The Walking Dead: The Grove Review - Mania.com



The Walking Dead Review

Mania Grade: A

38 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: The Grove (Season 4, Episode 14)
  • Starring: Melissa McBride, Chad L. Coleman, Brighton Sharbino, Kyla Kenedy
  • Written By: Based on characters created by Robert Kirkman
  • Directed By: Series created by Frank Darabont
  • Network: AMC
  • Studio: American Movie Classics (AMC), Circle of Confusion, Valhalla Motion Pictures
  • Series:

The Walking Dead: The Grove Review

2 episodes to go!

By Hanso     March 17, 2014
Source: Mania.com


The Walking Dead: The Grove Review
© AMC/ IMAGE

Finally, after what seemed like forever, we get questions answered and a great episode probably the second best of the season behind the mid season finale, although we have to wait how the final two episodes play out.

 

Coming into the episode it seemed we were destined for another boring and meaningless 50 minutes withTyrese, Carol, and the girls while the show inched us closer to Terminus.  However, right from the jump you knew something would be going down because they brought up Sophia and linked her to Mica with the whole “no mean bone in her body.”  

 

Let’s just stick to the three main things that happened here:

 

(1) We finally learn that Lizzie was the one feeding the rats to the walkers back in the prison.  Not surprising, everyone pretty much had that figured out.  She’s also cleared of killing Tyrese’s girl and that other bloke who no one remembers.  As we see throughout the episode, Lizziesees the walkers as people instead of the flesh -eating zombies that they are.  She plays tag with them, feeds them rats, with no worries about being bitten at all.  Hell she even thinks about being bitten and turning.  Everyone else in the group thinks she’s completely nuts but she just wants them to understand the walkers and she’s got a fool proof plan on how to get them to do it.

 

(2) Lizzie goes full psycho and kills her sister so Carol & Tyrese can gain appreciation of walkers.  Poor Judith was next if Carol & Tyrese hadn’t shown up.  Even though they didn’t show her do it, it was still shocking to see a kid murder another kid.

 

After that, Carol & Tyrese have to make a tough call, let that psycho sleep with them or put a bullet through her brain.  When they are discussing what to do with Lizzie,Tyrese suspects that it was Lizzie that killed Karen and the other guy but Carol states Lizzie would’ve let them turned so it wasn’t her.  Carol clears Lizzie but doesn’t confess toTyrese just yet.  The two of them decide that Lizzie mustdie as she can’t be around other people.  The show then gives us their version Of Mice & Men as Carol takes Lizzie to “look at the flowers” aka I’m going to kill you.  Poor Carol, she’s lost Sophia, and now these two girls.  No wonder she’s so ice cold.

 

(3) After all the trauma Carol has had to endure, it seems she can no longer take on that weight and givesTyrese her gun and confesses it was her that killed Karen. At that moment Carol was prepared to die and didn’t care, but instead of committing suicide she lets Tyrese be the one that makes the call if she lives or dies.  Now, if this had happened prior to Lizzie killing Mica, Tyrese probably ends Carol right then there.  However, because it happened afterwards and Tyrese was responsible as much as Carol in the death of Lizzie, he understood that what was done was for the better of the group.  Thus, he forgives Carol and they make their way to Terminus along with baby Judith.

 

Final random thought, the smoke Tyrese & Carol spot on the way to the house, is it from Terminus, Daryl’s new friends or The Others’ coming to take Danielle’s baby?

 

What did you guys think of the episode?  Leave your thoughts below.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 38
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
75tranzam 3/17/2014 5:49:06 PM

 Whatever was burning had some walkers in it because they found the girls on the railroad track. 

fallensbane 3/17/2014 6:05:34 PM

Carol is hardly Ice Cold, if she were she would not have been tearing up during the 'execution' scene. When Rick decided to become farmer fran she took it upon herself to start making the hard decisions, she does it for the greater good.

I am guessing the burning was the house Daryl and Beth had set on fire.

xJokersxWildx 3/17/2014 6:50:03 PM

I'm thinking the burning . was from the shack that daryl/beth burnt down.  It could be they are pretty close to one another but yet so far.  I do think Rick/Carl/Michone are ahead of them all.

The group of men lead by Joe are hot on their trail tho. Daryl will have to make some decisions.

Great episode Lizzie clearly was the "ben" of the comics.

Dodgyb2001 3/17/2014 7:00:14 PM

Really a phenomenal episode, I think possibly the best this season with the heavy emotions involved in it. The prison stand off had too many questionable acts in it for me, but this episode was just amazing.

blankczech 3/17/2014 7:07:55 PM
Or is the smoke coming from the place that Daryl and Beth lit on fire (not sure of the timeline for this episode vs. previous episodes...in other words are all these things happening at the same time or at different times).


I thought this was one of the best episodes of the season. It presented a post apocolyptic world - moral dilemna. Lizzie didn't see things the way Carol & Tyrese did (call her crazy...but in a world where dead people walk around biting live people ...life in general is crazy). Lizzie's take on things presented a threat. Carol & Tyrese were left with 2 options to maintain their safety (1) run off and leave her or (2) kill her. They decided shooting her in head was more humane. I think Lizzie would have chosen being a Walker over being dead.

