The Walking Dead: Live Bait Review - Mania.com



Walking Dead Review

Mania Grade: C

34 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Live Bait (Season 4, Episode 6)
  • Starring: David Morrissey, Meyrick Murphy, Audrey Marie Anderson, Jose Pablo Cantillo
  • Written By: Nichole Beattie
  • Directed By: Michael Uppendahl
  • Network: AMC
  • Studio: American Movie Classics (AMC), Circle of Confusion, Valhalla Motion Pictures
  • Series:

The Walking Dead: Live Bait Review

Hobo Snake Plisken

By Hanso     November 18, 2013
Source: Mania.com


Enter Hobo Snake Plisken!
© AMC
The Governor is dead, long live Brian Heriot!  This episode was great because we are spared of the bs going on in the prison, and thankfully no one coughs.  Well, one guy coughs but he had cancer so we’ll let it slide.

It was a nice change of pace to have the episode deal with The Governor exclusively; he’s been missed from the series and its good to have him back.  But where has he been all this time?  Well if you had “Turned into Hobo Snake Plisken” you won.

See, the events of season 3 changed The Governor.  After he murdered his crew last season he took off with Martinez and Nameless Black Guy but the weight of everything that happened basically put him in a catatonic state.  The guy is dead inside and no fun to be around so Martinez and Nameless Black Guy leave him in the middle of the night.  Now truly alone, The Governor decides the best use of his time is to go burn Woodbury down and roam the countryside to the tune of some sweet country music that plays during the show’s obligatory montage.

He roams for months and along his travels finds a family that takes him in.  At first he’s not sure what to make of these kind spaggetio offering people because he’s more of a ravioli man.  Eventually he warms up to them and we see him take the mantle of Brian Heriot.  Unlike The Governor, Brian is a guy good guy who puts his life on the line to go get oxygen tanks for cancer-ridden people.  He’ll also bash your head in with said oxygen tank if you turn.  Brian becomes a protector, and he bonds with the little girl who reminds him of his daughter Penny.  He also bonds with the little girls’ mom when he bangs her in the back of Uhaul looking truck while the rest of the family sleeps right next to them.  That ain’t right, they needed to step out and roll around in grass outside instead but because they didn’t, karma got to them and ruined their hump truck.

Hump truckless, The Governor and his adopted family take to walking and their journey leads them straight to Martinez!  Now that Brian is reunited with Martinez it can only mean we’ll see his change into The Governor again, that and maybe Nameless Black Guy will finally get a name.

Unrelated Side Note:

AMC decided to have a Godfather night, a Hitchcock night and a Steven Segal night?  WTF?
 
Follow Mania on Facebook and Twitter. If work has you blocked out, download our app on iTunes for your iPhone and iPad.

 

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 34
1 2 3 4 >  >>  
SinisterPryde 11/18/2013 1:26:46 AM

It was interesting to see characters from the spin-off/prequel novels turn up in the show, though in a different manner than the novels.

Judging by the previews for next week it looks like we'll have to wait until the mid-season finale to find out Daryl's reaction to Rick's decision.

egoist 11/18/2013 5:08:46 AM

 This one was a bit of a snoozer for me. I called your last grade a bit harsh, and this one is probably too generous. The grade isn't was matters in a Hanso review though, it's the perspective. "Hump truckless" was a bit fried gold. When she looked over and stared at that one eyed monster, and then looked up at that one eyed monster, the quietest hump ever ensued. 

ElBaz13 11/18/2013 6:06:11 AM

Meh episode.

I liked it but wasn't a fan of "humanizing" The Governor. We don't want to have sympathy for this guy, right?

Looks like next week is another all Governor episode.

One thing I found odd, why sleep in tents, making you vulnerable when I noticed as the camera zoomed out, there was one of those little mobile construction cabins in the background. Wouldn't it be safer in that?

 

Davewriter 11/18/2013 7:24:20 AM

Just what we needed, a new and improved Govoernor - now with 100% more warm & fuzzy!  Again it felt more like a fill-in issue.  Wasn't that nice that he would walk through a whole hospital filled with zoms, but now he is so filled with compassion... so done with destruction that he can't even dispatch one of them.  I call BS on that.

And where is that zombie Mega Herd?

I want me some big scale Mega death and chomping!

jayinvincible 11/18/2013 7:35:51 AM

This episode was terrible. How do people survive a zombie apocalypse without knowing you go for the head? It's been at least a year in show time and you don't kill one by accident. Really? Also, I would have gladly taken the coughing over someone that obviously wasn't a cop trying to convence me throughout half the episode that they actually were one. And who throws spagetti-o's out of a window? That is pure evil. The best part of the episode was the opening music, "The Last Pale Light in the West" by Ben Nichols. 

monkeyfoot 11/18/2013 7:50:00 AM

I really enjoyed this episode. I like the humanizing of the Governor. It was a well done because the audience has Governor hate grooves well carved into their brains and when the writers start tilling your head meat with a new crop it gives you a great new perspective. It's like seeing Hitler playing with a puppy or diapering a baby  while telling bedtime stories. You don't think about or don't want to think about them in another light. If he stays on this path people may not want to see him get the comeuppance he deserves.

I wouldn't want to hump in such an un-private place but people have usually done it that way for thousands of years. Native Americans, tribal people, the Pilgrims, Vikings and other would do nasty dancing with the kids sometmes in the same bed.

Hookedonavengers2012 11/18/2013 8:25:51 AM

I enjoyed the review. I liked the episode! :)

this hump day im gonna buy me a hump truck! lol

 

Wiseguy 11/18/2013 8:58:31 AM

I don't know who the hell this Mr J is but I demand hanso  back and til then I will go about my business as normal

hanso 11/18/2013 8:59:20 AM

 I thought it was a really good episode, I really dug the fact that they played against expectations or at least mine.  After last week's episode I thought they would pick up right where we left off but instead they give us a flashback episode without none of the main cast, and for me it worked.  Plus we've seen Gov is an evil mofo and to turn that on its head for this episode I thought was cool.  Curious as to what pushes him back into Governor mode,

And it definitely looks like we won't pick up the prison storyline until 2 weeks for now and they'll have use that for the mid season finale.  That's fine by me, cause I've lost interested in Rick & Co.

violator14 11/18/2013 9:00:59 AM

 zzzzzzzzzz....... honestly i enjoy these reviews alot more than the episodes. Although it was interesting to see the Governor's solo missions, and having him make out w/ the girl next to her sister and and neice was quite interesting. But was it really implied that they actually "Humped" ?? Or did they just make out?

Now there was that brief moment when "brian" hesitated cuz of the other girls, but the girl making out with him nodded her head to give him the green light as if it was a normal thing. So what I think happened was the other (cuter) sister joined in for a 3some, and they gave the little girl the boot to wait outside. 

 

 

1 2 3 4 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS