The Walking Dead: Mania TV Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 21 - 30 of 50
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
InnerSanctum 12/7/2010 8:51:52 AM

 Didn't Jenner say his wife was infected with the virus?  I don't recall him saying she volunteered to be a test subject.  

InnerSanctum 12/7/2010 8:55:09 AM

 I thought the finale was fine.   They didn't know if they were going to get a second season, so riding off into the unknown really is the only way for it to end.  I like how they completely went off the grid from the comic with this episode.   It was interesting and took the CDC out of the equation.  Now it is just them vs. the zombies.  I actually thought we were going to lose some characters that SPOILER have stayed alive in the comics.  We already have SPOILER one character who should already be dead, but I'm happy he is alive, to cause more tension between the leads.  Great episode and good solid ending, IMO.  Can't wait until next year!

swisshammer 12/7/2010 9:06:25 AM

Joe: Great review. I too agree with your assessment of what was said to Rick. I think you're right on the money with number 1. I don't think the doc was screening for pregnancy. He was probably checking everyone to see if they were infected. And as you explained, they probably were. But there's always a chance that he told him that Lori is pregnant or that he saw the whole interaction in the library between Shane and Lori and was notifying Rick that they had a fling. Either way, it will be interesting to see how it all plays out.

InnerSanctum: I think what Joe meant was that she volunteered AFTER she was infected. I got a little confused while reading what Joe wrote too, but after I thought about it for a while I came to that conclusion. She probably got infected and then told her husband to monitor her as she changed.

joeybaloney 12/7/2010 9:07:13 AM

@ InnerSanctum: She was bitten and then volunteered to be studied.

Skroin 12/7/2010 9:25:21 AM

So my 2 cents.....

I enjoyred the episode for the most part. But I kinda figured it would be a bit more thrilling in the end than what I turned out to be.

I agree with the review for the most part.

I was enjoying the story-line.....up until everyone drives off at the end.

Where are they going? What's the plan?

I haven't read the comics, but I don't mind spoilers on it, I'm odd like that.
I guess I just expected a bit more of a cliff-hanger to the next season.

/shrug

JonnyRotten 12/7/2010 9:27:16 AM

Well this seasons over, starting to go into withdrawal already...great episode,,a little disapointed about how much they crammed into one hour, guess they gotta keep it rolling.  Love the scene where Rick gets handed the "holy handgrenade" I was wondering where that went.  Shane, Lori's very hot, we can't blame a guy for pushing the envelope a bit or underwear in this case (I've seen guys at office Christmas parties do the same thing so my opinion of you has not changed).  

Not enough of Daryl but its nice to see them letting his character drink what he would in life, looked like Jonnie Walker Red to me.  

BTW I would have checked every solders pocket for bullets and weapons on the way out.

    

Skroin 12/7/2010 9:29:11 AM

And to add, having read InnerSanctum's post about them not knowing if they would get a second season out of it, I still say finish with a Bang! and a Cliff-hanger.

Doing so wouldn't hurt anything.

Besides, if the station decides to axe the show, they risk doing what Fox does best. Axe good shows then listen to the complaints. :D

Jakester 12/7/2010 11:56:51 AM

I'm sure the Doc wasn't screening for pregnancy, but it's an easy enough marker to check for.  Paternity, however, would require a sample of the baby's blood as well. 

I liked the explanation of what the "zombie disease" does to the brain, but if it just reactivates the brain stem, then how do the walkers see?  how do they respond to sound and smell?  Those are functions controlled by parts of the brain other than the brain stem.  I'm not a scientist and I know this.  I also like pie.

I thought this was one of the stronger episodes in pretty much every regard.  i liked that they didn't go the obvious route with Jenner, but now I'm bothered by something.  In the 5th episode, he says that he might blow his brains out the next day.  But why?  The entire facility will be decontaminated in less than 24 hours, and he seemed to like the "no pain" idea.   in retrospect, it seems like a deliberate attempt to mislead the audience.

JoeArtistWriter 12/7/2010 12:23:02 PM

Hey all, I want to address everyone but I'm actually prepping for my appearance on the Skip E Lowe show. If you're from L.A. you probably know Skip's cable access show. He has interviewed some serious legends like Orson Wells, Bette Davis, Tony Curtis, and Milton Berle. I guess since they're all dead he's been reduced to interviewing the likes of me. ;)

Google the guy. He's fascinating. He's the guy Martin Short is doing when he's playing Jimminy Glick.

Seriously, it's a real honor to do his show. I'm promoting the "Weird Hollywood" book. I'll get back to each of you individually as always as soon as I get the chance. If you're interested I'll ket you know how the show went too. - Joe
 

InnerSanctum 12/7/2010 1:32:36 PM

 swisshammer and joeybaloney:  Makes perfect sense.  I just got a little confused when reading the review.  

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.