Walking Dead: Sick Review Comments - Mania.com



COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 11 - 20 of 22
<<  <  1 2 3 >  >>  
momitchell7 10/22/2012 11:32:24 AM

Joel, the reason he left Andrew for dead is because the prisoners were basically admitting that the plan was to get rid of Rick, or even all of them - that's why they were about to execute ALL of the prisoners. Sorry, but I have no compassion for someone plotting to kill me when I'm trying to help them!

I agree that Rick is making those tough (but correct) choices that he needs to make, but I still think that he is far from the "bad guy" that Shane was.

In regards to an episode being able to stand alone? Hmm.. this definitely isn't "Friends" or "Seinfeld" and I don't think that the majority of the fans of this show are expecting each episode to stand completely on it's own. In fact, I think it's a heck of a lot more entertaining being able to follow along form one week to the next... I believe that the only thing that needs to be able to "stand alone" is an entire Season.

Thanks for the feedback Joel, it's always fun having "discussions" - even if I am completely wrong!

joelr 10/22/2012 12:02:39 PM

@momitchell7 You are in no way wrong, we've all got our opinions, and I welcome yours. What I meant by stand alone is more about finding an idea or theme for an episode that you can creatively weave your story around, yet also andvance the plot. It's not easy to do, but when done correctly the payoff is huge. There's a lot of TV shows (and comics) that have episodes/issues that just blend together because they are merely continuations.

Rick is not at Shane level, for sure, but he's slowly heading down that road. Shane may have been off the reservation, but his immediate reasons for the things he did were extreme measures to keep the ones he cared about safe. Like the kid they held hostage in the barn in season 2, new Rick would probably have ended his life giving what he knew the kid was up to.

InnerSanctum 10/22/2012 12:08:35 PM

 No brother.  This was an A .   See, last week was all about the zombie kills.  This actually had some emotional moments with Hersel, Rick and Lorie.  Those moments make me care.  And, the fact that Rick knew he was going to have to do something awful and struggled.  No, to me, this was even better than last weeks opener.  

And, for the Carl haters this season...I like that he has become hardened, independent and a little boy I care to see live.  

InnerSanctum 10/22/2012 12:10:46 PM

 Actually, T-Dog showed some type of emotion this episode.  Maybe he is threatened by the fact that they introduced more black characters and his number might be coming up?  Or, mabye the writers have actually taken noticed.  

InnerSanctum 10/22/2012 12:12:14 PM

 Why does everyone think Merle will be the "bad guy"?  Did you watch the previews for next week?  Did you read the actors interview?  They will be taking him in unexpected directions.  

redvector 10/22/2012 12:31:06 PM

I thought it was funny how the inmates went Attica on the walkers and didn't listen to Rick's directions. And how the biggest dude got scared and wound up getting bitten. Clearly they wouldn't have lasted 24 hrs outside the prison.

I figured what going to happen to Big Tiny and Tomas but it was still a shock when it did.

joelr 10/22/2012 12:33:16 PM

I think the premiere gave as many character moments as this episode, but in the premiere they were born out of the structure, and things that were unsaid. Seeing how our characters acten when in action said volumes.

I agree- Merele is much more of a variable in this world than a straight up bad guy.

InnerSanctum 10/22/2012 7:17:07 PM

 The premiere was great for fans (or, those who just like to see zombies stabbed in the head), but you HAD to be a fan of the series to see those character moments (I thought about it, and there is no way you can start this show without watching, at the very least, the first episode.)  I think it is great that they are not just letting Hershel go the way of the zombie.  I mean, who didn't leap out of there seat when we thought he was biting off Lori's lips?   But, the interaction between Lori/Rick and simply Hershel reaching out to grasp Rick's hand were important.  I admit, there were several touching moments.  And, at the very least, no one can complain about Carl, Lori and T-Dog in this episode.  I'm one of the fans that can go a whole episode zombie free.  They did it in the comics.  It is what draws me in.  You care when someone is bitten or killed.  I wasn't a hater of the second season.  Sure, it had its moments, but it had to exist for this year to mean anything.  

Looking at a this from episode to episode is tough.  I really do respect any reviewer that has to look at these individual shows without the advantage of looking at it from the whole.  You've done a great job.  

TheSilentKiller 10/22/2012 8:29:50 PM

 Inner -hear hear. Great job with these reviews.

domino2008 10/23/2012 9:34:34 PM

I think the writers this year are really doing a great job so far with 2 outstanding shows in a row an more to come . This season so far been a 'darker " character development where Rick is now almost how Shane was in the killing department. As for Carl , yeah he has grown hard from this life on the road an has got more  protective an nerve to use that pistol on a walkers where before he was scared to use one.I thought they would keep the prisoners a few shows , for new characters , but the writers already have plans to keep the group busy , as seen on next weeks ads with the Govenor. This show just keeps getting better each week .

<<  <  1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.