SMALLVILLE - 9.13 - "Persuasion" Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 33
<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  
Jakester 2/22/2010 10:29:11 AM

I think Swan does fine with Zatanna.  I've not seen her in anything else.  Frankly, I'd like to see her in nothing (nudge, nudge, wink wink). 

I feel no need to go back and watch past seasons of the show.  It's an amusing diversion right now, although I expect it'll get old really quickly.  Lois & Clark was campy family fun, and it never took itself too seriously.  It had just the right tone and was a blast.  Smallville seems to want to take the Superman mythology more seriously, which is fine, but it either should have never tried to be "Kal-El's Creek" at all, or at worst, stopped when they got out of high school.

TheDurkinKnight 2/22/2010 11:41:40 AM

Does anyone think that maybe if we started harrassing CW they would Supersize Clark already?

isgrimner 2/22/2010 12:22:36 PM

Oh, by the way Joe, if you're going to watch a CBS comedy, you won't go wrong with How I Met Your Mother.  NPH rules on that show.  I would watch HIMYM before Smallville most times anyway. 

lusiphur 2/22/2010 12:53:26 PM

HIMYM is good, but for an "almost genre" comedy, go with Big Bang Theory.  Just for the sci-fi and comic references if not for Kelly Cuoco. 

GLCorpsMember 2/22/2010 2:43:15 PM

Can't somebody else review this show? I don't know if Joe is a "hater" or not and I don't care to label him that way but it's clear he doesn't like the show, never will like the show and has a predisposition towards ripping on it in every review (despite his so called "Smallville curve"). It's fine if you don't like the show. A lot of people don't. But a lot of people do and it would be nice to have the show reviewed by someone who is at least open minded. Just the fact that he has a "Smallville curve" is in itself condscening.  It basically says "I think this show is so bad that I have to grade it by a different set of rules".  I really do understand if someone doesn't like Smallville.  It's my guilty pleasure and I by no means think it's Citizen Kane but it's fun and mindless and I love it and I get it.  Joe reviews this show like someone who is being forced to do it every week and so every week he's gonna let us know just how much he hates his assignment. Why review the show at all? To have a forum to practice your wordsmithing? I don't think Joe's an idiot or anything that some others have been saying (on the contrary, at times I enjoy his perspective) but there is something to be said for the credibility of a "reviewer" reviewing something he admittedly doesn't like week in and week out.  It really doesn't serve any purpose anymore.  His point has been made.
 

JoeArtistWriter 2/22/2010 6:22:49 PM

Kraken89, my girlfriend noticed the twin tower thing too. She said it was blasphemous, and I don’t know that I disagree with her. And yeah, it did seem more than a little out of character for Clark to destroy buildings like that without any regard for human safety, and that’s a major problem with this show. It was out of Clark’s character to not take precautions. Now no one will be hurt, but they need to show us that, because Superman is all about safety of innocents first. Defeat the bad guy second.

 

Page, always good to hear from you. It’s nice to know a good amount of you who truly enjoy this show can understand my frustration with it, and read my articles for what they are. I rant for this show to do better than it does, and the toughest thing is it wouldn’t be that hard.

Your grade of a C seems as liberal as my "F-" feels harsh, but if we split the difference, perhaps the truth is in there somewhere. But I respect you for sticking up for this show, and trying to talk me through the difficult times. You know I’ve legitimately enjoyed at least half of this season. Now that doesn’t mean they were “A’s” or that they were flawless, but I enjoyed them. You know I’ve also been bitterly disappointed with probably about 4 of them, and you also know I’ve had some bit of criticism in each week. It’s not because I have an agenda, or an axe to grind. I just call them as I see ‘em.

 

I loved the Toyman, I loved Metallo, and I too do love Erica Durance, but they sure give her some stupid stuff to play with some times.

 

Noahbody, as you know, I take this gig seriously. There are plenty of times I’d like to fast forward, but I’m a pro, and like Page mentioned, I watch it at least twice. I don’t have to. I could mail these things in, but I do it for the love of the character, and the love of my craft…. I do envy your viewing style some weeks though.

 

Gopherblaster, yes, how did Zod make Clark get all bloodlusty? It seemed there was some bounce back persuasion going on, but never mentioned. We have to do too much work and make up our own story pieces too often in this show. (Of course if I mention it, some one will think I’m just a hater…. And I am…. A hater of stupid #$%^ that doesn’t need to be so stupid.)

