Chloe as the villain, huh? Someone brought up Willow as the villainess of BTVS Season 6, but remember that she was really only the villain for three episodes, atfer they killed Tara. I too enjoyed the character arc, but it's not like she was some machiavellian madame plotting the death of the scoobs all season. Still, I would be intrigued where they could take Chloe, if for no other reason, then it might cement Clark's hesitancy to share his "secret" with anyone.  Also, it might lead to the revelation to Lois, since the great weapon Chloe holds is her ability to "out" Clark. She knows where all the bodies are buried.

Like I said before, she's really the victim of a character with nowhere else to go. The show's in season 9, she and Clark are the only two who've been there for the whole ride. We all know where Clark ends up, shes the wild card in the equation since there's no Chloe in the comic as a reference tool. I still think Alison Mack is the best actor on the show (although this season Callum Blue is arresting in his role) but sometimes I wonder if Mack is phoning in some of her scenes as I'm sure Welling does. 

At some point, maybe enough is enough and it's time to move on.

JoeArtistWriter 2/1/2010 12:44:20 PM

Page, good to see you my friend, and glad you're on board with the Chloe as a villain idea. It would finally give that character some zing, and the dramatic implications of a long trusted friend turning away.... trying to do the right thing the wrong way, and going further and further down the wrong path would be interesting to me. Plus there is no Chloe in the DC comic universe, so why not take a chance on making her a real interesting/sympathetic villain. Just filmed a special "Movie Maven - LOST" video yesterday... I think that will be fun... and I'll be reviewing the premiere of course... can't wait.

gj430, again, the statement about the sunglasses was more about the look of the character. I prefer the domino mask (with built in tech) the shades look dumb. Plus GA is modeled after Robin Hood..... the rest of the costume works, the shades makes it look silly.

as for me lightening up and enjoying the show warts and all, that's not gonna happen. I can't stand some of the mistakes I've seen this season, and it's my job as a critic/reviewer to point them out. I think some of you guys who read and comment on my reviews (particularly the harsh ones) just think I hate the show just to hate it at times. Not true at all. I have so much love for the Clark character, I just want him treated correctly, and when I see stupid writing, or skips in logic it drives me crazy because no other show I watch is guilty of those things more than Smalllvillle.

When this show is on fire, like it was last Friday, I can forgive minor flaws (like the famously intuitive Lois Lane not sensing Zod was up to something) but close to half the time there are too many flaws and not enough good story to overlook the mistakes. I enter each episode hoping to enjoy it, and that happens about half the tiime. This weeek was one of the best. I expect big things from next week.

heath0920, exactly. Chloe knows where the bodies are buried. That's at least as dangerous as Doomsday. I also like you taking it a step further giving Clark a real reason to keep his identity a secret. And yes, DC comics might actuallly use Chloe as a character if she ever turned on Clark. I'd love to read a comic where Clark's being f@cked with and doesn't know why, can't figure out who's messing with him and it's revealed it was his old childhood friend Chloe. Completely over the top insane by now.... still obsessively collecting headlines and photos... she loves him, she hates him, she respects him she's disgusted by him, and she knows alll of his weaknesses. It would be great.

methosnwo 2/1/2010 11:16:56 PM

I agree a pretty good episode. And yes Chloe has gotten pretty annoying lately for whatever reasons, but the thing with Alison Mack not being as atractive is that if you notice she almost never smiles on the show anymore, she's always got this intense worried or frowning look on her face and it can make her seem less attractive than she actually is.

gopherblaster 2/2/2010 7:24:52 AM

Joe and Health, when you mention Chole knows "where the bodies are buried", what are you referring to? Or is that a metaphor?

JoeArtistWriter 2/2/2010 9:04:11 AM

gopherblaster, just a metaphor.... She knows all of Clark's secrets including who's close to him, where he lives, where he's reallly from, how to kill him, etc.


mikemc2 2/2/2010 5:20:49 PM

I totally can't believe the writer didn't see this..  He tried to compare Oliver's apprentice to Robin by the color of her clothes.  Shy of the Yellow hoodie everything else is red... Speedy!!

 

Yeah I just finished watching the episode.

JoeArtistWriter 2/2/2010 8:02:04 PM

mikemc2, you're right., Speedy has those colors too, but like I mentioned, Green Arrow for all intents and purposes is Batman, so Mia  (aka) Speedy is Robin. It;s the way it was originally set up in the comics, and that's how this show treats them.

<<  <  1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.