TV REVIEW- Smallville: Bride - Mania.com



TV Review

Mania Grade: B-

23 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • TV Series: Smallville
  • Episode: Bride
  • Starring: Tom Welling, Allison Mack, Erica Durance, Aaron Ashmore, Justin Hartley, Cassidy Freeman
  • Written By: Turi Meyer, Al Septien
  • Directed By: Jeannot Szwarc
  • Network: CW
  • Series: Smallville

TV REVIEW- Smallville: Bride

Doomsday Crashes the Wedding

By Stephen Lackey     November 22, 2008

 

Smallville is a series that probably should have died several seasons ago. The show has lived long enough that it actually went from better to worse and astoundingly it’s actually getting better again. The show still isn’t stellar but with the falling quality of Heroes, it’s not as far behind that show as it used to be. This is the show’s fall finale and of course the big sweeps episode so big things were bound to happen, such as the appearance of Doomsday and the return of Lana.
 
This episode takes place at Chloe and Jimmy’s wedding, which is a bad thing. Thankfully, the show runners didn’t put us through watching them do their vows and all of that horrible-ness. Instead they went for a Cloverfield homage which is actually a fun idea considering this episode features the first full appearance of a pretty major monster for the season. Thematically, this story arc can compare strongly to King Kong. This giant monster just wants to be with his love, and he will be at whatever cost. There’s also some Frankenstein in the story and earlier on it could have even compared to Jekyll and Hyde. Happily Doomsday’s look does not disappoint if you’re a fan of the comic books. He’s a bit on the low budget but considering that limitation he looks great.
 
A lot of mystery is set up in this episode and it’s actually intriguing. Lana returns to the series apparently still chasing Lex and trying to protect Clark. Things get interesting when Lana receives a text message that reveals that there’s much more going on with her than is obvious. Hopefully this doesn’t mean we’ll start seeing more of her though. She’s just as uninteresting on screen even with her new snazzy haircut. The reappearance of Lex is handled quite cleverly too. He returns this season in a similar fashion to Brainiac. We get the back of Lex's head and a voiceover – earlier in the season – from Brainiac. One of the two of these characters is a puppet master in the Doomsday events. The more likely answer is that Brainiac is the puppet master and Lex is just watching everything preparing for his return to Smallville when he’s all healed up from the collapse of the fortress. All of this is entertaining, even if the fight between Clark and Doomsday is anticlimactic.
 
The sad thing about Smallville these days is that each episode seems to do its best to sabotage itself. This episode for example starts off with some solid drama and well directed quiet character moments and ends with some horribly heavy handed hospital drama with terrible emo music and ham fisted dialogue poorly delivered by Lois and Clark. Also in this episode, Clark recovers a router for Oliver which is supposed to lead to Lex. Well, one of Oliver’s henchmen is able to download all the information from the router in secret via Bluetooth while Oliver and Clark are talking. How is this possible when the router wasn’t even plugged in? It’s a little nitpicky but come on, try a little harder folks. Also, some of the drama in the episode is focused on Lois deciding she likes Clark. On that subject, there’s a good conversation between her and Oliver. It may be a little hard for fans of the comics to see Clark and Lois’ roles reversed in the series but based on what’s happened so far it shouldn’t be surprising. Overall, this series has much improved this year and there’s actually anticipation for the January return of the series.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 23
1 2 3 >  >>  
lracors 11/22/2008 12:25:42 AM

The only thing about this episode that i didn't like was the "return" of Lana who continues to chew up useless airtime.  GO AWAY you  are not interesting but annoying.  It will be interesting to see The Legion when the show returns from the holiday break.

blackshogun420ninja 11/22/2008 7:39:40 AM

I'm Just pissed i missed THe ONLy Episode That I really wanted 2 see, this season. I;m on a UTube Search....Right  damn NOW!!  Yeah, LAna BITES Booty cheeks....Naw, She doesn't. I'd like her if she did that. um...Lana sucks....iono, man!! She just SUCKSS!!! 

ponyboy76 11/22/2008 12:17:41 PM

Maybe I am a suker for the Lois and Clark romance, but to me its much better than the Lana and Clark tripe we had for like 6 seasons. I agree that the weakest point of the episode was Lana`s return but we can rejoice that she is only in 4 more episodes and that`s it. This episode was actually pretty damn good. I would not go as far as saying that it and Heroes is are on the same level. That`s just outright crazy talk. I was worried what Doomsday would look like but I was well impressed. He looks juast like he does in the comic, more or less.
And you can`t call Doomsday hitting Clark once a fight. I think the actual fight will look pretty damn cool when they finally get to it. We know Doomsday can`t be stopped. noy even by Supes and Cark isn`t even there yet. He`s going to get his ass handed to him.
I did like the shot of Lex at the end but from what I read Micheal Rosenbaum isn`t coming back at all, not even for a guest spot , so I don`t know how they are going work that.

Oh, and Blackshogun420ninja. Hit up ninjavideo.net. They have it up on their site.

Arby 11/22/2008 12:58:47 PM

What a terrible show this is. And I wonder why folks feel we have to talk about it. Yes, I watch it. But what's to say? It's a disaster.

Bryzarro 11/23/2008 6:18:37 AM

I wouldn't call the entire series a disaster.  The fact that they dragged it on too long is the disaster.  I have loved the series from day one but I have held out just to see the finsih. 