In a world where society has broken down, where ones entire purpose is survival (and not helluva lot more)...who decides what's acceptable or unacceptable behavior, what's right or wrong, legal or illegal, sane or insane. Obviously most of the older folks will try to adapt their value system, laws, morals and ethics, philosophies / religious beliefs to this changed world...but we've seen many examples of how/ why this doesn't necessarily work . Young people who have not been entirely brainwashed and those who didn't do well working within the confines of society may not want to (continue to) embrace those old precepts in this new world.

 

hfc7036 3/17/2014 7:28:26 PM

 THought it was cool that Daryl and Beth's burning house fire was connected in this episode.  Excellent continuity.  Although I was more of a fan of the last three episodes than most, especially with Daryl and Beth's craziness, this was definitely the best and the most shocking since the mid-season finale.  For a second there, I was thinking that Tyrese was gonna pick that gun up and pop-a-cap in Carol.  It could have gone either way, but this story had quite a lot of meaning behind it.  Those poor girls never had a chance did they.  I couldn't believe what I was seeing..

steveleenow 3/17/2014 10:15:18 PM

 The big scene of this episode and the overall emotional path of this episode reminded me of Tigh when he had to kill Ellen on New Caprica.

violator14 3/17/2014 10:18:53 PM

 Good episode. I know alot of people will disagree with me, but I think Carol handled things wrong. First of all how many times are u gonna leave 2 children and 1 baby alone in a world where zombies are everywhere?? Especially knowing there are stealthy-ninja-zombies that can sneak up on the likes of Darryl.  I would always have at least one adult supervising, especially knowing that one of them is starting to get looney as fuk. After seeing her play tag with a zombie i would have NEVER left her alone to watch over the kids. And I think Carol should have REALLY REALLY laid it on that little girl for always being such a brat. SHe always walked all over Carol when she had her bratty fits and Carol would just take it in the face.

Second- I PERSONALLY would have tried a couple more things before putting a BULLET IN THE BACK OF A LITTLE GIRL's HEAD. Carol should have spanked the crap out of that little girl or something, and make her think about wth she did. Drag her ass kicking and screaming til she finally understood and hopefully snap out of it. Even if it ultimately didn't work out for her and she remained psychotic, I think I would have atleast tried my best. Idk, i guess it's just my personal morals and stuff, but shooting a little girl in the head would not have been my 1st 10 options.

Take all her weapons away, and make sure an adult is watching over Judith. And she could have let Lizzie see her sister turn and make her realize she's REALLY not human anymore. "Look Lizzie, your sister is dead. Ask her if she recognizes you. Ask her what her favorite color is, She'll never be able to answer you, or play with you anymore.Do you think this is ok??"  

What kind of psychological effects would this have on her? PRobably bad. But shit, my point is try something b4 capping her ass! I dont know!!  I mean how many people are left in this world let alone little children!! She could have very well shot one of the last little girls on the planet!! 

At the very least I would have made her babysit her new zombie sister and ditch her ass before I shot her in the head. "Sorry Lizzie, but we REALLY dont want you to kill this BABY. You're on your own! Peace out!" 

Do i understand why she did it? Of course I do. But do I agree with it? Not at all. I think it was just another premature-cop-out -move by dumbass Carol who thinks she knows everything. 

I feel like alot of people get swayed by the Talking Dead takes. I've always felt like that Carol actress would defend and justify her character even if she was trafficking sex slaves. It's like damn, try to see everything objectively lady. It's ok if your character is an idiot sometimes!!

 

 

 

fatpantz 3/18/2014 1:20:17 AM

Sorry V, but that girl was too far gone to fix with a spanking.  She not only carved up her sister with a hunting knife, but she was proud of the fact and was expecting a pat on the back for doing a good deed.  Something was wrong with her brain and just as sweet Old Yeller came down with rabies, she had to be put down before she did anymore harm to anyone else.  I know that sentencing a child to death is not something any person should ever have to face, but I have to agree with their decision.

samson 3/18/2014 3:24:27 AM

 I was on the fence about killing Lizzie until the very end when we found out she thought Carol was upset because she pointed a gun at her. She had no clue or understanding of what she had done. There was no coming back from that. Seriously, what where they going to do, get her counciling? Given the situation, a quick death was the humane and responsible thing for them to do. They have a baby to care for. They really could not take that chance.

i have two minor quibbles with this week's show. First: the voice over at the end. It seemed cliched and a bit forced. Second; as they were leaving the grove, the doll or prop they used as a stand in for Judith didn't translate well on film. It didn't look remotely real. But, like I said, those were just two very minor quibbles in an otherwise great episode.

Scott Gimple wrote this one. I'm finding that the best episodes this season are penned by him. He also did one of my favorite EP's from last season (or the one before), "Clear".

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS