Walking Dead: Save The Last One Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 31 - 40 of 43
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
hfc7036 11/1/2011 3:01:32 PM

 You get the feeling that the very first thing that we saw in season 2 is the very last thing we'll see in season 2.  That is, Rick standing on top of a roof and talking into a recorder or CB device.  This season is a buildup to the final moment.  There's only 13 episodes, so the buildup should be much faster.  But make no mistake, The Walking Dead is NOT an action show.  It's Battlestar Galactica in a Zombie Apocolypse setting.  It's deeper and more psychological.  There's a whole lot of digging to do here.  I hope the digging doesn't stop.  I'm loving this season.  Especially Shane's major psychological dig.  Whatever he was thinking, his survival instincts are now on full drive.  Who knows what that means.  JUICY!

Darkknight2280 11/2/2011 4:18:09 AM

WTF is it with people (KUNGPOW) making fun of fat people???!!! To me its just as offensive of making fun of someone because of the color of their skin! Grow the fuck up!

Daryl was my least favorite character last season, and now i like him almost better then Grimes! Just as THEMOVIE GUY said you cant judge a book by its cover, that also kind goes for my statement about not making fun of fat people. Just becasue someone is fat doesnt mean they dont know or cant survive in an extreme situation. Sure they have certina limitations, seems he survived a pretty long while till some A-hole shot him in the leg! Cant wait for this weeks episode!

Hobbs 11/2/2011 5:49:39 AM

Joe!  This is the first review I've caught of the series this season. I was staying away because too many people were talking about the comics last  year and what was going to happen without spoiler warnings even after you asked them not to...thus I was staying away this season but who can resist your reviews for long?

TV Rick would never shoot Otis, he's too honorable.  Shane is anything but honorable, he is a survivor and a little physco based on his reaction to Lori and thinking long and hard about shooting Rick in the woods last season.  Personally I think he is going to snap eventually...but I'm sure that's been addressed in the comics which I won't read because I'm enjoying the TV show too much.

I don't know if you touched on this the last two weeks but one of the reasons you might be seeing more dialogue or drama as some of you have said is because they cut the budget in half this year....remember the whole Frank D getting fired thing inbetween seasons.  Without that extra money they have to find ways to make up the difference and what better way than dialogue?  In Star Trek the next gen when they were short funds it was a trip to the holodeck and a western novel or in other words they went in the back lot and use the western town setting that was pre-built for something else as a way to save money.  TV shows do it all the time.

ElBaz13 11/2/2011 7:35:37 AM

I just finished watching this episode and I loved it. Sure, as people stated, was a little slow. But I would rather have character drama in a zombie apocalypse TV show than all of those overdone CSI, cop and doctors TV shows,

I love the Shane decision. This goes back to conversations my buddies and I would have while having a beer and discussing "if you were running away from monsters with a friend, girffriend, etc... and they were catching up, what would you do to survive?"

I have to think of character alignment in my old D&D days when it comes to a situation like this. No doubt, Rick, who is lawful good, would stay, even if it risked Carl. He would not stop until Otis tells him "cut me loose, I'm dead weight". Shane's action was neutral not evil. Survival of the fittest. He had no loyalty to Otis who basically put them in this situation by shooting Carl. I think Shane is now doubting himself as a better man since other people would put their neck on the line for him, like Otis did for him just a few minutes prior.

And to put me in the same situation as Shane, I would have done the same thing. Guess I'm not lawful good eh? Sad to say but suriving and looking out for your loved ones.

millean 11/2/2011 3:11:34 PM

OK, I know I am a little late to the party, but I'm here now and have a question.  Did anyone else get really annoyed when we see Shane pull up at the farmhouse (sans Otis) without seeing what happend since we last saw them?  For about half a second I started to rewind my DVR to see what I had skipped over.

Then I stopped and said, "Crap."  I immediately knew that Shane had killed Otis, we would get some half-@$$ed explanation, and we would soon be privy to a flashback scene at the end of the episode to see what really happened and how much of a douche Shane was.  I hate it when TV uses cliched tricks like that.  I would have felt more empathy for Shane and possibly bought into Joe's opinion of he did it for the right reason if they had let it play out sequentially.  But nope, that's not what happened.

Mark my words, Shane is about to become a bad guy and it is just a matter of time before Shane and Rick have a throw down.  (Fortunately this ain't Smallville so said throwdown will last longer than 15 seconds and will actually be compelling television.)

 

JoeArtistWriter 11/2/2011 8:53:03 PM

hfc, I hadn't thought of that, but they have been telling stories in non-linear ways, so perhaps that rooftop scene will be the last image this season.

Darkknight, I have to say, I've liked Darryl from the get go. He's definitley becoming the break-out character, and I'll admit I didn't see that coming from a non-comic book character.

Hobbs, great to hear from you. Someone here did bring up the budget cuts. I don't follow that kind of news normally, so I was unaware, but the season does feel different - not worse, just different. I completely agree about Shane, he will snap before this season is over, and I'm hoping he lives to become a serious threat to Rick and the gang.

Elbaz, I think you're dead on about Rick and Shane's D&D affiliations. I also agree with your assesment of Shane's mental state. All of his borderline decisions are going to eventually take their toll on him and his relationship with Rick and the group.

millean, I watched with my girlfriend and she wondered the same thing. I think I watched enough LOST to immediately realize we were in store for some non-linear storytelling, and I predicted Shane sacrificed Otis to get away.  I didn't however realize at that time his actions could be interpretted as "best for the group." I do believe that was Shane's major motivation. There is no doubt in my mind Shane is about to become the bad guy. Oh yeah - and Smallville sucked.   ;)

millean 11/3/2011 10:55:29 AM

By the way, don't want it to sound like I didn't like the episode, because I did.

Something else worth noting.  As long as Shane keeps his mouth shut, he'll never be outed on doing poor ol' Otis in.  But we all know he will spill the beans sooner or later.

(It is just like that dumb Alabama fan who poisoned the trees on Auburn's campus.  Had he kept his mouth shut, nobody would have ever known it was him.  But his ego was too much for him to keep a lid on it, he blabbed and is now in all kinds of trouble.)

 

JoeArtistWriter 11/3/2011 1:15:21 PM

millean, how's about this for a bold prediction? The lost girl, Sophia, saw the whole thing. Ta Da! You read it here first.

DaForce1 11/3/2011 3:04:52 PM

 Joe, for your prediction, I'd have to say you were on crack. No offense. Sophia was pissing herself when two walkers were nearby, so there's no way she'd be anywhere near Zombie High. You want a far out prediction? I think Zombie Otis might make an appearance where the gunshot wounds might make people question Shane's story. 

More than likely, Shane will be dumb enough, in a moment of weakness, to confide in Lori what he did to save Carl thinking that it'll win him back into Lori's heart. Instead, it will be a secret that she will keep from Rick until there's some kind of stress that will make her blurt it out to Rick or Hershel or Maggie. Only because Lori is sometimes as stupid as Shane. 

JoeArtistWriter 11/3/2011 3:37:31 PM

DaForce, stop selling me crack and then criticizing my bold predictions. I do like the odds of seeing Zombie Otis, but I never gave any thought to the gunshot wound. I suppose I assumed he'd be all eaten up when I first watched. Your other guess is good too, but since I called it, and called it bold, I'll stick with my hunch. That said, you made somew nice guesses for a crack dealer.

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.