 

I loved this episode.  The reviewer was right the skipped the whole wedding which was great and Doomsday (for a network show on CW) looked amazing.  I was so worried we would see a lame rubber suit but after watching a second time he looks dead on.  And Pony I agree with you that wasn't a fight.  Clark just tried to do what he always does and suprise a monster with his strength but was taken for a ride.  The real fight will be later on.  But without him flying it will be a major one sided fight.  Not that it would have a different outcome based on the comic.

 

Looking forward to the end of this series.   And the last shot of Lex!!!!!!   The might change the actor and say his fave got mangled in the ice fortress.  That would be my guess but it would be sweet if Rosenbaum did come in for the finale.

Wiseguy 11/23/2008 3:11:44 PM

I have a love/hate relationship with this show. Bottom line it is still one of my must watch shows. And Mr. Lackey is right in saying that the show has gotten better. Maybe Millar and Cough leaving was a good thing.

I really enjoyed the show and the little homage to Cloverfield. Agree with pony about Clark and Lois' romantic angle and all being a lot better than Lana's. I'm actually enjoying the tension between these two a lot and don't mind that Lois is falling over Clark as opposed to Superman. Afterall this show has shown that it doesn't adhere to canon anyway.

I didn't mind seeing Lana as long like it was aid above that she doesn't become a regular. I do wonder who the hell she's working for or with. She looks a lot better with her new haircut but she still drags the show down IMO.

The Lex shot at the end made me think of Brainiac. Really curious to see where they're headed with this.

The clips of the new episodes coming looked pretty good, two months without any new eps, I guess I can catch up with all the stuff on my Tivo.

 

hanso 11/23/2008 3:20:23 PM

Yo blackshogun, you can also get the show from a torrent site.  That's what I did.

Haven't watched Smallville in awhile, in fact I didn't even see this episode, I just fastfowared to when Doomsday crashed the Wedding.  Doomsday looked bad ass son!  Oh and Lois look smoking hot!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

Fill me in real quick:

1. Why is Chloe marrying Jimmy?  Is Jimmy supposed to be dead now?  Why does Doomsday want Chloe?

SgtTechCom 11/23/2008 4:13:40 PM

Lex is so evil now. That shot of him sitting there watching everything happen is chilling. He's totally turning into the super criminal he's ment to be.


Doomsday looked great too considering the budget of a tv show. Great job getting the look right.


I doubt Jimmy is going to be dead, but Chloe looks to be under the control of brainiac again. Anyone else notice her eyes turn black when she opened them and smilled at Doomsday? Davis knew that when she was under brainiacs control she was in love with him since he's in love with her so he wants her to himself.


Loved the whole lois and clark stuff. That's apart of destiny and has to happen so im glad it's taking place.


I enjoy the clark/oliver interaction. Alies but totally with different agenda's and ways of doing things. It's totally like the clark/superman ,bruce wayne/batman relationship. Very simular.


Great show , i bet clark shall fly soon. The preview had him landing on a balcony on a building. Whether he just jumped up or actually flew is one thing but im sure it will be introduced before this season is up. Thats my prediction.


Can't wait for Jan.

Moz72 11/23/2008 8:10:35 PM

Anti-climactic fights between Clark and the Big Bad of the week is a staple of Smallville, It's never much of a fight. Also, the supposed climactic battle always takes place within the last 10 minutes of the episode and lasts less than two minutes. Where's the payoff?? The writers and producers need to stop driving Miss Daisy and hit the gas on Smallville!

mckracken 11/23/2008 8:51:15 PM

ok i for one disagree with everyone on here, I hated the guts of this episode. They totally showed Doomsday for the first 5 minutes of the episode while they were doing the Cloverfield Homage thing at Jimmy's wedding, then they flashed 8 hours into the past for the wedding buildup and meaningless dialog and fluff and i dont care what you say, but Lois working as Cloe's wedding co-ordinator i saw how things were going to be but didnt expect the talking to last for a full 45 minutes.

Perhaps the greatest villain in comics history, Doomsday, has been painfully reduced to a simple "Beauty and the Beast" storyline only the Beast is now stalking Cloe. See, I dont judge Doomsday on looks alone (he looked great) but he's nothing more than an all-powerful stalker on a rampage.... honestly perhaps i was expecting at least 1/100th of "the death of Superman" storyline to play out in Smallville was asking too much... this Doomsday is NOTHING like the comicbook version..despite his appearance.

Oliver just makes me angry, since when was the Green Arrow so hell bent on revenge that he couldnt enjoy the wedding and festivities for 24 hours? who freaking cares how his henchmen captured the data off the router by bluetooth, if he had waited for clark til lthe wedding was over this would have been a non-issue.

Lana didnt bug me in the least, probably because i took the last six years off from watching Smallville, she's easy on the eyes, she kicks ass and she came back for the wedding... whats the problem here?

i'm sorry but 50 minutes of soapy character wedding melo-drama at the Kent ranch sandwiched between a 5 minute dumb homage to a stupid monster movie called Cloverfield (WHY???) crashing that wedding and another 5 minute SINGLE PUNCH fight that lands Clark KO'd in front of his dumb green kryptonite rock and Jimmy with his guts hanging out in a emergency ward, and Cloe being hauled off to the Fotress and..SMILING at her STALKER(???) was just FUCKING LAME.

I dont care how good Doomsday looked, its beauty and the beast, stalker style and thats NOT what I wanted to see.

fucking rediculous.

1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS