The Walking Dead: Dead Weight Review - Mania.com



The Walking Dead Review

Mania Grade: B

29 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Dead Weight (Season 4, Episode 7)
  • Starring: David Morrissey, Audrey Marie Anderson, Jose Pablo Cantillo,Alanna Masterson
  • Written By: Curtis Gwinn
  • Directed By: Jeremy Podeswa
  • Network: AMC
  • Studio: American Movie Classics (AMC), Circle of Confusion, Valhalla Motion Pictures
  • Series:

The Walking Dead: Dead Weight Review

A Dramedy

By Hanso     November 25, 2013
Source: Mania.com

AMC needs to give The Governor his own show because his back to back solo episodes have been the best thing of this current season.  They should also spin off and do a dramedy centered around Tara and Alicia has they navigate the difficulties of being lesbians in the zombie apocalypse.

This week’s episode is all about the death of Brian and the rebirth of The Governor, and it’s all thanks to Martinez.  See, Martinez is now rolling with a new crew, a crew that by the way is missing Nameless Black Guy from last week’s episode.  Turns out NBG is actually named Shumpert but he’s dead now and wasn’t important enough to get an on screen death.  

Being the nice guy that he is, Martinez extends Brian and his family an invitation to join his camp where every citizen gets their own trailer.  Only thing they need to do to get in is acknowledge Martinez is the king of the trailer park, and not be dead weight.  Brian, in need of a humping place since the Hump Truck broke down last week, immediately accepts the conditions and he and his family officially become members of Camp Martinez.  

Camp Martinez is your typical zombie apocalypse camp, where dudes hunt and the women stay home and cook.  The camp has a decent size amount of nameless characters, most of them there to be killed in next week’s episode.  Seems like a chill place under Martinez’s leadership.  Leading the nameless mass takes a toll though, so Martinez offers Brian to share some of the leadership responsibilities and in doing so awakens the beast that is The Governor.  After hearing Martinez’s proposal, instead of simply saying no, Brian snaps, goes into Governor mode and feeds Martinez to zombies.  Yes, Martinez is dead, no more latinos left in the zombie apocalypse.

Brian doesn’t want anything to do with being a leader of a group yet so he hangs back and lets others take over.  Unfortunately, the guy that takes over for Martinez (aka Pete) had a conscious, which Brian sees as weakness.  Being weak in the zombie apocalypse will get you killed, so its obvious to Brian that in order to survive the only person fit to run the camp is The Governor and that Pete must be stabbed and dumped into the bottom of a lake.  Once Brian makes that call it effectively marks The Governor’s return, this time for good and this time he has a tank!

If you’ve read the comics, you know the tank comes into play next week, if you haven’t read the comics you know the tank comes into play next week because they showed it in the next week’s previews right after this episode ended.  So tune in next week for some tank action.
 

Follow Mania on Facebook and Twitter. If work has you blocked out, download our app on iTunes for your iPhone and iPad.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 29
1 2 3 >  >>  
invisioner 11/25/2013 8:49:49 AM

I  wonder if the all out assault does happen next week with the tank. Its becoming clear now that the apocalyptic confrontation in the comics will happen this way instead of what we were led to last season, and it is making sense now. But, will it be next week? I  kinda don't think so, it will probably be dragged on to torture the souls inside a little more...but, it would be great if the prison destruction does happen, and forces the survivors to hit the road like the comic for the rest of the season. THAT  would be terrific!

JonnyRotten 11/25/2013 8:58:17 AM

 Man .. was I off,  I guess its gonna be war, I wonder who will get stuck running out with the baby.  Good recap whoever you are. B is a fair grade.

Seems like there are alot of camps around, at times it felt like Rick and co. were the only people left, now you can hardly go for a walk in the woods without bumping into someone's camp.

 

 

 

RedHood2010 11/25/2013 9:04:46 AM

I agree the past 2 episodes on the Gov have been a gift of fresh air, good info and story.  I think it all goes down next week with the 2nd half dealing with their survival.  There is no way One Eye Bry walks away from this one.

RobertTrate 11/25/2013 9:47:57 AM

 It's Hanso again guys...