 

Isgrimner, how hard would it be to hire some guy to make sure the writing is tight, the characters stay true and the logic makes sense? I’d give up all special effects for some solid scripts. Chloe is about 5 foot nothing, 100 pounds and has no combat training. She has no business fighting ten seconds with Tess Mercer's, who if Absolute Justice was hinting at anything, is a trained Checkmate killer. COME ON PEOPLE!!!! How is this being a hater? We should expect more.

JoeArtistWriter 2/22/2010 6:39:16 PM

Jakester, Swann's acting reminds me of the girl who stares at herself in the mirror making different sexy faces. She's not trying to play off the other actors, she's more concerned her lips look kissable when she's reciting lines that she doesn't give thought to.

theDurkingKnight, get the train rolling Durk, I'll stand with you.

isgrimner, I'm more of a 30 Rock guy myself, buut I'll take a look one day.

lusiphur, Oh no! That skinny kid makes me want to vomit. Do we need a white Urkel for this century? I say no.

GLCorpsMember, I appreciate your comments. I truly do. Not sure if you have read all my reviews, but I have given many episodes high marks. (Like I said, the Metallo one was excellent, really liked the Toyman) I do admit grading on a curve, because if I genuinely took the time to hack at everything that bothered me, I'd be spending another 6 hours on these reviews. (and I already put in enough time on these)

I'm not expecting Citizen Kane, but I'm also not expecting gaping holes in logic, characters who alter their own codes to fit a particular corner the writer painted himself into, or just really silly/stupid plots. (like this Valentine's Day fiasco) 

I have enjoyed this program, I assume I will again, but this past week was an insult. You should take it as one, and not feel I'm just complaining for complaing's sake.

Again, I appreciate the thought you put into your comment, but I respectfully disagree. I am only doing my job as a reviewer with an opinion, and a lover of Superman history. Please feel free to tally up each review I've done this season. I believe you'll find I gave more goood marks than bad.

Madmardegan 2/22/2010 11:07:59 PM

Yo Joe-  I think you may be giving this an F- cause you want this show to be like the movies/graphic novels/animated films.  It can't because of budget and the amount of viewers and that frakin stupid clause of no flying and no suit.  I'm not sure of any other live action show involving an icon has lasted this long, but this show will always be judged tough because of it's iconic hero.

Pros- Lois being hot, more Zod, and some actual dialog.  In past seasons alot of basic action would happen and there would be no dialog, just weird glances.  I think this episode actually showed some growth for the show in that sense.  I liked some of the set pieces too with the Kandorians.  No meteor freak again (even though it be meteor dust).  The past 2 seasons have done a good job with less idiot meteor freaks.

Cons- even though I liked the idea of blasting the towers to bits, I agree with another poster about human casualties.  What if there were construction workers inside?  Or some one working late to install a Pepsi machine?  Sure Clark could save some of the people on the ground from the debri of an unscheduled building demolishing, but then someone might see his face  *gasp*

Baby Naruto 2/23/2010 1:01:19 AM

 This episode got an A Plus in my book, cant wait for the next episode.

xpaladinx45 2/23/2010 8:45:29 AM

In defense of Joe "defending" his point of view....he does that in his reviews of other shows as well, so to say he's just in here to trash the show and defend his "wrong" point of view is just..well...wrong.

Anyway, that said, i was somewhere in the middle.  Ya, i agree, i think the magic dust concept was stupid.  My biggest issue, by far, with this episode was the towers.  I don't really care about any sig. or parallels with the twin towers, that kind of thing doesn't really bother me. (aside from the fact, that really, did they NEED to go that route, knowing full well it WOULD bother some people out there?)  (also, to me it felt like they were trying to rip off "Fringe" and their alternate reality twin towers by having a twin towers of their own, though obviously slightly different in appearance...could just be me)

As several have mentioned, Clark blowing up giant buildings in the middle of a city just isn't who the character is.  But even if you decide to throw that plot hole out....Why now?  Why at this particular time did Clark jump up and say, "Hey, i should just blow those things up, problem solved?"

I seen nothing in this episode that would make me blow up a building (No Joe, not even the one the writers are housed in..lol).  Now, going back a few episodes, when we had the vision of the future etc, THAT might have been a good time to go "holy shit, maybe i should just blow them up"

<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.