The Thing Blu-Ray Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 9 of 9
1 
ultrazilla2000 2/15/2012 2:16:15 PM

I seem to be one of the few who really enjoyed this movie.  It wasn't perfect, and the effects were slanted in CGI's favor as far as use...but the practical effects used were amazing, and I thought they did a great job of connecting the dots to set up the original film.  

InnerSanctum 2/15/2012 9:39:38 PM

 Where is the fun in a movie where we know the dog is the only one to survive?  

tjanson 2/16/2012 7:30:27 AM

hence the reason I normally hate prequels

jedi4sshield 2/16/2012 1:49:35 PM

SPOILERS — DONT READ IF YOU HAVENT SEEN THE MOVIE YET!!!

I liked it, but it needed more work, way more work!!! They did this painstaking job to try and reinact what happened but missed on some of the MAJOR details. For instance the whole Team taking video footage above the ship was totally blown off. The Ship being in a Cave?! Ohh God, lets get the details of where the axe goes, but lets not get things right how they found the saucer? Yeah for some fans these are just minor details but for movie continuity its like changing history. Lets now just say its an alternate timeline why dont we? (sarcasm)

I get that the director didnt want to go this route but jeez, did we complain when it was done in Carpenters version? The thing is, they didn't look at the footage very well. Carpenter didnt show that they blew up that gigantic Hole in the ground. That gigantic indentation from the ship was already there. They used the Thermite on the lower level where some of the Ship was already exposed!!! Now there could be a bunch of reasons why the ship didnt have a lot of snow over it, radiation from the ship? The sun heating over an unknown Alien metal? Look at the footage again, when the thermite explodes it casts a halo of light from below showing the edge of the Chasm. it didnt blow that gigantic hole, it blew below it, directly on the few feet of snow that was on the ship!

These little snipits would have made this movie all the difference. Also, The Ice breaking scene wasnt quite to my liking there should have been more pause to the whole moment. They had the creature break through ice and leap at the same time, not cool !!! How could they do this when the creature was on its side? makes no sense! It should have been 1. break through ice 2. Gather itself and then, leap out! Also the super long legs that got itself out of the ice werent seen during the autopsy? I guess it was off camera, Wink wink! The Thing looked like a crab? where was all the internal organs? There was more human in it than its own organs! The other problem was that The Thing moved too fast in my opinion, should have been slower. These are the major points of what I disliked about the movie. Otherwise as a whole it was a good movie.

 

Birdman 2/17/2012 9:32:02 AM

Ultrazilla2000 - I liked it too. I thought it was supposed to be just what happened before Carpenter's version. Why does it need to be anything more than that? I think people expect way too much. It was cleverly done. I will concede on the complaint about the ship and thermite situation, but overall had a great time. As for the rest of the review, how was the transfer? The sound? Just curious.......

aegrant 2/17/2012 10:08:06 AM

I liked this movie - it wasn't spectacular but I was happy with the way they tried create some continuity from this movie to the '82 version so I would give it a B-/C

MrEvil 2/18/2012 1:23:41 PM

I finally got around to looking at this movie. I'm attempting to calm myself as I write this.

People like to argue semantics over this movie because, somehow, when someone says that this movie is essentially a remake, some silly person thinks they can score an point by bluntly claiming it's a prequel. But here's the thing about this movie - IT"S A FRICKEN' REMAKE! (and yes, a remake of John Carpenter's version, not the 1950s).

True, it does its job of connecting the plot dots by religiously showing us how certain scenes from John Carpenter's version fit in (oh, look, the Thing's icy bath tub - amazingly neat, considering the Thing just shattered its way out; oh, wow, that's how the alien ship got exposed to the sky - wait, why would the Thing climb out into a frozen wasteland when it crashed if the ship had power?).

Hmm... they apparently created plot holes when they did that, didn't they?

But otherwise it acts exactly like a remake. It rips off the look of the original's basecamp, not to mention ripping off SEVERAL scene from the original. Is it identical? Certainly not. But it would have been better if it had, because this movie comes off like a bad B-movie creation.

The acting manages to be pedestrian, the main characters are idiots too often, and the only real new addition to the Thing's mythology is a plot element that, while not a dumb revelation, is used in a particulary dumb fashion. The pacing is rushed, the CGI ruins the atmosphere, and the movie's direction is only a surprise to anyone who hasn't watched the original.This movie wasn't just bad - it made me angry. Here's a movie I have to commit selective amnesia on in order to not let it stain my good memories of the far-better original. 

rogue188 2/24/2012 7:32:59 AM

Yup, this movie was far from perfect but I was entertained. What made it worth the watch was seeing the setup of them chasing the dog in the credits. I would rate it a C or B - .

mgibson17 2/27/2012 6:37:54 AM

"As in the Carpenter version the only sure way to destroy the creature's bodies is to burn them and thus flamethrowers become the weapon of choice."

Didn't Kate point out that there was still cellular activity "even after" the creature was torched? Didn't Blair affirm this in the original as well? Even when the flamethrower is used the creature appears to die from its injuries… but like the chameleon it waits for the most opportune time to awaken. Having an organism that's near impossible to destroy seems the perfect setup for a sequel. How could you possibly contain such a threat once you make it back to the states?

Think of the possibilities. There were enough bodies left behind in the prequel to spawn a dozen sequels. All you need do is happen upon one corpse... one severed limb and you've a whole nother movie. Seems to me even if a grenade was used on the creature there would be enough bits and pieces to still pose a threat. What if you inhaled the fallout from the grenade, couldn't that still infect you? Come spring the rescue party would certainly take the bodies back for autopsy; to ascertain how in the hell two crews from two separate camps wiped themselves out.

The only part that bothered me was when Kate escapes the thing by crawling into one of the ship's containment compartments. For some reason it couldn't reach her. What bugged me was why didn't it just detach a limb or reshape itself to crawl in there and get her?

1 

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.