The Walking Dead: Still Review - Mania.com



The Walking Dead Review

Mania Grade: D

27 Comments | Add

 

Rate & Share:

 

Related Links:

 

Info:

  • Episode: Still (Season 4, Episode 12)
  • Starring: Norman Reedus, Emily Kinney
  • Written By: Angela Kang
  • Directed By: Julius Ramsay
  • Network: AMC
  • Studio: American Movie Classics (AMC), Circle of Confusion, Valhalla Motion Pictures
  • Series:

The Walking Dead: Still Review

The Quest for Booze

By Hanso     March 03, 2014
Source: Mania.com

Beth Greene stars in The Walking Dead: Quest for Booze, special appearance by Daryl Dixon.  Not sure what is going on with this show but apparently somebody decided that centering an episode on the most boring character was a good a day.  Guess what, it wasn’t.  We got another character driven episode that other than provide insight into Daryl was pretty pointless.  Let’s be real, nobody cares about Beth.

The first 10 minutes or so of this episode contains absolutely no dialogue.  It’s just Beth & Daryl hiding from zombies and setting up camp until Beth decides its time to get her drink on.  Yes, looking for alcohol is what drives this episode. Bob would be proud.

D&B’s quest for booze takes them to a run down country club.  From the bodies inside the club it seems there was a fight between the members of the club because we see a body with a sign that says “Rich Bitch”.  No clue as to what went down but educated guess says The Underhills got tired of picking up everyone’s tabs and murdered everybody.

Unfortunately for Beth, the only alcohol they find is peach schnapps.  Daryl definitely does the right thing by not letting Beth drink that cause that thing is nasty as hell.  He instead offers to take her to abandoned shack complete with its own moonshine.  Once at the shack Daryl tells Beth his dad had a shack like this, and he talks about how following Merle around was basically his main thing back in the pre-zombie world.  Beth don’t care about any of that though, she wants to get some moonshine in her so they decide to play the Never Ever Have I Ever.  If you thought this game would lead to Daryl unleashing his inner violator on Beth you was wrong.  By the way, how old is Beth, what’s the age limit during the zombie apocalypse, is it 18 or does it go to early teens like Game of Thrones?  Should Daryl and Beth be a thing or do we root for Daryl and Carol?  Why can’t Daryl get some ass on this show?

Anyway, the drinking game starts innocently enough until Beth throws a low blow about having never been to prison.  It bothers Daryl that Beth would think this of him so he goes off.  Angry drunk Daryl is no fun, he turns real mean real fast and goes at Beth with a bunch of never have I evers including one about Beth’s suicide attempt.  Argument ensues until we get to the real issue with Daryl, he’s been feeling guilty all along.  If only he could’ve done more, the prison would still be intact and Hershel alive.  Finally some honesty!  Beth and Daryl hug it out, set the shack on fire and continue their journey with no clue as to what their next step in.  

What a waste of an episode.  This last half of the season seems to be heading for a finale of everyone reaching Terminus but in the mean time they want to bore us out of our minds.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES

Showing items 1 - 10 of 27
1 2 3 >  >>  
RodThunderBalls 3/3/2014 9:28:27 PM

Will they address why Darryl was taking money and jewelry from the country club? And that paper he took from out of the frame. Did this happen in the comic? Was it because he had chip on his shoulder against the upper class or just that country club in general?

 

raa2001 3/4/2014 12:30:54 AM

 I thought the episode was good. I wouldn't have given it a D but maybe a B.  Eventually, it will all connect.  Maybe she'll turn out to be a not so boring character or get killed.

rkngl 3/4/2014 1:00:10 AM

Well I thought this episode was at last an interesting one. Character development. Subtext. Beth trying to get drunk and seduce Daryl. Daryl refusing booze and then going on a pathological intoxication craze, showing us his real 'me' as a mean stupid bastard with lots of daddy issues. A spot where dead people don't seem to have been attacked by zombies or commited suicidade, rahter attacked by other dangerous humans. And the shack... he knew there was moonshine, "my dad had a shack like this"... "who would have bought stuff like this? my dad..." was that Daryl's house to begin with? That's why he burned it to the ground, cutting off all ties with the past? It was one of the best episodes ever. For some other show, not TWD.

raa2001 3/4/2014 1:02:30 AM

 rkngl... you're right. It's all about the character development.

redvector 3/4/2014 5:15:25 AM

I think a D was being generous. It was an episode that I found myself struggling to stay awake.  I found the scenes between Beth and Darryl excruciatingly awkward. Centering the whole episode on these two together was stupid and a waste of an episode. And them bonding at the end, felt flat and hollow. 

rkngl 3/4/2014 5:29:51 AM

redvector, it was supposed to be awkward. You have Daryl, a monster-in-the-making searching for redemption in a post-zombielyptical world, being seduced by a blond Lolita after months of dry-humps, and getting moonshined on purpose! The violent raptus he had, not only showed he's a pathological alcoholic like his father and equally violent (unlike Merle, who was violent even sober but could hold his liquor), but that he was struggling not to rape Beth. That show he put on, was a way of keeping Beth away but, in the end, it cleared the waters, thus the final bonding. And I insist: that was probably Daryl's own house, maybe that's why he took the 'diploma' from the club's wall to prevent Beth from finding it out. THis only shows Daryl is not some victim of an abusive father, he is a potential abusive father like him, and vicious Merle was in fact the one that got away; and Daryl is trying to escape that fate. It was pretty intense to me. And beautiful. It shows Daryl is now just some badass hero but a conflicting man dragging a bunch of skeletons with him, and that badass hero is just for show. He's quite the pussy, in fact!

xJokersxWildx 3/4/2014 6:03:21 AM

YAWN. Bring back Rick/Carl/Michonne. The 3 best characters.

Least next weeks looks decent.

nightwingDG 3/4/2014 6:47:36 AM

 RodThuner - No, this did not happen in the comic. Daryl and Merle, are characters made up just for the show and not in the comic. This was indeed a boring episode. I don't care for Daryl even though, I know he is popular. I wish he would just die already.

JarrodSarafin 3/4/2014 6:54:01 AM

 Pretty much what Hanso and your responses say above. Yet again, the writers chose to waste 45 minutes of an episode and have maybe 10 minutes of key character development between Darryl and Beth.

This comes a week after they spent 40 minutes with Rick hiding under a bed. 

As Hanso says above in the recap, if the writers' goals are to bore us to tears before everyone gets to Terminus, they're succeeding. 

I'm all for character development too. But it seems every episode is a quarter character character-driven vs. three quarters wasted air time that could be better spent towards the other characters...

 

 

violator14 3/4/2014 8:27:46 AM

 As much as ive been bored this season, i actually enjoyed this episode a lil more than i have the other ones. Like everybody else that watches this show, Darryl is my favorite character on the show and I agree with how RKNGL broke it down.

Hanso- LMFAO!!

1 2 3 >  >>  

ADD A COMMENT

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.

POPULAR TOPICS