The winners of the 2004 Hugo Awards -

Book News

0 Comments | Add


Rate & Share:


Related Links:



The winners of the 2004 Hugo Awards

Plus, find out the winners of the 1954 Hugos (don't worry, it'll all make sense)

By Patrick Sauriol     September 09, 2004
Source: Noreascon

A 2004 Hugo Award, named after the legendary AMAZING STORIES editor Hugo Gernsback.
On Saturday, September 4 the 2004 Hugo Awards were presented at Noreascon Four held in Boston, Massachusetts, honoring the best genre writing, artwork and entertainment released in 2003. The Best Novel Hugo went to Lois McMaster Bujold's PALADIN OF SOULS while Neil Gaiman's "A Study in Emerald" won the Best Short Story award. THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RETURN OF THE KING won Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form) while it was a RINGS acceptance speech that won the Hugo for the Short Form competition, besting two episodes of FIREFLY and the series finale of BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER. Best Novella was awarded to "The Cookie Monster" by Vernor Vinge while Michael Swanwick's "Legions in Time" won the Best Novelette award.

A complete list of the winners of each category can be found here as well as the winners of the 1954 Retro Hugos, awarded to those publications and shows released in 1953 (a year that the Hugos were not presented.)

Got a scoop? Know something that you need to tell us about? Send it to us!


Be the first to add a comment to this article!


You must be logged in to leave a comment. Please click here to login.