SMALLVILLE - 9.20 - "Hostage" Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 36
<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  
cheekymonkey 5/10/2010 11:59:26 AM

I love a good reference myself....

Having watched (and at times, suffered) through Smallville from the begining, I have to say that, I've seen worse.  Won't I don't get is that the Red Queen would have needed a small army of helpers, and where the hell would Martha have gotten that, especially since as a senator, she needs to disclose an awful lot of what she does...all the frickin time. 

I thought the previews for next week look promising, but the Doomsday finale last year was so disappointing, that I will wait and see

I think it is defintely time the producers ditch their season one declaration "no flights, no tights" and let Clark become Superman.  Its just time for it to happen.  The character is in his mid 20's now, and that's as good a time as any for the final transformation. 

lister 5/10/2010 2:54:49 PM

I was out of there when they introduces the "Wall of Wierd" in episode #1. How the hell is this thing still on?

Moz72 5/10/2010 11:06:37 PM

And good writing is half the battle! YO JOE!

Saw a few screen captures of the fight between Clark and Zod over at  Kryptonsite.com, and I have to say it looks pretty good, Hope it lives up to it's hype, especially with the JSA getting involved. There is a screen cap of Zod leaping from a wall with a blue knife in his hand and I swear it looks like Zod is paying homage to Blade!

Madmardegan 5/10/2010 11:18:49 PM

--I agree with much of what been said here, usually i defend the show because the writing has gotten better the last 2 seasons.  But these dialog writers never give Clark enough to say, if they are going to stray from the mythos then fraken stray from it!!  Deliver next week on Clark showing smokin hot Lois who he is and deliver some solid action.  I get that he cant have the suit and fly because of the contract, but maybe those fools renewed with that out of the contract for next season (not bloody likely)

Hanso- totally agree with ya on last season, they did a good job of the buildup and then just had 30 sec o'fun like some lamo highschoolers in the mall parkinglot.

 

SgtTechCom 5/11/2010 5:48:03 AM

THE SHOW'S AWESOME.. HECK WITH THESE LAME GRADES.

Season finalie is going to be epic  CLARK VS ZOD !

YEA IT WILL GET A GRADE OF A !

 

gj430 5/11/2010 9:28:09 AM

I don't think they should have revealed it in the preview either. But inregards to the episode itself. I don't think it was ever really meant to be a mystery to the audience. I think thats you reading into it. I think it's suppose to be a mystery to the characters but not to us. I liked the dinner stuff it felt like old Smallville from the first few seasons.

Now I'm hoping that in the finale that we get some superpowered fighting instead of just blue k fighting. I'm alot more forgiving to the writing than you are. Most of the time I think you are confusing your opinion with bad writing but I will say that we need an actual good fight and have been waiting years for them to actually have a real fight. Like last year they could have had Clark punch Dooms at least once.

redhairs99 5/11/2010 9:45:10 AM

Ok, just saw a new webclip from this week's finale, and while I won't spoil it here...I will say they had better have Lois put two and two together and tell Clark that she knows he's the Blur.  If she doesn't figure it out than all those concussions have "really" taken their toll on her.  And that kiss in the pics, better not be Clark's magical "forgetting" kiss technique from Superman 2.

JoeArtistWriter 5/11/2010 1:23:27 PM

SgtTechCom, I'm curious. You write in now and then and say the show is awesome, but you never explain why. Could you please give me some reasons why you like it? Personally, I find the dialogue to be drivel, the plotting to be embarrassing, the acting is hit and miss, the special effects sometimes are great, but too often pathetic, and the overall logic of the program is nonexistent. So what is it you like? I'm very curious..

gj430, if you don't think that was supposed to be a mystery to the audience, then why did they wait to reveal the Red Queen at the 45 minute mark in the show? And more importantly, my idea of having Tess Mercer appear as if she were the actual Red Queen would have been a much better idea than what they did do.

I didn't watch Smallville in the first season aside from the pilot and maybe a show or two. If that dinner scene was what it was like, I'd rather stare at a Norman Rockwell painting for an hour. At least I wouldn't have to listen to Erica Durance. Look at her yes, listen - no thank you.

You say I'm confusing my opinion with bad writing... I don't even know what you mean by that. My opinion is that the show is filled with bad writing. That's what I don't like about the show. Writing is about 95% of a show, and this writing is bad.

From everything I've heard and read, the Doomsday finale was a huge disappointment to everyone. I'm still holding out hope, but I tend to believe it's a good bet they'll screw this one up too based on the track record.

OH, and by the way.... If Clark really wrote that note as the Blur and left it on her desk, why did he say a couple weeks ago to NEVER trust anyone who claims they are the Blur? I have a feeling I'm going to be upset over some story logic again.

millean 5/11/2010 4:24:46 PM

Wow, 29 comments into a Joe Osterle-written Smallville review, and nobody has really raked him over the coals yet.  Everybody must have gone to see Iron Man 2 on Friday night instead of watching Smallville... I know I did.

Yes, Joe.  If Clark left that note for Lois, it will aggrivate me.  He needs to approach her as Clark and reveal himself as the Blur, instead of the other way around.  But that would mean that the writers have a clue as to some of the groundwork they have already laid.

Now if Zod left the note (as someone suggested earlier), then that would be a refreshing change.

I don't care if Clark becomes Superman before the series finale, I just want 3 simple things:

  1. Show him as Supes in the very last scene of the very last episode
  2. Let Lois find out Clark's secret for at least most (if not all) of season 10.
  3. Make Clark stop being such a spineless panzy... Great Ceasar's Ghost, he's SUPERMAN for crying out loud!  Don't you think we should at least have some respect the main character by now???

 

JoeArtistWriter 5/11/2010 4:36:46 PM

millean, man if Clark left that note, then Smallville will officially be the worst written longest lasting show ever. I'm not sure what show holds that distinction, but at 9 seasons, this show is easily in contention.

By the way, let's not heap praise on them if Clark didn't write the note. Zod writing the note would be a logical choice, but not necessarily a good writing choice, Now if someone else wrote the note... say Amanda Waller, or someone like that... that would be out of the box thinking.... for Smallville at least.

Here's how I break it down:

Option 1) Clark writes the note - absolutely stupid choice.

Option 2) Zod writes the note - pedestrian, but not illogical.

Option 3) Waller writes the note - a move in the right direction.

As for my lack of hate mail, I'd like to think I opened some eyes.... I don't really think so, but it is what I'd like to think. Maybe some of the diehards are starting to see the flaws. I'm hoping.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.