TRANSFORMERS Reviews Trickle In Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 35
<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  
jimvo99 6/16/2009 11:01:55 AM

what else is there to expect from a michael bay movie other than loud noises, big explosions and cliche slow motion action scenes? i enjoy it, on some level. its not a movie for people with brains, its a movie for people who want their senses saturated. take it for what it is.

ponyboy76 6/16/2009 11:02:16 AM

This is exactly why I don't pay attention to reviews. They said pretty much exactly the same thing about the first one and I really enjoyed it.  The problem with alot of critics especially  the ones from the Hollywood Reporter,the NY Times, etc, is that alot of them are pretentious pricks who if they aren't watching some high art piece they just flame it.  Empire isn't too bad, but they have like 15 different reviewers, so it depends which one actually saw it.  I just think its a waste of time for certain  critics to review some movies. I know its their job, but if they don't usuall watch genre, they already have a bias going in.  There is this show here with like 4 critics talking about movies and they just sit there with their noses up, flaming everything that not up to their elitist standards. Sorry for the rant. I can't stand critics.
 Regardless, I`m going to see this. If it as good as the last one, i`ll be content. Its freaking Bay for God's sake, not the Coens.

Wiseguy 6/16/2009 11:03:13 AM

Okay Crazy Wolf, good idea casting Mears as Crossbones, but the film is set to take place during WW2. Crossbones isn't from that era. Of course it being a movie they can change that around some, basically still amounts to a super-nazi. So I think we can agree on that

galaga, I'm sitting here trying to figure out what the hell is HB2Me. I'm thinking is a new television format or something then I laugh at myself for not getting it. Happy birthday brother, enjoy your new screen, but remeber to go out and play some 

Wiseguy 6/16/2009 11:22:02 AM

I don't understand why everyone gets so agitated over reviews. They're just opinions which are just like a#$holes, everyone has got one and they all stink. I'm used to people here downgrading  reviewers, almost as if they had a personal stake in it if they don't agree. Come on, of course we can all go see for ourselves and make up our own minds if we are so intrigued by the movie or usually disagree with the reviewer. But the personal bashing because of an opinion, please. I think there's a bit of envy because these guys get paid to do what seems to be a "cake job". I read the reviews mostly to get a concensus or an idea of what a film's storyline may be about, not to see if they liked it

Whiskeymovie 6/16/2009 11:51:31 AM

Wise, people bash each other on here for the same thing. You don't agree with me, you are a douche bag asshole.....that's how a lot of people are on here. I say each to their own. I love art films and I love Michael Bay films and most everything in bewteen. I like movies for entertainment, so I am not too picky. Are some movies better than others? No doubt, but if someone likes it and you don't doesn't give you the right to bash them. Of course people can say anything behind a keyboard........I liked Transformers, but it was a little disjointed, even for a Michael Bay flick. I am sure he will deliver the goods with Transformers 2.

xenomorph 6/16/2009 11:52:33 AM

Agreed wiseguy. Reviews mean nothing to me. I judge a movie for myself when I go see it.

violator14 6/16/2009 12:02:17 PM

I'm still pretty sure Transformers 2 will be one of the most entertaining visual feasts ever... no doubt.

I'm with Darkknight about Deadpool looking like Zartan. That "concept art" just looks retarded. Thank goodness they didnt go with that cuz that would have made a bad movie even worse.

galaga51 6/16/2009 12:31:22 PM

Ha, Wise... you were so close, in fact you practically answered your own question.   HB2Me: Happy Birthday to Me.  But it is a 40" Samsung with some bells and whistles.  Pretty average by today's standards I suppose, but a huge upgrade over the 12 year old 20" RCA tube that would turn on and off at its own whim, (e.g., turning off 10 minutes before the end to the Fringe season finale.  Grrrr! Quick! Record! Record!!!!)

As for critical reviews, individually, they are biased and flawed, but after reading a few pros and a few cons, what they did or didn't like, you get a pretty good idea of whether it's worth your time, and with a sequel, it is even easier since there is a point of reference.  

Hobbs 6/16/2009 1:33:08 PM

That my friend Sanity, is a very good point. I concede to your wisdom on that one.  Though having been a huge fans of the original Star Wars movie I was less than kind to the prequels and still am.  Is it possible you are more critical to a sequel if you liked the first one?  I think you might be less open minded to a sequel if you hated the first one?  Some food for thought.

Wiseguy 6/16/2009 3:00:12 PM

galaga, well at least you're moving on up. I still have my old 27" Zenith, the last co. to make t.v.'s in the USA. Don't see a reason to upgrade yet and even then I'll probably keep my Zenith which is an old oak wood cabinet style set and a beautiful piece of furniture. I have lcd's in all other rooms but the living room stays with the best looking one.

I want to know what Jarrod is up to, did he have a doctor's appointment today. I can't believe there's nothing new to report in the movie section.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.