Walking Dead: Bloodletting Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 27
1 2 3 >  >>  
jedibanner 10/24/2011 8:10:36 AM

great review, agrees with everything but for me...I guess my main issue with the show right now is that it's trying to put too much emotions in the show and I can't stand people crying every show.

It's one thing to have drama but when 90% of the show is drama and not a mix of action and zombies, the interest is fading a bit.

Just when it was getting interested in the end with the catching of equipment, it ends with a ''to be continued'' half-way through the moment. Sure it's great to get people back for the next show but overall, the pace of last season seemed better balanced then this season.

And compeltelly agrees with the end of the review...Shane, come on...all the tactics and preperation to get in and then PAFF, he just opens the door without checking and makes a crap load of noize???? WTF!!!

And what's this about Laurie blaming the hunter....typical women judging with emotions and not logic (Yes, I know, I said it...sue me).

Anyways, still fun to watch but, let's hope there's more paste next episodes.

millean 10/24/2011 8:39:59 AM

OK, so I'm finally caught up with this show.  While I don't seem to love it as much as some of you, it is still a very good series and I am looking forward to the upcoming season.

The thing that seemed out of place to me was that there was hardly a mention of Sophia still being lost (save for a couple of passing comments.)  Think I would have mentioned that to Hershel's gang so they would at least keep an eye out.

Also (and admittedly this refers more to last week's episode), is it a law of physics that if you are running from something in the woods that you have to fall?  That gag is soooo overplayed.  Just once I'd like to see the "bad guy" fall instead of the "good guy".

Finally, if those are the worst complaints I'll have with this show, then that speaks volumes to the writers.  Good job, keep it up!

 

wessmith1966 10/24/2011 8:47:29 AM

Good review Joe, and I think I agree with your points. I did like the flashback. With the way the show began last year I figured we'd get flashbacks along the way. I like how our intrepid band of survivors is starting to splinter. Let's face it, if the world truly fell apart like this people would band together in groups but the stress of the situation who soon fracture the peoples' collective constitution and then the group. Especially since there really isn't a strong alpha-type leading the group.

I just read Jedibanner's comments and yes, you do blame the hunter. Basic rule of hunting; you do not shoot unless you have a completely unobstructed view of the target. Considering the kid was standing right next to the deer and the bullet went through the deer to hit the kid then the shooter (who had a scope on his rifle) would have been able to see, at the very least, the kid's legs and possibly his head unless the shooter was shooting through brush (which is a big no-no).

After the first two episodes I don't think the writing is as smart as last year's, but it's early in the season and with all of the shake-up behind the scenes the production might need a couple of episodes to get its feet.

One thing that always bothers me about zombie movies/shows...who cares how fast the damn things move! Why can't they move in different speeds? After all, live people move at different speeds. A zombied 20 years old who was in good shape should be able to move faster than a zombied 40 year old who rarely moved further than the refrigerator. Zombies move as fast as the story needs them to!

redhulk 10/24/2011 8:48:05 AM

The review was better than mine. There were too many teary eyes, guilt trips and open mouths aghast! Biggest complaint is not much happened considering all the story telling that needs to be done in a few season  episodes. Its a big farm, but did we have to endure Rick carrying Carl over its entire length! Yep, he's a devoted father, I got that in less time!  Editing maybe? Most of the story took place in the farmhouse bedroom with the rest of the cast hiking (arguing) through the woods. Poor Dale, the camp counselor and babysitter!  Do we need to see Hershall poking around in Carl's wound, I'd prefer the gore to be from the source zombie material rather than reality gore!  Where the heck is Sophia? Not even a hint to keep us wondering! (Maybe she's with Darryl's brother).  Some poor editing showing evening at the school but sunshine back at the bedroom. The focus on Carl's worsening condition and need to gather medical supplies diverts the story from its main goal this week which was to introduce the new group.  Yeah, alot of griping but the writing was so amaturish! I hope this show doesn't get lost in its own writing like LOST did, one of the biggest boondoggles in TV writing history. The source materal is good story! When they can enhance it with subtle alterations or new characters fine, but don't stray too far from the reason its on TV.

jedibanner 10/24/2011 9:04:01 AM

Wessmith, I'm ahunter myself and yes, you do have to make sure to have compelte vision but, if that were true when hunting, people wouldn't get shot by accidents and it's not always the shooter's fault. If you can't see a kid cause the deer is larger then the kid, that's what hunting is, when you have a shot, you take it.

And the guy is trying to make amends cause he feels bad and surprise surprise, who comes up and critizes like a bitch? the wife...

Sorry but for me, it just shows how sometimes people react with emotions first instead of logic and it just irritates me cause reality is shaken when emotions comes in. Yes it means the show is making me react so the intent is good but how it's done is my issue and just bigs me...for those who read the books...let's just say I can't wait for things to follow the storylines of the book a bit more.

redvector 10/24/2011 9:22:34 AM

Well, TWD has an advantage that Lost didn't. A comic book/GN series to use as a guideline. Lost lost me in it's 3rd season. It kind of fell apart for me because it had a "let's make it up as we go along" feel.

Roqueja 10/24/2011 10:42:33 AM

I feel that this episode shows that the writers are keeping the pace of the story too slow for natural progression.  I can't quite put my finger on what it is, it's just too slow.  Last season was superb, so far this season, not so much.  I do hope that it turns around soon, and I do beleive it will after setting up all the points that it has.  I am also a big fan of Darryl, and he steals almost every scene he is in.  Very well written character, and looks to have some amazing storyline coming up with an inevitable reunion with his brother.

I highly recommend The Rise of the Govenor for must read Walking Dead.  Kinda weird that I haven't heard anything on this site about it.  I tripped over it at the bookstore by chance and am really enjoying it.  I hope that Kirkman keeps the Walking Dead juggernaut going on all mediums for a long time.

jedibanner 10/24/2011 11:52:42 AM

Roqueja, I think since most people have either read the series we don't want always write with ''spoilers'' and the show themselves have taken quite a bit of different roads compated to the series so, it's just different to talk about the series vs the book.

But yeah, the governor arc in WD is the best...kind of what I meant in my first comment...I can't wait for it to happen.

samson 10/24/2011 12:23:32 PM

I've never read the comic because I don't want to. I like not knowing what's going to happen next. It happens so rarely for me. I don't want to do anything that would spoil that experience for me.

I wish I didn't know anything about Darabont leaving and etc ... I feel like there is something missing in this season that I can't quite put my finger on. I'm not sure if I feel that way because I know what happened behind the scenes and it's coloring my opinion, or if the show is actually lacking something that was there in season one. Like, those litle subtle touches that made the show really stand out, aren't there anymore.

On another note, great review Joe. I think you pretty much nailed it.

conundrum 10/24/2011 1:51:52 PM

All I can really say is this, when a show gives me nightmares that night about my own child gone missing in a post apocalyptic world, and my best ally is a redneck tracker (yes, Daryl was in the dream), feeling the gut wrenching uncertainly about my little biys fate...they must be doing something right, the writes, directors, producers, etc.  Even for it's quirks, I'm hooked.

1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.