The Walking Dead: Mania TV Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 31 - 40 of 50
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
InnerSanctum 12/7/2010 1:38:13 PM

 Jakester:  I too found it a little weird that he would state that he wanted to blow his brains out and knowing the countdown ended tomorrow.  And, you might have let everyone know that they were to go boom before just a few minutes remained.  Compassionate?  I don't know if I'd call it that.  They got one good night, but he could have let them know before complete shut down.  But, it did cause major tension.  I was on the edge of my seat and I've read the comics.  You never know if they are going to follow the storylines and keep characters alive.  I love that about the show.  

I also like how I originally thought, like the reviewer, that he was going to try and do some experiments on the team.  That was one misleading preview.  Again, loved that I was lead down the wrong path.  This is truly a great show.  And, it doesn't even need zombies to appear to make it great.  Just like the comic.  

 

InnerSanctum 12/7/2010 1:39:07 PM

 Jakester:  I too found it a little weird that he would state that he wanted to blow his brains out and knowing the countdown ended tomorrow.  And, you might have let everyone know that they were to go boom before just a few minutes remained.  Compassionate?  I don't know if I'd call it that.  They got one good night, but he could have let them know before complete shut down.  But, it did cause major tension.  I was on the edge of my seat and I've read the comics.  You never know if they are going to follow the storylines and keep characters alive.  I love that about the show.  

I also like how I originally thought, like the reviewer, that he was going to try and do some experiments on the team.  That was one misleading preview.  Again, loved that I was lead down the wrong path.  This is truly a great show.  And, it doesn't even need zombies to appear to make it great.  Just like the comic.  

 

LocoLobo73 12/7/2010 1:46:09 PM

good luck on the show Joe

 

MrOptimusPrime 12/7/2010 6:28:48 PM

First off this was a great run of episodes and like all the rest of us I wish there had been more.  The opening with Rick and Shane was good to so we can see how Shane thought Rick was dead so he did not technically lie to Lori.  Its going to be a long wait until we get new episodes.  Now those military personnel who got their asses handed to them they were probably following orders and most junior troops do what they are told but you have to be able to make decisions when a situation breaks down. 

Lastly I have no idea what Dr. Jenner told Rick, since I have not read the books, but I would guess it might be all of the things I have read here so far......it was a rather long "let me tell you these things before I die here" conversation.  Hopefully it was some good and some bad info for our band of geek survivors.   

fatpantz 12/7/2010 7:25:46 PM

Wow, awesome that you have such a cool opportunity Joe....you better give a shout out to all of you layal maniacs!! Hahaha!!  I am curious about the book though, Weird Hollywood definitely sounds interesting.

Optimus - None of us knwo for sure what Jenners said, as this was an all new character and story that doesnt exist within the comic book.  That is one of the great things about the show is its deviation from the source, yet it maintains its roots and respects the material at the same time. 

ActionMovieGod 12/8/2010 1:32:42 AM

The best tv show since Spartcus Blood and Sand. =)

JoeArtistWriter 12/8/2010 10:38:31 AM

noahbody, eh, beggars can't be choosers. I'm sure he'll upgrade when/if given a chance, but so many cars seems to be just gridlocked.... I grant you there's got to be a better one.... my guess it's an art direction choice.... nice variance of auto styles type thing. I was thinking morning sickness too on Andrea, but I nixed it for comic book reasons.

hanso, your thoughts are always worth sharing with the class. I hear your concerns. I think the biggest problem was the 6 show season. Given a longer schedule, I'm betting they'd have come up with a finale that would have kicked ass... this one was merely good.

Wiseguy, you may be right with the rabies thing... I just assumed the brightest mind in the field would want a post-turn test done as well. Perhaps not.

sergal, thank you for sharing your top secret info with us.... and if you could, please drop off a half dozen for me at the mania offices in Santa Monica Ca.

joey, again, I'd say the finale suffered from the 6 episode schedule, but yeah, the doomsday clock is a bit trite. Shane is a great character. The comic book version was a bit of a one-note cop stereotype. I'm glad this version is sticking around for Season 2. How strange would it be if Shane became the Govenor?

RedHood, thanks for the kind words. Yeah, it was tough to see the Sleestack walkers bite through military.

JoeArtistWriter 12/8/2010 10:55:52 AM

fatpantz, Shane may have changed places with Rick in the coma.... MAY have, but definitely wishes he could now. I'd like to believe he would have, and I think Shane believes he would have. Things are gonna get very tense next season. As for Michonne and the Gov, who knows... they could easily bring them in earlier than in the books... they haven't been sticking all that closely to the original source.

As for the Mexi-Cali game, here it is.... excuse the non url way I must send this to you.

webtender dotcom slash handbook slash games slash mexcali dot game

Enjoy.. let me know after you've played... it's a lot of fun.

samson and ultrazilla, it's possible Rick was in a coma for 6 months, but was treated medically for 5 months and 2 weeks. The next two weeks could have been the zombie apocalypse. Probably wasn't that long, but you get the idea.

LocoLobo, I'm completely with you on everything... my pooint about Daryl though isn't that he flies off the handle, it's that every scene is written the same way. Just before he does damage he's grabbed from behind, or blocked, and the target of his anger lives another day. Eventually he'll have to kill someone to make this hreat seem real and not some formulaic bit of business.

joeybaloney, yeah, Shane asking, "What do I do?" to Rick's possibly lifeless body makes me assume Shane has always lovingly looked up to Rick. His betrayal is going to be devastating to their relationship, Rick and Lori's relationship and also to the realtionship of the group.

JoeArtistWriter 12/8/2010 11:06:08 AM

InnerSanctum, apparently I wasn't clear on that... I didn't mean to lead anyone to believe Mrs Dr Jenner volunteered to be bitten.

swisshammer, glad you enjoyed the review. I looked around the internet today and those two theories seem to be the most popular. I'd be happy to be proven wrong if they can really knock my socks off with a better secret. I hope they do. Curious if anyone has any other theories.

Skroin, the comics spoilers don't seem to mean too much so far, but I still think it's valid to post the alerts. If you're not going to read the comic, then there's no harm in checkingout the spoilers... I feel the same way about True Blood.

JohnnyRotten, I was surprised Rick didn't use the grenade until now. There were a couple times i figured he may have used it to his benefit. This worked out nicely though. Yes, glad they had Daryl's particular poison on hand.

Jakester, I thought the same thing. I suppose it's all instictual, but what I don't like is the one walker who climbed the fence, and the others who used bricks to smash the windows. Those are learned behaviors. That part of the brain is shut down as far as I can understand.

JoeArtistWriter 12/8/2010 11:13:36 AM

Innersanctum, I never even thought about the doc saying he wanted to blow his brains out. I'll chalk that up to possible internal struggles, and more likely clever and subtle misdirection on the writer's part. Good on them for fooling me.

Loco, thanks, I'll let you know when I post my TV appearance on YouTube.

MrOPtimus, I'm apt to agree. Doc had a bit of a good news bad news conversation with Rick.

fatpantz, i honestly did have that in mind, but the show just ran out of time. You'll see we're still talking when the show ends.... i'll be on again, and I'll definitely shout out to the Maniacs then.

ActionMovieGod, never saw it, but it has replaced LOST for me, and I was a HHHHHHUUUUUGGGEEEE fan of that show.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.