The Walking Dead: Better Angels Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 80
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
hanso 3/12/2012 3:04:26 AM

 so carl kills zombie shane?  whata bunch of bullsh.it.  amc didnt have the balls to let carl kill shane?  fail.

hanso 3/12/2012 3:08:35 AM

 scythe, sometimes when im angry i like to find an abandoned warehouse and do an angry dance to the tune of footloose.  i find that it helps and if its good enough for kevin bacon, its good enough for me.

DaForce1 3/12/2012 3:50:52 AM

 I think Shane wanted Rick to kill him. In fact he was goading Rick into killing him. Telling Rick that Lori was broken and that Carl was weak, was Shane's way of trying to push Rick over the edge. And I honestly think Rick was trying to get out of having to kill Shane even though he knew Shane's story was crap from the very beginning. What kind of disturbed me was that Carl pulled the gun on his dad BEFORE Walker Shane got up off the ground. Was he scared of his dad? That was the big WTF moment for me. 

Daryl and Glen aren't stupid. They saw that Randal came back after only his neck was broken. So the cat is finally out of the bag (that everyone is infected),the only problem now is the herd of walkers heading out to the farm won't give them any time to ruminate on this new find. 

Oh, and Shane's story of how Randal escaped was unclear if it happened in the barn or in the woods. I think what the writers were trying to show was that Shane was so far gone that he didn't care if anyone believed his lies or not, that he actually believed he could get away with anything at that point. No matter how it sounded. Remember, even Daryl had his doubts about how a small guy like Randal could clock Shane. But they all went along with it in the long run, with Daryl eventually trusting his instincts and going back to the barn and starting the search over again instead of following what Shane said happened.

One of the nice things about this episode was when we see Carl confiding in Shane what happened with the walker and the gun. Shane tells Carl to keep the gun, and Carl freaks out saying that he'll never touch a gun again. So instead of listening to Shane, and following his advice, Carl spurns him and turns away from him. Later on when his dad gives him the same advice, and the gun, we see Carl accept it from his dad with no hesitation. Showing that Carl has accepted his dad's path, not Shane's. 

Finally, the one thing that really pissed me off about this episode (and the series in general) is how Carl keeps getting out of the damn house when he's not supposed to be running around. I mean it's the freakin zombie apocalypse, and this kid is roaming around free and easy around the farm, down by the swamp, etc. with zero adult supervision while stuff that is looking to eat him roams around free too. How in the hell is this possible? It's bordering on the ridiculous at this point. I've seen some bad parenting in my day, but Rick and Lori must have left this kid to change his own diapers when he was an infant. Andrea even calls Rick out on it when she tells Rick that maybe he should stop leaving the farm if he was worried about what was going on there when he left. 

Anyway, I'm glad Shane's finally dead, and Dale too. Now if only we can have Lori fall into a pack of walkers, I'd be happy.

elrushbo 3/12/2012 5:10:55 AM

Batman is a long revered and popular cultural icon, before this show most people never heard of The Walking Dead and could not care less if the source material was followed to the letter.

wessmith1966 3/12/2012 5:30:48 AM

Every week someone sounds off about how the show isn't faithful to the source material. Isn't it time to let that go? This isn't the comic book; it's a TV series. And a pretty good one at that. Just think of it as earth 2. Comics movies/TV shows differ from the source material. It's always been that way and always will be that way. Comics creators don't have to deal with real people; creators, producers and actors leaving, budget restrictions, etc...

I liked the slow burn of the episode leading up to the exciting last couple of minutes. The scene at the end was creepy and very effective. That's one thing I like about this show; it takes it time getting to the benchmark scenes. Sometime it's a little too slow for my taste, like the search for Sophia, but I understand the thought process. The show definitely feels real in that respect. Well, as real as a dystopian earth where zombies roam the countryside can be.

Shane had to die because he was tripping over the edge and the actor did an excellent job of showing that. Rick had to put him down even though he gave him every opportunity to do the right thing.

A very good episode with a great ending.

flyinroo 3/12/2012 5:47:38 AM

 I have to say that nothing happened in this episode that was a huge surprise to me. In fact, I think the writers dropped the ball big time here. I felt like the showdown between Rick and Shane was very anti-climactic. Not from an action point of view but from a story point of view. It all felt very contrived, up to and including Carl's weekly "appearance out of nowhere" scene. 

