Walking Dead: Secrets Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 78
<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  
jdiggitty 11/23/2011 10:31:17 AM

Does this site have an editor? Good God, this review reads like some 6th grade forum post.

rogue188 11/23/2011 10:35:19 AM

I thought Shane and Andrea getting it on was appropriate.  Who care about comics continuity? They put those aside in the first season. Why wouldn't you do it after having the exhiliration because you just head-shotted a dozen walkers?

DougRed4 11/23/2011 11:03:46 AM

I also have to say I don't agree with the C grade.  I think this was my favorite episode of the year, and thought it was great.  Numerous times I found myself 'calling things' before they happened, like the morning after pill, and that she would then throw it up.  As more and more secrets spilled out, I thought to myself that "Secrets" would be a great name for the episode, and when I checked the ep. title I found I nailed that as well.  But these were more guesses, rather than me finding the plot predictible.  I was actually surpised they got so much out on the table, rather than letting things drag on forever.

While Dale did seem a bit more bold than usual, I thought that (given the circumstances with what Glenn just spilled to him) it kind of made sense, and his "confrontations" were pretty indirect (except with Shane; that one I agree was probably foolish!).  I didn't mind how he handled the other two, and don't agree that they were "asshead" moves.

As a fan I'm starting to tire with how long it's taking to find Sophia, but as a dad I totally get why they'd stay.  My guess is the writers have let this drag on as long as they have because they want/need a reason to have the party stay at the farm for so long, rather than moving on.

On the Talking Dead afterwards, Kevin Smith commented that he immediately had to rewind it when Rick handled Lori's confession.  He said he laughed when his suspicions were confirmed, that it was a woman that wrote this episode.  He said no guy would respond like that, and I think he's right.

jedibanner 11/23/2011 11:15:43 AM

interesting DougRed4...didn't know about the Kevin Smith part...but makes 100000000000000% sense...no man would just react this way.

At least there is suppose to be a fight between Rick and Shane this Sunday...maybe it will be their excuse to fix that into a ''man'' fight after the fact (doesn't make sense but maybe it will help resolve this misstep a bit).

Season 1 = perfect.

 

jedibanner 11/23/2011 11:16:53 AM

Damm keyboard...

Season 2 = ok...

invisioner 11/23/2011 11:29:15 AM

Am I the only one wondering when the cul-de-sac attack happened is was Shane looking at her ass in a hot way during the attack, or just the best place to shoot her if he had to pull an "Otis" again?

 

BTW, I copyright that phrase, put it up there with "Jumping the Shark!"

 

I would also love to know the time lapse now since Rick joined up with the group? That might shed light on the Who's Baby is it? question. Or not.

axia777 11/23/2011 11:33:10 AM

 A "C" grade?  Nope, that is wrong, at least to me it is.  This episode really ramped up the whole character driven apspects of the show.  There is lots of tgension building.  Between that and the walkers in the barn all hell is about to break lose like a dam breaking free.  The shite is going to hit the fan real soon and this episode was just a prelude to it all going down.  It is very good writing in my opinion.

DaForce1 11/23/2011 11:35:43 AM

 I've got to disagree as well. This episode had quite a few little things that were right. Like Maggie confronting Lori about using Glenn as her errand boy, and Maggie telling Glenn that he's smarter than he gives himself credit for and if he doesn't stop blindly doing what the group wants he'll wind up dead. 

Dale is the father figure of the group, just as much as Hershel is for his group. It was the first time we've seen these two old guys have a discussion, and I think Dale did the right thing rather than keep it a secret. Same thing with his talk with Lori. I think that Dale doesn't have much experience sugar-coating things and is blunt and to the point, that's why it seems so heavy-handed the way he dealt with all the situations. Plus keep in mind, Dale is pissed at Shane not only for nailing Andrea, but for also knocking up Lori when he talks to him. 

The zombie in the store could have come in a back door, since we've never seen the back of the store. Also, I don't think Hershel's group is the only one taking stuff from that store, so it's not a reasonable assumption that all the doors would be shut tight. The zombies in the housing project were a little different since they came out of nowhere. That one I'll agree with you on.

Finally, Rick's non-reaction to Lori admittedly to making the sign of the two backed beast with Shane, was wrong. You want to know why it was wrong? Because the episode was written by a woman. Sorry to be the sexist pig here (that's usually Jakester's job), but even if you're thought of as dead in the zombie apocalypse, you're still gonna get pissed at your best friend rutting your wife. It's human nature. That was the biggest misstep of this episode. Well, that and Sophia still missing, but I bitched about that during the last review. Rating: A minus.

DaForce1 11/23/2011 11:38:14 AM

 invisioner, Chris Hardwick already used Otis as a verb in Talking Dead back when Otis was shot, so it's been taken already.

TheMovieGuy28 11/23/2011 1:30:31 PM

thank you, Mania, for erasing what was a roughly 9-paragrah response.

Damnit!

<<  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.