Smallville: Icarus TV Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 111 - 120 of 120
<<  <  9 10 11 12 
Wiseguy 12/17/2010 3:48:31 PM

Joe, we've been complaining about that for months.

If I write anything that I put some effort into I copy it before hitting the ADD button, if it doesn't show right away I repost it and even if it doesn't show right away it always pops up sooner or later. If I have a double post then I delete one.

karas1 12/17/2010 4:42:44 PM

We Maniacs are always compellingly dramatic.  Haven't you noticed yet?  Not a wishy washy one in the lot.

JoeArtistWriter 12/17/2010 4:56:33 PM

Wiseguy, I'm well aware. I usually copy as well, and that time I forgot. I was freaking livid. I've talked to the powers that be, and i'm told they are also aware and are working on it. Very frustrating granted, but that's all I can tell you at this time.

Kara, no doubt.

Wiseguy 12/17/2010 8:15:51 PM

Lucky for me most of the shit I write requires no effort :)

Jakester 12/18/2010 6:30:31 AM

You and me both, Wiseguy.

jerichoraine 12/18/2010 10:47:49 PM

Far from me to ever comment on here but I agree with the majority the rant was a waste of reading time.  Smallville is what it is so just review it for what it is.  Pointing out every single little fan boy whine is getting tiresome.  Also claiming that there was a whole two more pages to the review is a childish (and obvious) back track.  I did the same thing with a Macbeth essay back in high school (what? it's too short and doesn't make sense?...ohhh I must have left the 'rest' of the essay at home) 

 

Jakester 12/19/2010 8:58:55 AM

Kara, I'm partial to compelling nudity over compelling drama.

karas1 12/19/2010 5:09:01 PM

Well, the trick is to find actors and actresses who can be compellingly dramatic while naked.

JoeArtistWriter 12/20/2010 8:54:55 AM

jerichoraine, the fact of the matter is I uploaded the rest of the review to the comment boxes as soon as I saw what everyone was compalining about. Check out the comment boxes... if you think I can write that fast, OR, if I care to write that much more once the job was complete and paid for just because people were calling me names you don't know anything about me - and you don't.

As to your point of reviewing Smallville for what it is, I am. It's crap for the most part, and I will now go out of my way to review it that way. I used to try to make excuses because I tried to not let the mistakes drive me crazy, but I can't. This show is so poorly written at times, it would be criminal for me to not point it out.

Again, I refuse to see how pointing out terrible writing is fan boy whining, so rethink your argument. It makes no sense.

dJorL 2/3/2011 1:51:48 AM

Despite all the negative comments, I actually agree with a lot of the review.

I do think harping on about how bad the show is on the 10th season is pointless (I mean I agree its not a 'quality' show, but it is what it is). Having said that this was not a good episode. Yes it had a lot of action but it wasn't very good and it a lot of important things happened but they weren't very well done.

And this stuff (executing the story in an exciting, entertaining and convincing manner) matters more than that just  ''OMG Clark proposed and Hawkman died!". The one thing that came accross about this episode was "contrived". It didn't feel like a story, it felt manufactured.

The proposal itself was contrived, but in a way it was still nice and faithful to the Clark-Lois dynamic of the show. 

The rest of it though? I had to make huge leaps of faith and imagination to close the holes in the story and still it didn't work. So the VRA now imposes a curfew? And I'm supposed to buy American citizens accept it because they want to be kept safe from a half dozen semi-powered vigilantes? Really? I mean clark's the most powerful one and he's still not got all his powers - most people haven't even seen "the blur" but they're so terrorized they'll give up their most basic civil liberty? It could be explained that since Darkseid took Godfrey into his inner circle his powers of persuazion grew but we never really saw this happening - we're supposed to just accept it. Oh well, OK.

Then the heroes decide its too dangerous for them and turn off watchtower - really?  These guys are so scared of setting up a resistance they just give up? Weird I thought they were heroes, I guess they were just chickensh*ts after all. Owell, whatever.

The deal with Cat Grant - apart from the fact that the character makes me want tear my eyes out, I agree with the review that a raving fanatic moron like her, who's just sold her colleagues would never switch her allegiance because of a 3 second appeal from Lois. Fine whatever, lets move on.

Then we're at Lexcorp. Lois is there looking for something (what? I never got it but it must have been really important for her to risk her life but whatever). And Slade's waiting for her.  Then Hawkman comes. Very cool entrance - but why is he there? How does he know Lois is there and needs help? And why isn't clark there first? Was he in the shower when the phone rang? I guess asking for any kind of logic is pointless at this stage. Then Hawkman fights slade who has now become a super badass with Darkseid's help. Right.

On this point I have to say that Michael Hogan is a fine actor but he is totally wrong to play Slade - or at least any version of slade that kills superheroes with swords. I mean the guy is a short elderly gentleman. I can buy him mean, I can buy him psycho, I cannot buy him as a scary super criminal. He just doesn't do it for me.  The fight was poorly choreographed and executed and how could it not be? Hawkman's a giant vs a frail old guy. I don't care if Slade has Darkseid powers or wahtever he just doesn't scare me and watching him fight hawkman was completely unconvincing.

If you're gonna have to imagine that it was, you may as well get me to play Wolverine in the next X-Flick. Hey I can put hairgell and while I don't look remotely threatening, you can use your imagination and pretend I am. In fact you can stay home and imagine the whole movie to save money.

If I'm expected to suspend my disbelief that much about a key episode of smallville, I might as well not watch and imagine a cool story in my head.

<<  <  9 10 11 12 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.