WALKING DEAD - 1.1 - "Days Gone Bye" Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 52
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  
Duckbeaver 11/2/2010 2:24:54 AM

Wow, that was one of the best shows I have ever seen.  The bleakness of Rick's situation was so palpable throughout the entire premiere.  Yeah, definitely some emotional moments.  I actually lost it a little when he returned home crying for his wife and kid and trying to reason himself into waking up.  As mentioned before, the scene with the crawling zombie playing alongside the husband breaking down before being able to shoot his zombified wife was so gripping.  The blank look on the wife's face, the utterly pathetic menace of the crawling torso...too often zombies are portrayed as being solely predators for human heroes to fight off and while this show promises to deliver plenty of that, it also promises a more human element.  I really can't wait for more...

Darkknight2280 11/2/2010 4:14:43 AM

Walking dead was great! It was def more gory and graphic then i thought it was going to be. The acting is top notch, special effects are great and i expect the story to get more in depth. Cant wait for the next episode!

LocoLobo73 11/2/2010 6:30:13 AM

Hey just wanted to say again how much I love this show I ve watched again for the third time last night and i have to say that one of the best scenes in the first episode is the stair case scene, my wife who has never read any of the walking daed books or any comics really  was cringing, she hates horror  movies as well but because it was halloween and I promised her that it wa more than a horror movie she watched it. she was in tears through out the show , she wa completely thrown from what she expected. I had to laugh when she kept on asking what s going to happen and who was on the radio, i refused to tell her. Heres the kicker , when I got home from work last night  if ound her looking through my comics and she was actually reading through the first trade of The  Walking Dead. My wife and I have been together for 8 years and she has never read one  of my comics, so thank you AMC for showing my wife the greatness of Comic book writing.

kissstation 11/2/2010 7:14:59 AM

I would go with an A and the reason for me is the opening hospital scene.  In checking, 28 Days later came out in 2002 and the comic started in 2003, so the opening for me wasn't as strong because I was comparing it to 28 Days later.  But once it moved past that, it came into its own story and circumstance. 

I was surprised when they attacked the horse and then the visual of them tearing poor seabiscuit up, strong for tv; but fitting.

Can't add much more to what has already been said.  This series should rock.  Thanks for a good review.

Looking forward to the next episode.

Jakester 11/2/2010 7:26:47 AM

So, I'm still not sure.  Did you like the pilot, Joe?

Daffy,  I agree that Joe needs to catch up on Supernatural, but cut the guy some slack.  He's been out doing book signings and stuff.  Plus, he might get laid once in a while. 

silversurfer 11/2/2010 8:24:36 AM

I loved the Walking Dead! Been waiting for it for a while, so I'm glad that it's on and that the reception has been positive! Can't wait for the next episode! 

ddiaz28 11/2/2010 8:47:06 AM

Amazing pilot episode!  I won't repeat what everyone has said.  I ditto most of it.  What will be most interesting to me after reading the comics is the changes that will be made.  Already we see a little of that in Shane and Lori's relationship.  It seems to be ongoing whereas in the books, it was just a fling.  What do you other reader's think about that?  Does it make Lori look less sympathetic and Shane more of a dick? 

I also had no problem with Rick's reactions to his situation.  He really thought he was completely wacked out of his mind for a while there.  The only question I thought he would ask (and should have asked for the benefit of the viewers) was how long it had been since he was shot?  Did anyone mention how much time had passed since the Zombpocalypse began?  If they did I missed it.

Stellar cast so far!  Can't wait to see Glenn next week and their run through the city.  Looks like they spend more time escaping and add some new characters as well.  Can't wait. 

LocoLobo, I really tried getting my wife to stay up and watch it with me because I'm sure she'd have a similar reaction as your wife did.  She generally stays away from anything sci fi, fantasty, or horror, but there have been times when she'll happen to come in the middle of a show, like Lost, and start asking a million questions because the story is so captivating.  I know she'd do the same with this.  I'll have to keep trying.

noahbody 11/2/2010 8:50:55 AM

Loved it can't wait to next week!

The stair case was entirely creepy and sold me when they did not cop out and put a scare in the there, however I would have propped open the door!

My only complaint....

 Spoiler

 

...was the wife/partner affair.....cleeshay

fatpantz 11/2/2010 9:12:29 AM

Kisstation Kirkman has had to fight the accusations to the similarities to the opening of his comic and 28 Days Later since the beginning.  He had already developed the story and Tony had already started illustrating the first couple issues when the movie was released.  He saw the film before they went to print but chose not to change his opening scene....it was a 100% coincidence and neither parties ever went after a legal suit.  Kirkman also is open of his love for Boyle's zombie flick and rates it as one of his favorites.

Locolobo THAT IS AWESOME!!! Your post made me smile...I am picturing you coming home and catching the wife going through the comics with a "hand in the cookie jar" look ob her face rofl

Noahbody if you havent read the comics (and they actually folow the source material) you will find the affair storyline becomes anything but cliche....there is some awesoe stuff ahead for us to enjoy in this series...cant wait!

JonnyRotten 11/2/2010 9:27:02 AM

Much better than expected, wish I would have taped it.  I especially liked the flies on the dead, U don't normally see that in a zombie movie, small detail but nice touch.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.