ElBaz13 11/25/2013 10:09:03 AM

I think the Jack Napier was the giveaway. ;)

But I'm surprised, if it Hanso, he missed out on mentionning some girl on girl action. Stuff like that never gets passed him. :)

Loved the episode and was annoyed how they softened him last week. This was more like it.

2 Main gripes and not sure if anyone noticed or I passed out during the show

When the team goes out looking for food and stumbles upon the campsite of survivors and they have this crazy debate on taking their possessions, they get up, leave. Next cut, the Governor starts wandering on his own and discovers the attacked campsite with everyone dead. Did I miss something? Was this poor editing? Did the camp get attacked by the Flash?

Also, why the hell does Martinez have a trailer far from the camp? And no one at all say the Governor with him that day?? Talk about a stupid camp.

Great episode but unfortunately was missing a good 5-7 minutes to explain stuff. This is what happens when you are stuck with a network's 42 minute episode format. I'm almost certain Governor let that walker in the camp on purpose to prove they need to move out of there.

 

Eldogg42 11/25/2013 10:25:57 AM

ElBaz - There were on their way back from scavaging, so there was some time that passed.  Thus that camp was attacked as they were looking for food.

ddiaz28 11/25/2013 10:28:40 AM

Great episode but The Governor's change from nice family man Brian back to his sadistic self seemed really quick, although there was definitely a suttle build up.  Hanso mentioned that he snapped after Martinez offered to share responsibility but the Governor definitely had planned on killing him anyways.  For one thing he needed to protect his history from being revealed by Martinez.  And he also didn't want his girls to be threatened.  Remember that Martinez admits that if it wasn't for the women, he would have left him in the pit.  That probably wasn't just because he has a soft spot for ladies.  There were definitely a lot more men in that camp. 

I'm glad the battle is going to happen already.  Leaves the second half of the season for something new.  And I'm betting this other group will play some part.  A buddy of mine thinks Rick and the Gov may have to team up to fight this other group, and the alchoholic dude in Rick's camp is their mole.  Sounded plausible to me.  Guess we'll see.

violator14 11/25/2013 10:38:46 AM

 Finally a good episode! Just like Homeland finally had a good episode last night too!! 

I like the new Lieutenant for the Governor (forgot his name, but i liked him as Joe Toye from Band of Brothers). But was that guy, Pete, really his brother?? If so, i find it hard to believe he would just automatically follow the guy (governor) who killed his brother. Im probably missing something.

hanso 11/25/2013 11:18:51 AM

Come on guys, Jack Napier was easy, its the Joker's name in Burton's Batman.  Trate ain't going to kick me out when we are so close to the end. 

@Baz, I didn't see any girl or girl action.  When was this!?  Now I have to rewatch it.  I saw Tara & Alice laying in bed together but the whole family was there too.  Did they bang there?  Were they doing it in there as some sort of revenge for The Governor & Lily banging right next to Tara in the Hump Truck?

@Vio, Yeah Pete was his brother.  I think at the end of the day he let The Governor get away with killing Pete because he knew The Governor was right in terms of doing whatever it takes to survive.

@Diaz, even though he did want to protect his identity, I think Martinez offering for hiim to wear 1/2 the crown was the main thing.  The Governor is headed to the prison which I would assume he would staty away from if he really wanted his identity/past to be hidden from his family.  Anyway, I'm kind of torn cause I'm not sure if The Governor really didn't want to the man and just knew that he had to in order to keep his new family safe or if he was always power hungry and was just biding his time.

 

 

ElBaz13 11/25/2013 12:05:11 PM

Well, girl on girl for AMC is what we saw. Too bad this isn't Starz or HBO. Didn't they kiss? They cuddled in the back seat of the car and in the trailer. I found their relationship happen very quickly. Actually, as I said in my earlier post, some issue with editing. Seems like the passage of time was too fast and stuff was missed.

It felt like they had 50 minutes of material trimmed down to 42. Basically not enough for a 3rd episode of Governor's Creek therefore, just pace the action more quickly.

I keep thinking of Anakin's turn to the dark side. One minute he's all "yeah, take this evil Emperor mofo down!" to a child killer 15 minutes later.

Loving that Governor's Creek video on the "next week's preview" post. LOL!

1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS