Smallville: Icarus TV Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 91 - 100 of 120
<<  <  7 8 9 10 11 12 >  >>  
Wiseguy 12/15/2010 5:32:44 PM

LEAVE BRITNEY ALONE! umm, I mean LEAVE JOE ALONE!

Joe I'm suggesting a pay raise for you for putting up with all this hate. I love the show myself but find it it difficult to defend from week to week. Unlike other unpopular stuff the best I can say is that old tired saying "it is what it is", I hate myself just for saying that. Maybe it's the masochist in me but it's must watch tv for me, especially after devoting 9 seasons to it. And karas, Erica Durance's boobs are "SPECTACULAR", take my word for it.

 

Jakester 12/15/2010 8:17:20 PM

I don't mind Durance's acting.  She's no Natalie Portman in the acting dept, but she's a pretty good Lois, especially as the geniuses in the Smallville writers' room write her.  Freeman's the better actress, I think, but they both get some really bad lines.

At some point, I'd written something about how lame birdman's death was, but it's too lame to dwell on.

lazarus 12/16/2010 6:03:32 AM

Okay look Joe, sorry for the disrespect if any was taken. Your review did come off as arrogant and fanboyish. I personally like Smallville and accept it for what it is. As for your other comments, I have been married for over 10 years and have plenty of physical contact with my wife. Thanks.

The point of reiterating the tits thing is that the writers and marketers of the show are catering to the demographic that watches the show. 18-35 year old males. Hense the reason they are putting in the focus on the boobs. Why else would you have Erica in the two peice in the intro? As much as the truth hurts they DON'T write this show for fans or comic book enthusists. Learn to accept that and you will be happier. My issue is I get tired of everyone writing in and complaining about the show because it fails to meet their preconceived expectations. STFU already. It is what it is. Deal. Would I like a show that is more in tune with the comics, sure. Not going to happen, ever. Why? Because they can't sustain a show on the ratings received from one particular fringe demographic. Period. End of story. Need proof, check out Wolverine.

I took issue with your review because it sounds like the same complaining I hear from everyone about the show and it's flaws. It is like someone having to order peach cobbler but they really wanted apple pie which they are all out of. So while eating the peach cobbler the whole time they are complaining about how much better apple pie would be. In the desiring of something else you are missing the opportunity to enjoy what it IS. And there are not going to be a whole lot of superhero themed shows on with this track record or longetivity.

I personally enjoy Smallville, I go into it understanding this is an Elseworlds take on the mythos, not based in the actual DCU we know but an alternate one where Clark will probably be married before he learns to fly. It what it is, I try and go by the motto, appreciate what you have in life and you will never want for anything.

Joe, I apologize for coming off the way I did, you were the unintended target of much frustration, and FYI Erica's boob are in my top 10. Just try and remember the show will only be around for another 10 or so episodes anyway, perhaps you would enjoy it more if you suspend belief and preconceptions. Sometimes to appreciate something we need to put our prior experiences in the past.

On a final note, here is an idea, if there is so much fan love why don't they form an organization and begin to petition/motivate the movie/tv industry to give PROPER treatment to the characters we love so much? Maybe then we would not have to deal with teen angst Spider Man reboot.

LocoLobo73 12/16/2010 7:14:37 AM

Kara , Joe, On the side bar of Supernatural , its not the writing,  the acting or the Hot Guys that Kara Likes,  I have a problem with, I think the writers know the characters and they are written extremely well, my problem is with the storyline, and Kara for being a fan of the show, You have to admit this season really jumped of to a poor start, now we are at the half way point and , like I had said im hoping to see the show get back on track. The dialog is great ,its the plot that is suspect.

Joe , I get that you are late to the party of Supernatural so , you may not see what I am referencing, This show has had stellar plot lines and excellent story telling over the past 6 seasons , they do an excellent job of mixing humor and action while delivering a cohesive plot line that has carried it through its 6 seasons. I get that the show was not plotted out for this new season , and it is glaringly obvious that they scrambled to put something together. Hopefully that have gotten something together for the last part of the season. I agree Joe , that the writting is much better on Supernatural, But again I dont think anyone watches Smallville for the substance, I throw it into my Popcorn flick category, I know im not a professional writer or a superior intellect or anything like that but I have shows of substance that I enjoy and shows I love for the source material, and I would watch it regardless, I mean you dont watch series like Zena and Legend of the seeker cause they are well written cause they arent. Im a Rami fan first off and love his non to serious style, Army of Darkness. That where Smallville lives along with Most of the shows on SyFy I watch, The more serious shows, or intellectual ones I should say , of which there are not many dont really have forums like this to discuss. Which is kinda funny in the grand sceme of things the really thought provoking stuff doesnt get an audience while SH@T  like this is discussed at length , LMAO, how sad is that.

karas1 12/16/2010 8:20:29 AM

I agree that the arc plotting on Supernatural had been too scattershot this season.  I thought that Crowley making them jump throguh hoops would bee the big arc plot or getting Sam's soul back but both plot points have now been resolved.  I don't know what they will be up to in January.  But I'm looking forward to finding out what it will be.

I understand that Smallville is not written for serious comic book fans.  It was written in the beginning for the Dawson's Creek teen soap opera crowd.  But with the addition of all these other DC characters it has put itself squarely in geek territory.  I don't insist that it be totally serious.  I would like fewer logic gaps and so many of the scripts feel like they were put together by a committe who didn't know what the other half was doing, giving it a schitzophrenic feel.  And their internal continuity is awful.  In other words, the writers do a half a$$ job and skate by.  Doing a successful fantasy show requires that the real world details be held to strictly so you can tell which is the reality part and which is the fantasy part.  Little details like Lois carrying a huge gold medalion around in her purse for three or four weeks without noticing it drive me crazy because it breaks my suspension of disbelief.  I'm too busy going WTF! to be involved in the show.

 

lazarus 12/16/2010 9:45:39 AM

Karas, I would love a world where the pesky copyright/legal garbage could get out of the way and allow a live action JL series/movie. Given the success of SV I could see it working, or at least various aspects like JLU, each week different stories that all tie in together. Anyway, again I apologize for coming off the way I did, I got past my WTF phase with SV long ago and just resign myself to enjoying what it is. Happy holidays.

Jakester 12/16/2010 10:35:39 AM

Smallville doesn't need to be written to please the geek crowd.  It should be written competently, however.  It's not.  I don't really care if adaptations stray from pre-established canon in a different media (be it books, comics, or whatever), but I do expect that a given ataption will not treat me like an idiot.  Smallville treats its audience like idiots.

Supernatural has had its issues this season, but I'm not sure the acting has been one of them.

lazarus 12/16/2010 11:09:35 AM

Karas, I would love a world where the pesky copyright/legal garbage could get out of the way and allow a live action JL series/movie. Given the success of SV I could see it working, or at least various aspects like JLU, each week different stories that all tie in together. Anyway, again I apologize for coming off the way I did, I got past my WTF phase with SV long ago and just resign myself to enjoying what it is. Happy holidays.

JoeArtistWriter 12/16/2010 11:47:27 AM

damn... I just wrote a long thing and it's not showing up.

JoeArtistWriter 12/16/2010 11:50:04 AM

f@ck it... that is really annoying... all is forgiven lazarus... I said much more than that, but I just wasted 20 minutes writing sh1t, and now it won't show up. Damn it.

<<  <  7 8 9 10 11 12 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.