We knew that Shane was becoming more and more unstable as time passed, and this week Lori pushed him over the edge. Her appology to him seemed to come out of the blue. I just passed it off as pregnancy hormones kicking in, but I think it was no surprise to anyone what it would do to Shane.

Randall had to die. No matter how the group felt about Dale and his death, the fact remained that Randall's life had to be taken in the best interest of the group. And despite what Dale thought about it, it was possible to carry out his execution AND maintain their humanity. Shane's insanity took care of that situation for everyone. The fact that his story to the others about what exactly happened when Randall "escaped" showed he didn't have enough screws left in place to form a decent story. I don't think Rick, Daryll, and Glen bought the story so much as went along with it. Rick new it had to come to this and it clearly showed in his face as he and Shane moved through the woods. 

The showdown with Rick and Shane in the field was good. I never expected the knife from Rick. I was expecting a back-up gun, but nothing so personal as a knife. I felt that was handled quite well, but they lost it when they had Carl show up out of thin air yet again. When Shane switches over and Carl takes the shot that EVERYONE knew he was going to take, I felt a great deal of disappointment. If they wanted Carl involved, then HE should have killed Shane in defense of his father. That would have had much more meaning. Or they should have just left him out completely after Rick killed him.

Shane was a great character, and I think he deserved a better ending than what they ultimately gave him. Considering how great the series has been, I have to say the writing seemed extremely lazy in this episode and they missed a great chance by not letting Carl shoot Shane in defense of his father while Shane was still alive.

With all that being said, I am still excited for next week's episode and hope they are able to raise the bar so that we can forget about Shane and have something new to mull over till next season gets here.

jedibanner 3/12/2012 5:55:10 AM

Man that was a great episode....of ''Comic Book Men''....

DarthBob 3/12/2012 6:12:52 AM

I thought it was a good episode and overall I have no issue with the departure from the source material. There are 70 some odd characters in the comic book and it is impossible to give everyone screen time in a one hour TV show with only a handful of episodes under their belt.

Recent cable TV ratings:
Week of 27 Feb: #1
Week of 20 Feb: #2 (edged out by NBA all star game)
Week of 13 FEB: #1

It's obvious that a few whining fanboys are in the minority here as ratings remain high. Besides, how much longer could they realistically keep the pissing match going between Rick and Shane? A flood of zombies are on their way to the farm and the rag tag group will soon be introduced to the governor. It had to end and the group is going to have other significant issues to contend with.

T-dog must have gotten a pay increase as he actually had a few lines in last night's episode. I'm guessing they're keeping him around to be a love interest for Michonne.

My fear is that they will tone down the governor too much; he is a sick, twisted and demented tyrant; I hope that they unleash his full fury. Rich vs. Shane was good, but Rick vs. The Governor could be great! The show continues to be excellent and it's going to be a long summer waiting for season 3.
 

macthorn 3/12/2012 6:43:20 AM

I agree with DaForce1: "What kind of disturbed me was that Carl pulled the gun on his dad BEFORE Walker Shane got up off the ground. Was he scared of his dad? That was the big WTF moment for me." 

That and him getting a good clean head shot with his dad in the way. But I can overlook that, I enjoyed this episode, liked Shanes character but it was time for him to go.

Don't have a problem with the show not being a carbon of the book, I came to the show first. And yes I probably would be more upset if it were a franchise like Batman (as I was with Smallville-disliked so much of the liberties they took with the Superman mythos it became a "back-burner-show.")

And my brutha T-Dog... Andrea's got bigger balls than him. Hell Carl is looking tougher that T-Dog!

monkeyfoot 3/12/2012 6:45:07 AM

Damn this show is good!!! It's the only show where I am on the edge of my seat from beginning to end because it feels like anything could happen. I haven't felt that way since the heyday of Lost.

I've never read the comics so I luckily have no pre-conceived notions.But it does seem like we have to go over this again every episode review page: If you loved the comic but hate the show changes, just don't watch it! Problem solved.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.